1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tyre Pressure Monitoring System

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by mit_a4, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. mit_a4
    Offline

    mit_a4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 28, 2011]
    Hi All,

    Would just like to firstly introduce myself to this forum. I am now the proud owner of an Audi A4 (B8) 2.0TDI 143 SE 2008 Model since the last 2 weeks,since then I have hit the motorways and all sorts - what a first fantastic Audi it is for me to own, I have been very impressed with it since, and what a jump up it is from owning Alfa's and Fiats.

    I am trying to get to grips with this car, so excuse the questions if they have been answered constantly in the past, but I was looking through the car manual regarding tyre pressure amounts, and it pointed out that the onboard computer flags this up when the amounts are becoming low, but is this with cars fitted with MMI Interfaces, I am under the assumption mine does not have that. I also did a search through the car set up and scrolled through the menu where there are various adjustment options for lights, windows etc, but did not see anything for tyre pressure monitoring.

    If I do not have this, could it be installed, at a cost?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 28, 2011]
    TPM is an option.

    It can however be enabled if you have the correct ABS controller and MMI -

    AudiEnthusiasts TPMS
    #2
  4. Speedemon
    Offline

    Speedemon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Hi There. I have tyre pressure monitoring, but do not have MMI. It is accessed though the setup of the car, but is an extra cost item. It apparently works using the ABS sensors. The rotational speed changes depending on the pressure in the tyre due to the circumference differing at different pressures and the ABS sensors pick up the speed change.
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Howzit speedemon, welcome to the site.
    #4
  6. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    68
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Double check your build option codes (on a print out like a till reciept inside cover of your service record) for code 7K6, you might already have it.For theother codes. decode tham at
    VW Group Option Codes Decoder
    #5

Share This Page