1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

uprated ecu?!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by edward_harris, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. edward_harris
    Offline

    edward_harris s3 gone now a shiney red evo 6

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    Whats the deal with uprated ecu's ie apexi? Alot of people talk about them but whats the real advantages?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Rich-xstS3
    Offline

    Rich-xstS3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    Alot more functions that can be fine tuned for individual systems like your fueling, boost etc. If you are running water injection it could be managed through this too. Would also allow you to do away with some things like the MAF I think. Also have functions like launch control, anti-lag. Lots of fun for scaring people down the high street!
    #2
  4. Rich-xstS3
    Offline

    Rich-xstS3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    I think alot of VAG cars use the Emerald stuff. Not sure why but have noticed it used on a few 1.8t conversions in PVW. Theres heaps of them Motec, Pectel, Autronic, Apexi
    #3
  5. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    Apexi? On a German car?
    They deal mainly with the Jap stuff...although i'm sure it could work.

    Basically stand alone management means you get rid of the factory limits on engine control...you can run the system much more simply with less sensors and emissions stuff..but you often loose the safety things like knock sensors or certain limits as the ECUs are race derived.

    Some say you gain power...my experience is that if the tuner is capable of proper manipulation of the existing ECU there is little gain, people like CC, REVO...and presumably Star or AmD can do pretty much anything with the standard ECU within the limits of the hardware, but often they won't remove certain safety limits to stop the engine going bang and it coming back on them.

    With stand alone you can do what you want - including set it up so stupidly that it blows up.

    Systems such as DTA, Motech, Emerald, Lumenition etc all can be used...but on a 1.8T...with companies like CC etc willing to do proper bespoke mapping, I'm not sure there is much point in upgrading.
    Personally I'd prefer to keep as many of the safety features and diagnostic features as possible....which means sticking with the standard ECU.

    Previously, before proper bespoke maping of the 1.8T ECU was available, people went stand alone because it was easier.


    As others have said, you can also add functions such as traction control, launch control etc...
    #4
  6. edward_harris
    Offline

    edward_harris s3 gone now a shiney red evo 6

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    Ah so theres not really any power gains to be had then! Not worth the money! by the time its been mapped etc all over again!
    #5
  7. ant123456
    Offline

    ant123456 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2007]
    A stand alone ecu setup correctly will produce much better results the a remapped ecu fact. At the end of the day it's about the ££££. If you have it, do it. When it comes to the safety aspect. Again, aslong as it's setup correctly there will be no issues. If you are worried about fuelling air ratios etc, get a knock link installed and a air/fuel ratio gauge fitted.
    #6
  8. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Nov 11, 2007]
    Utter rubbish.

    An ECU only really looks at throttle position, temperature, load/boost.
    It only fires injectors and coil packs at the figures set in the map...based on the signals it gets.
    Any ECU will do this, standard, or stand-alone.

    The stand alone may well be easier to set up, or easier to run big injectors, or big boost (depends on the range of the MAP sensor) but no matter whether it's standard VAG, home-built Megasquirt or Motch/DTA etc..the same sensors on the same engine will give the same power.

    ECUs aren't magic..they read signals coming in and send signal out...as long as you can correctly manipulate these signals (which the standard ECU sometimes cannot do) you will get the same power, no matter who's ECU you have fitted.

    I have tried stand-alone vs mapped OEM and gained NOTHING.
    So to say stand alone WILL give more power is ill informed and naive.
    It can...depending on the standard ECU..but on the 1.8T engines, if someone who really knows what they are doing is writing the code, I can't see a stand-alone ECU giving anything extra...all the ones I've ever seen haven't produced anything more than a well mapped std ECU.
    #7
  9. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 11, 2007]
    You might lose features like cruise control if you have it, which is controlled via the ECU.

    Plus, I'm not sure if standalone has the adaption features to trim fueling based on differing engine components and combustion like the OEM ECU.
    #8
  10. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    I run autronics in my evo which didn't cost too much.It allows me to eliminate the maf and run a map sensor ,obviously it's all down to the mapping but i would say standard ecu (remapped) is good for 400ish bhp although some have gone higher. Also comes with switchable anti-lag and launch control.
    For the power you guys are running the standard ecu is fine.
    #9
  11. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]

    so did u map the fuel to boost rather than airmass?

    is it user friendly? i'm looking for a user friendly one
    #10
  12. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    You run a air temp and map(manifold absolute pressure) sensor,yes boost.
    I didn't map it ,one of the best in the business did it.All the functions of the car still work perfectly,eg air-con etc.
    #11
  13. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    ok, i'm going to ask if this will work for audi's
    #12
  14. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    They don't do a plug in board like the one for evo's/scoobys but you should be able to use a generic one like the smc.Other options are motec etc.
    #13
  15. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    interesting, i suppose it would just need the loom cutting but it could be done. will prob give bosch a shot first though
    #14

Share This Page