1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading head unit - anything required to connect to onboard amp/sub?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Bramley, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 23, 2013]
    I am upgrading my head unit in my A3 8p, do I need one with a amp/sub connection for the standard amp/sub or is it all in the same connection??
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 29, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jan 23, 2013]
    Upgrading to what would help, oem or aftermarket?
    #2
  4. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 23, 2013]
    Aftermarket. Don't really see the point in upgrading oem coz it's not really that good anyway
    #3
  5. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    450
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    If your getting an aftermarket unit then you will need an adapter harness to convert the Audi wirings to the iso standard which will come with the connections you need to get the speakers all working. Go for the connects2 harness as that is the easiest to install and gets the most function without having to do a silly amount of wiring.
    #4
  6. Pepsi
    Offline

    Pepsi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    If you want your aftermarket head unit to turn on and off when you turn your ignition on/remove the key, then you may need an ignition positive wire putting in from your fuse box. . Also depending on what OE audio setup you have (full bose or rear amplified) will determine which adapter you need to operate all the speakers in your car. Also you will need an aerial booster. the adapter and booster need connecting to a remote live + off your stereo . . . Fun work:yahoo:
    #5
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    450
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    you dont need to do that when you use the Connects2 wiring harness... it handles that all for you.
    #6
  8. Pepsi
    Offline

    Pepsi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    mmm that looks like an easier option . . i used the autoleads one . .works but doesn't include the aerial booster .

    Does the connects2 harness turn on/off the head unit when turning ignition on/removing key?
    #7
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    450
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    yep!
    as well as giving you the steering wheel controls (when using hte right patch lead), ties into the reverse gear for rear view cam, allows muting of the stereo and even video in motion
    #8
  10. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Brill, thanks for the help.

    I have gone for an xtrons A3 Custom OEM media centre thing.
    Not sure what its gonna be like but I will do a write up on it once installed
    #9
  11. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Which wiring harness do I need? could you send me a link please, there seems to be a few
    #10

Share This Page