1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT HELP NEEDED !! center display wont turn off !!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by AUDI@WRC, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. AUDI@WRC
    Offline

    AUDI@WRC hows my driving call 0800-EAT-****

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    i needed help guys my center display stopped working yesterday so i found a post on the forum about resitting the display tried that didnt work BUT now the display wont turn off even without the keys in !! i have removed the screen but it still lights up the small leds behind the display which will run down my battery.

    any ideas how to turn the leds off ?

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    a hammer?

    alan
    #2
  4. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    may be disconnect the battery? just an idea dont blame me if it goes wrong
    #3
  5. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    cant the display be disconnected from the rear?

    there are 3 connecters on the back one of them must be for the display, and im guessing it would be the centre one as it the nearest to it

    alan
    #4
  6. AUDI@WRC
    Offline

    AUDI@WRC hows my driving call 0800-EAT-****

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    its the first connection but that is needed to turn everything on as well

    what could go wrong if disconnect the battery ?
    #5
  7. AUDI@WRC
    Offline

    AUDI@WRC hows my driving call 0800-EAT-****

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    i have pulled the fuse out which turns off the leds but it also turns dash lights and the mileage as well do you think this could cause problems ?

    i am hopefully going to get another instrument cluster next week would this just plug in and work ok until i find someone with VAGCOM to change the mileage ?
    #6
  8. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    did you try putting the fuse back to see if anything happens?:eyebrows:
    #7
  9. AUDI@WRC
    Offline

    AUDI@WRC hows my driving call 0800-EAT-****

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    just took the car for a spin with the fuse out and when i put it back in it has reset it and it now turns off BUT the screen is stll knackered !!

    if i buy i new insrument cluster can i use it without having VAGCOM to change the mileage ?
    #8
  10. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    yes you can.
    #9
  11. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    yes you can but you will have to get mileage alterted especially if the mileage on the new clocks is less than the one you have now.

    otherwise the mileage wont tally up with the mileage on your M.O.Ts and service history.

    and would make selling your car difficult and also ilega as milegae would be fraud

    alan
    #10
  12. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    Also you need to get the SKC code with the new dash otherwise the imoboliser will kick in
    #11
  13. Lowlife
    Offline

    Lowlife German Hardcore

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    Its not illegal its only fraud if you claim that is the genuine mileage...
    #12
  14. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    yeah thats what i meant to say

    alan
    #13
  15. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    you can only change the mileage on a cluster with Vag-Com if the mileage is less than 100 miles so driving with the new cluster in might not be a good idea, if you go over the magic ton you're fecked. so saying that there are specialists out there who can change the mileage but they use specific software to do it and it'll cost you.
    #14
  16. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2007]
    Forgive me if im being stupid, but why can't you just change the DIS screen from the new clocks and keep the rest of your cluster
    #15
  17. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Mar 5, 2007]
    Thats what i aim to do, but the soldering skills required to swap them over is beyond me, i will pay someone to swap them over when i swap the engines,should save taking her off the road twice then
    #16
  18. AUDI@WRC
    Offline

    AUDI@WRC hows my driving call 0800-EAT-****

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2007]
    any idea how much it will cost to get the mileage changed ? changing just the screen looks a big job !
    #17
  19. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 5, 2007]
    changing the screen has been discussed many times on several forums and the opinion is it's not worth the hassle because of the soldering skill required
    #18
  20. SamDude
    Offline

    SamDude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 5, 2007]

    KITT LIVES!!!
    #19
  21. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 5, 2007]
    #20

Share This Page