1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Under bonnet pics

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by robthehungrymonkey, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    Since i bought my s3, i knew that I needed a new battery cover, what I want to make sure is that there isn't anything else cosmetic missing under the bonnet.

    can someone post a pic of their car with the bonnet open? Standard would be best, but any modded examples are always useful (and interesting).

    Also, does anyone know where I could get one from? Or the part number?

    Thanks,

    ROb.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 1, 2014]

  3. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
  4. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    Post deleted by nervus
    #3
  5. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    WoW!!!!!

    Perfect!!

    And amazingly prompt response!

    thanks!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    Nervus, what's the bit that's circled in your pic?
    #5
  7. ultramodz
    Offline

    ultramodz 06 A4 2.0T FSi S-Line SE

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    imola s3 - u seem to have a large lump of plastic where u'r engine's supposed to be!

    i've not seen the side section around the washer bottle before - or the solid battery cover.

    are these late-spec items on both the S3 and the A3 - or s3 only spec?
    #6
  8. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    WoW!!!!!

    Perfect!!

    And amazingly prompt response!

    thanks!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Always glad to be of service! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  9. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    Standard S3 spec i think
    #8
  10. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    yeah battery cover is different too mine and i havent seen bottle cover of the left side b4? is it meant to be there???
    #9
  11. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    imola s3 - u seem to have a large lump of plastic where u'r engine's supposed to be!

    i've not seen the side section around the washer bottle before - or the solid battery cover.

    are these late-spec items on both the S3 and the A3 - or s3 only spec?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Possible just S3 spec... my car is a 1999 V-reg.
    #10
  12. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    imola s3 - u seem to have a large lump of plastic where u'r engine's supposed to be!

    i've not seen the side section around the washer bottle before - or the solid battery cover.

    are these late-spec items on both the S3 and the A3 - or s3 only spec?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This is what i'm missing.
    #11
  13. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    yup, its there on all S3's
    #12
  14. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    that a K&N panel filter in there?
    #13
  15. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    that a K&N panel filter in there?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    I did have a K&N panel filter in there, but I have removed the airbox now and fitted a Neuspeed P-Flo induction kit now.
    #14
  16. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    much difference mate? how much mate
    #15
  17. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    How do you find it ImolaS3?

    I thought the neuspeed 'type' ones gave less power due to heat soak or something?
    #16
  18. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    #17
  19. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    I cant see it being very advantageous as even with a heat shield its till open in the enginebay and will suck in hot air.

    Rich
    #18
  20. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I cant see it being very advantageous as even with a heat shield its till open in the enginebay and will suck in hot air.

    Rich

    [/ QUOTE ]
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/10_1_114.gif
    #19
  21. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    Can't see nervus's pic.

    Just to confirm, bottle cover and battery cover are standard on all S3's from 99 onwards.

    AL
    #20
  22. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    they look nice, would the cover fit an A3?
    #21
  23. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,487
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    It was the replacement brake servo vacum pipe which is prone to splitting and causing boost leaks.

    [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    My 1999 S3 doesn't seem to have that part, and looking at Imola's engine bay, you can't see it there neither?
    #22
  24. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    @ jojo,

    Do you mean the blue hose? It replaces a standard u-shaped black rubber hose which taps off boost to the brake system or something. It is prone to splitting on the inside and causes boost leaks.
    #23
  25. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,487
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    @ jojo,

    Do you mean the blue hose? It replaces a standard u-shaped black rubber hose which taps off boost to the brake system or something. It is prone to splitting on the inside and causes boost leaks.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yup, the blue one, if you scroll to the top of this thread and have a look at Imola's engine bay, the pipe above it is different shape and there isn't that U-shaped pipe where you have circled, so maybe these were updated at some point.
    #24
  26. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 6, 2005]
    The replaced hose sits under the one in ImolaS3's pic, it's there its just real small and hard to see. If you look on my pic, the black pipe is still there above the blue one.
    #25
  27. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [​IMG]

    ...and another...
    #26
  28. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    they look nice, would the cover fit an A3?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yes you can fit all the covers to an A3. I trial fitted all the covers from my friends S3 to my car just see if they would a while back.

    The washer bottle cover just needs a little bracket the fit to the washer bottle fixings for it to be secure.

    The battery cover requires the complete S3 battery tray for it to work as factory although you can get away without this and make your own fixings.

    A few people with golfs have done this.
    #27
  29. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    they look nice, would the cover fit an A3?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yes you can fit all the covers to an A3. I trial fitted all the covers from my friends S3 to my car just see if they would a while back.

    The washer bottle cover just needs a little bracket the fit to the washer bottle fixings for it to be secure.

    The battery cover requires the complete S3 battery tray for it to work as factory although you can get away without this and make your own fixings.

    A few people with golfs have done this.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The battery covers is actually a pretty tight fit with NO fixings. I got one off ebay a few months back and only jsut got around to fitting it last night aswell as tarting up the rest of the engine bay. Makes it look so much tidier. Just need the other side cover now.

    Rich
    #28
  30. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    Indeed, they give a nice factory clean look.
    #29
  31. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    I wouldnt mind all the covers done in carbon, might look into this in the future.

    How does the strut brace attach on the s3. I had a look on my 1.8ts and couldnt see any factory holes or lugs. Is it possible to fit one or is it worth getting an aftermarket item?
    #30
  32. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I wouldnt mind all the covers done in carbon, might look into this in the future.

    How does the strut brace attach on the s3. I had a look on my 1.8ts and couldnt see any factory holes or lugs. Is it possible to fit one or is it worth getting an aftermarket item?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    its easy enough to fit an S3 strut brace. There are 2 ways i would recomend doing it.

    A) Drill the holes and use 'Nutserts (o a search on them to save me explaining)
    B) Drill holes and tap them and bolt directly into the body. its about 5mm thick so wont be a problem!

    Rich
    #31
  33. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    B) Drill holes and tap them and bolt directly into the body. its about 5mm thick so wont be a problem!


    [/ QUOTE ]

    They'll come loose...
    I did this on my Golf...you are best bolting straight through to make sure the damn thing is ridid.

    A strut brace with loose bolts is of no use to man nor beast.
    #32
  34. paulbinks
    Offline

    paulbinks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    My bolts on my strut brace have not come loose in 2 years but they do have spring washers under the stainless cap heads i fitted, you could try loctite thread lock too.
    Cheers "Bingo"
    #33
  35. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    B) Drill holes and tap them and bolt directly into the body. its about 5mm thick so wont be a problem!


    [/ QUOTE ]

    They'll come loose...
    I did this on my Golf...you are best bolting straight through to make sure the damn thing is ridid.

    A strut brace with loose bolts is of no use to man nor beast.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Well i cant argue with tried and tested!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif Nutserts shouldbe fine. Its just a real pain in the arse bolting things up when you have the shock and spring in the way.

    RIch
    #34
  36. s3bow
    Offline

    s3bow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 7, 2005]
    @EssThree, nice clamps mate.

    Chris.
    #35
  37. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2005]
    Cheers for the rough fitting instructions. I used jacknuts on my katurbo and found them to be a bit poor to fit. Ill search out nutserts or rivnuts etc.
    #36
  38. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 8, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    @EssThree, nice clamps mate.

    Chris.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Required clamps Chris...

    Blowing hoses off under load, when running 1.8 bar and over, is no fun.

    Those things wouldn't blow off...
    #37

Share This Page