1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading stereo

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by robby, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm wanting to fit a later stereo with the chrome buttons to my 06my but i'm not sure what i need as there seem to be so many differences.
    I've read i need an aerial adapter, wiring block but i've read the newer model has an amplifier in the tailgate and without this i'll get a poor signal?

    Can i buy the amplifier and will it fit in the tailgate or will i need to drill/ stick it in there (are holes already in place? does it replace whatever is already there?)

    I've been offered just the stereo (6 disc) for £100 so how much would everything else cost?

    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    40
    well if you can elabourate on what stereo you have and what youre switching to im sure that we could advise

    by this i mean concert syphony rns-e etc
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Should be a straight swap on an 06 plate if you are fitting a later Audi HU. Audi changed to quadlock around 05, but I guess you need to check yours if it's an early 06 as there was quite a crossover, I've seen 05's quadlock and ISO.
     
  5. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any help please :unsure:
     
  7. martinivw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    21
    I done the single din to double din swap and I would advise to buythe kit from kufatec.com this will give u removal keys, ariel plug and iso to quadlock loom basically all u needfor the conversion I got mine from eBay and had to mess around with cables and got the wrong ariel plug my car is a 2006 model and I had to get new ariel amplifiers from a later model, "johns3" was a great help to me about this matter drop him a pm
     
  8. scottie123

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    You will need new aerial amps in the boot. Otherwise you will not get reception for radio. It will be ok for 30 sec's 'ish , then just cut to very poor reception. As said, see Johns3's guide in the faq's (it is for rns-e fix, but you need to do the reverse of what he has done).You could do a swap with somebody that is looking to fix their aerial issue with rns-e,to keep costs down.

    I bought an rns-e harness from ebay, and the aerial adapter. Small wiring change to the harness. 1 wire piggybacked to another.

    It will then work properly. You will not need vcds to any coding.

    Hope that helps.
     
  9. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    40
    yeah theyre the same fixings if you check out johns guide youll get the pics someone will confirm on the harness
     
  11. scottie123

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Scottie, just bought both amps for £20 so if i buy the adapter is there anything else i need apart from removal keys? - oh and stereo :think:
     
  13. geraint.davies

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, we spoke before, I have the stereo that you are looking for and the adaptor for the quadlock and aerial, pictures are in the classifieds. Could do the wholelot for £100 plus delivery, can't be bothered to put on ebay! Letme know.
     
  14. scottie123

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sent PM :icon_thumright:
     
  16. martinivw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thats why i got the ebay ones aswell i done the same wireing change as scottie i think( two + required for headunit iirc also had to add a live for rear speakers) was real easy with all the help i got on here

     

Share This Page