Urgent help required, please :(

yani2k8

Reaction score
Hi there

I accidentally scraped some guys car on a dual carriageway the other night as he was in my blind spot and I was moving from the right lane into the left where he was.

I'm a 20 years old student, insured with my dad as a first driver, and you can imagine that if I went through my insurance company, my premium would probably quadruple. So I asked the man if it was ok for me to cover the costs without involving insurance companies and he agreed.

But the thing is, his car is 2010 mazda and he claims the paint has a 10 year warranty so he wants to have it repaired at an authorised Mazda shop to retain the warranty. I imagine they would charge a really high price for this compared to normal body shops. Please see the photos of the damage.

Can anyone advice how much this will cost to repair roughly. Also do you think there is any way of me convincing him to do it in a normal body shop, as opposed to going to Mazda? We're located in Surrey if that helps..

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

Photo 2Photo 1

Expect £600+ at a dealership.

Unfortunately, you went into him, admitted liability etc. He wants his warranty on his paint, if you went through insurance, he could still request the work be done at a Mazda dealership.

Weigh up the pros and cons, making a claim could lead to higher insurance premiums for a number of years, and don't forget to factor the repair on your own car!

I would expect that repair to be a lot more than £600, I have a smaller area than that on mine to be done and its over £1300. If you had hit my car, I would take it to an approved Audi bodyshop whether you went through the insurance or not.

If I was you I would ask him to get a quote and then take it through your insurance, as its going to be a lot more than you think its going to be.

Mark it down to experience, and get used to not trusting your mirrors, always look over your shoulder too.

Reactions: _G_