1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading S3 audio

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by ImS3ola, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello people. I've just picked up my S3 and i'm loving everything about it expect the music system. I'm looking to upgrade the sound, but i'm not sure what path to take. The car has the symphony double din head unit. I'm thinking about keeping this, but I may be adding SatNav+ in the future.

    My normal route is just to replace front speakers and add an amp and sub in the boot. I'm not after big bass, so may just go for a nice ported 8" sub in the boot. I've been reading about these andymac sub enclosures which I believe come with a 6.5" JL sub. This seems perfect but i'm sceptical about how much bass a sub this size could produce, especially as it's in a small sealed enclosure. I assume it's very punchy and can't produce any low bass? If anyone has this installed and could give me their view of how it sounds, i'd be extremely grateful.

    In also want to fit new front speakers - i've read that 5.25" ones can be fitted, but you have to watch out for the mounting depth. Does anyone have any recommendations?

    Sorry for all the questions /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #1
  2. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    you would be amazed with the anymac stealth sub - i fitted one and its fantastic, and no loss of boot space.

    i also uprated the front and rear speakers and the overall improvements are just fantastic

    i used infinity kappa 50.5cs on the front (only 1mm spare space) and alpine 17cm coaxials in the rear with the andymac sub
    #2
  3. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,025
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    I'm in the process of fitting mine, just aint got time to do it... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif... and it's getting bloody cold!
    #3
  4. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds interesting. Could someone who owns one give a mini review of how the andymac sub sounds. Obviously deep bass is out the question, but I would like a nice balanced sound.

    Also, how much do they cost?

    Thanks
    #4
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    ImS3ola, if you're anywhere near Southampton (or Bracknell) I can give you a demo of the sub in my wife's A3TS.
    The cost is £70 for the enclosure (includes wadding, gold speaker terminals and wiring, finished in satin black)
    JL Audio 6.5" sub - £85
    Alpine V12 F400 amp - £90
    Optional fitting - £60

    If you want slightly lower down bass you can use the JL 8" unit, but this is almost twice the price and is severely restricted by the size of the enclosure.
    #5
  6. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Andy, thanks for the offer but unfortunately i'm in london. At the moment i can't really decide whether to go with a 8" sub, something like the JL Audio 8W3, and run it in a normal box in the boot, or go for the JL 6WO in your box. I know it's difficult to try and describe these things, but could you give a discription of how your box sounds in relation to the standard s3 bose setup.

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
    #6
  7. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could someone also advise how I would connect my symphony headunit to an amp. I assume the symphony doesn't have rca preouts. Is some type of adapter needed?

    #7
  8. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    Theres a mini review Here

    Cheers
    Rich.
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    It does have pre-outs but not the RCA type, you need the RCA pre-out adapter, however this will disconnect bothe the Bose amp and Bose sub/amp, so it is easier to tap into the rear pre-outs and remote on lead on the sub loom.
    RCA adapter
    #9
  10. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks andy. I don't have bose so I think I may go for that adapter. I'm going to try and get an amp that has a remote bass control so I can control the bass independently of the symphonu hu.

    If I get an amp to run the front speakers and a sub, can I still run the rear speakers off the symphony hu?
    #10
  11. imported_maviceuk
    Online

    imported_maviceuk Guest

    ImS3ola

    I did the MacSub route and never looked back - more Bass than you can shake a stick at

    love listening to music in the car now - couldnt stand it before

    full thread here stage by stage

    http://www.audi-sport.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=1,10,15,105,200,900,1000&Board=a3s3&Number=115727&Forum=a3s3&Words=speaker%20upgrade&Match=Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=25&Old=6months&Main=85034&Search=true#Post115727
    #11
  12. imported_maviceuk
    Online

    imported_maviceuk Guest

    sorry

    link didnt work /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

    just do a search for "speaker upgrade" to find detailed thread

    cheers
    #12
  13. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link noggy - i think you've convinced me to go for andys enclosure.

    I'm now on the lookout for some 5.25" components. I'm thinking about the alpine SPR-136a as i've had the 6.5" versions in the past and i've been impressed with them. Only problem is that they have a mounting depth of just under 3". Will this be too deep for the doors?

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
    #13
  14. lewy
    Offline

    lewy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Focal 130v2 slims fit a treat - and sound mucho better than the Infinity's IMO.here I know they may be expensive (and French), but you'll never look back.
    Lewy
    #14
  15. jediknight
    Offline

    jediknight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    1
    what is the model number of the infinity speakers you were talking about and where did you find them for £100?

    thanks
    #15

Share This Page