1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading to "LIVE" Release 10.6 - Now wont load

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by sc00byd00byd00, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    just booted up the laptop, and I got a pop up telling me a new release of VCDS is available, do I want it......

    So I ran the update process, all seemed ok until you come to run it; get the following error; (asking to upload it)

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Temp\WER42F8.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Temp\WERAAB1.tmp.appcompat.txt
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Temp\WERB01E.tmp.mdmp

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Any advice ? Kicking myself. Had 908.1 and it worked fine, Why did I update. If it aint broke, dont fix it :(

    Can't download 908.1 now either
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Just remove all vcds installs & restart then reinstall, installed myself & works 100% as long as you have a genuine interface. :)

    Always best to update as it updates importnat label files aswell mate.
    #2
  3. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already tried that mate, Checked the registry for entries too. Sill wont load the app :(

    Just read on Ross-Tech FAQ that it doesn't like Zonealarm. So disabled that and tried running again........... STILL no joy.

    You dont have a copy of 908.1 handy do you ?
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Disabled or removed Zone?

    TBH mate I used to run Zone with vcds with no issues some while back, why not remove it full stop & use say Microsoft Security Essentials, works very well indeed.

    Did you delete your temp files aswell as a search for VCDS & delete any associated files/folders?
    #4
  5. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had shut it down...........

    Sorted now, I had to run dependency checker on Zonealarm to find out what other exe's and dll's I needed to end task on. It now works fine.

    Not using Microsoft Security Essentials, last time I used that, I got a "Windows is not Genuine" message..............
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Would that be because its not genuine :p
    #6
  7. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shhhhhhhhhhhhhh ;-)
    #7

Share This Page