1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading Turbocharger

Discussion in 'Tuning' started by , Mar 31, 2004.

  1. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also will be interesting to see if you can repeat amd's figures on another RR.
    What about nobles?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AL_B

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any more news on this ATP GT28RS "bolt-on" kit?

    By bolt-on I assume it will use the existing manifold, or is that naive? :)

    Cheers

    AL
     
  4. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Any more news on this ATP GT28RS "bolt-on" kit?

    By bolt-on I assume it will use the existing manifold, or is that naive? :)

    Cheers

    AL

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I personally wouldnt want to use the stock manifold when using a bigger turbo as i bt it will crack in not so long. Its also too small and will be a restriction. You can get (cant remember where) uprated manifolds for the K04, and if you can get one of these and fit the 'bolt on' 28RS to it then this would be a good idea... Could use the 3" downpipe thats available and sports cats and would be a relatively simple upgrade...Would just need to get someone to map it.

    Rich
     
  5. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Any more news on this ATP GT28RS "bolt-on" kit?

    By bolt-on I assume it will use the existing manifold, or is that naive? :)

    Cheers

    AL

    [/ QUOTE ]

    These?

    http://www.atpturbo.com/root/releases/release041205.htm

    ...June in the US, so a while yet.for us.

    Is it turbo dynamics who are supposedly developing the RHD manifold? They've been working on it for bloody ages!

    A
     
  6. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    No News Yet

    Simon
     
  7. :-(

    It's taking them an awful long time to remap S3mon. Are they having problems?
     
  8. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you get my pm simon?
     
  9. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Youve got mail

    Simon
     
  10. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    pm'd u simon.
     
  11. Aaaarrrrggghhhhhhhh

    The suspense is killing me.
     
  12. robthehungrymonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    This has been going on a while now, any update?
    GOt to be soon!
     
  13. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Aaaarrrrggghhhhhhhh

    The suspense is killing me.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Tell me about it

    Simon
     
  14. PaulRS3

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    100
    still there all clean and shiny Saturday Simon.
     
  15. Get your custom map money back and head off up to JBS...

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  16. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    When have they told you it will be ready?
    It's been at least 2 weeks since the deadline?
     
  17. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have the patience of a saint Simon, I'd of been on the phone bollocking them daily for weeks mate .. hope it all comes good in the end!

    Adam
     
  18. saldale

    saldale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about the Garrett T03/T04 Hybrid?

    Any comments for that upgrade?
     
  19. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think that may be a very laggy setup!
     
  20. saldale

    saldale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any suggestions regarding my A3 1.8T FWD? (AGU engine)
     
  21. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Any suggestions regarding my A3 1.8T FWD? (AGU engine)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Depends on how much power you want and how much you want/have to spend and also if you want to go as far as uprating the engines internals .etc

    RIch
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. saldale

    saldale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Understood!
    Thanks!
     
  24. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. Soupie69uk

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah i here that AMD are stopping mapping cars where the turbos and other upgrades are not carried out by them. This is probably because it takes tham soooooooooooooooooooooo long!!
     
  26. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm,Thats sounds dodgy mate.What was it that they were exactly unhappy with?
     
  27. Soupie69uk

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    Why can they not map it that is pants!!! They clame to be specialists and cannot map a newish Audi!!
     
  28. s3bow

    s3bow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depends on their standards. They say they are not fully happy with it, but that might not mean what you think. Reserve judgement until they say what it made and,more importantly, what Simon says it drives like.
    He's very quiet though !

    Chris.
     
  29. [ QUOTE ]
    I`ll let you know after I pick it up at the week end.

    At least they are not charging for all the hours on the rolling road.

    Simon

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Good luck simon, post up impressions figs etc, quite a few on cupra.net are stalking this thread /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    hope all is well
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/1luvu.gif
    vern
     
  30. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look forward to hearing your impressions,i know some other remap methods if you need a hand.
     
  31. [ QUOTE ]
    I`ll let you know after I pick it up at the week end.

    At least they are not charging for all the hours on the rolling road.

    Simon

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Good luck!

    [ QUOTE ]

    Good luck simon, post up impressions figs etc, quite a few on cupra.net are stalking this thread /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    hope all is well
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/1luvu.gif
    vern

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush2.gif
     
  32. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    So I`ve just spoken to AmD and after a spending the last two days on the RR they are still unhappy with the remap but are unable to improve on it.
    So they want me to pick it up.

    Simon

    [/ QUOTE ]

    maybe by unhappy they mean not as powerful as they had hoped...
     
  33. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi simon,
    Did they charge you at all for the remap?Have they put your mtm chip back in?
     
  34. gc48067

    gc48067 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simon - did you pick your car up? How is it?


    Greg
     
  35. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Ive got the car back and its not that bad it pulls very well and is smooth but It only boosts to 1.7 bar and 280bhp.

    Im not unhappy but feel there is room for improvement. It needs more power to come on quicker I want to be pined to the back of the seat.

    Over the next week I`ll be refitting my boost machine and Forge actuator and will see how this goes. In the mean time Ive been in contact with mrctuning to see what they can do.

    I can always refit the MTM chip if nothing else works.Its just nice to have the car back after 2 months.

    Simon
     
  36. What's the torque like Simon?
     
  37. simonelman

    simonelman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Torque 328.5 @ 3553

    BHP 280.6 @ 5654

    When I get time I`ll post the graphs.

    But theres masses of area under the torque curve.

    Simon
     
  38. Soupie69uk

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah thats quite a lot of torque!!!

    I would have expected more bhp.

    At least you have the car back though.
     
  39. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quite similar results to a standard k04 at 1.7 bar then.I thought the hybrid would produce more power at lower boost.
    I really think the exhaust housing is the restriction mate.Is it a bit more laggy than the standard k04?
    Are you coming to the gti festival?

    I was thinking of using Mihnea too,seems a pretty knowledgable guy.Managed too sort something else in the end.
     
  40. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    haldex can take more than most can throw at it,hgp r32 twin turbo is 500+bhp and i believe that is still haldex.
    mtm had a 400bhp s3 with haldex.

    clutch probably 300lb/t and the standard one starts to wilt.
     
  41. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
  42. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen quite a few stainless manifolds for stock turbos(k04),these would require good bracing to avoid cracking with the weight of a heavy gt28rs.I might have seen a cast one in the states but i can't recollect where.
    So thats a new manifold,new turbo/kit,new downipe and flange,new oil and water lines,de-cat or sports cat.You would need a new intake hose as the inlet on a gt28rs is 3",adapted outlet/ic hose .Then you would need bigger injectors and have it would all mapped.It won't be that cheap.
    quote from site "This turbo happily makes a reliable 275 crank HP on pump gas and close to 300 crank HP on high octane
    "-k04 performance.

    I've read the other bit about how the stock manifold flows better than the atp manifold-hmmmm
    I predict big lag,time will tell.
     

Share This Page