1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unlocking ECU's - Calling out owners with VAGCOM in Surrey/London area

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Shy19s, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2009]
    As above.. people with vagcom, do you know how to 'unlock' an ECU?

    If you are please PM moi..

    Shy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2009]
    Vagcom members.. you havnt unlocked ECUs before?

    There is obviously a price to go with this.. i wouldnt expect it for free...

    Anybody out there?:search:
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,661
    Likes Received:
    293
    [Jun 10, 2009]
    VAG com cannot be used to unlock ECU's mate, its a software / programming issue. VAGcom can be used to match a compatable ECU with a Immo 2 dash tho.

    How old is the car, and is the ECU form the same age of car?
    #3
  5. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2009]
    Byzan my man... Thats what i ment, matching an ECU with an immo.. I.e. using an ECU out of a different car that goes with another engine, that im putting in my car... :D same sort of year.. pre facelift. shouldnt be too much drama.. There is a way to do it on VAGcom, take 10 mins, Just a matter of clicking on some boxes apparently?!
    #4
  6. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,661
    Likes Received:
    293
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    yeah, if you were closer i would do it for you. It's simple if similar years etc.

    Worse case scanario, we can do it at GTi? Or if you get yourself a cable, i can tlak you through it
    #5
  7. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    Im not in the country for GTI, gutted as i booked the holiday then a few days after looked at the dates to book GTI..

    Even if you know how, there are people near me with VAGcom, your advice would be more than useful!

    i need to "unlock" it so i can drive it to get it mapped...
    #6
  8. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    You need the access code to adapt a new ECU. If you do not know it then it will not be possible. VAGtacho is a tool for gaining the code, but as yet I've not used it personally. Potentially with both programes you should be able to swap ECUs.
    #7
  9. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,661
    Likes Received:
    293
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    Thats not true, the ECU can be adapted without the SKC. The ECU is swapped in and then VAG com is then used to adapt the dash to the new ecu. If you need to sweap the dash you need to gain the SKC code to code the IMMO and then the ECU .

    I have both cables as i just used the Tacho one to stick a new dash in mine that works
    Borrowed from Ross-tech

    Immobilizer II:
    The immobilizer will prevent the car from running without a matching key microchip. There is a symbol in the instrument cluster showing a key inside a car. If a new (or different ECU) is installed in the vehicle, the immobilizer will prevent the car from running and will cause the symbol to flash. Here is the procedure to introduce a new ECU to the instrument cluster. This must be performed each time ECU's are exchanged. This does not apply to installing a "chip" in the same ECU that is already aligned with the car.
    Immo-3 knows your car's VIN. Access 17-Instruments (or separate 25-Immobilizer on vehicles that are set up that way) and look at the first "Extra" field.

    If you see something like: "Immo-ID VWZ7Z0W0648696" You've got Immo-2 (or maybe even Immo-1 in earlier non-US models).

    If you see something like "WVZKB58001H231169 VWZ7Z0W0648696" You've got
    Immo-3. The first 17-digit string is the VIN. The second 14-digit string in the Immo-ID.

    1. Install the new ECU in the car
      [Select]
      [17 - Instruments]
      [Adaptation - 10]

      Leave channel at "00"
      [Read]
      [Save]
    2. [Done, Go Back]
      [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]
      [Exit]
    #8
  10. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    Thanks for your responses, make sense what your wrote but you lost me at the numbers and the commands, but im sure that will make sense to someone with vagcom..

    Where would i find these codes? - I've heard talk of needing to send off ECUs to be 'unlocked' - and then alligned with the immo etc..?

    How would you go about rectifying this problem, plug the ECU in, all the looms, then plug vag com in etc?
    #9
  11. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    Good point Byzan. I forget you only need to link the key to the immobiliser for some models.

    You swap the ecu and then just run through the above proceedure. Done it a few times with my car....Thinking about it I'm sure it asked me for my SKC. Haven't done it for a while so I'm probably confusing with something else.
    #10
  12. Shy19s
    Offline

    Shy19s Oil running through my veins.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    Ok so now we know how to do it, is there anyone in the, Surrey, Berkshire or south west London area who is willing to lend a helping hand? As said, u will be compensated for.
    #11

Share This Page