1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Type pressure monitor

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TDI-line, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. TDI-line

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,061
    Likes Received:
    39
    Anyone got this option, i know it's only £45, and was wondering if there are complications with sensors in the tyres etc.

    Thanks,

    TDI/
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,348
    Likes Received:
    922
    I have this option on my Sportback.

    There are no sensors or anything in the tyres. The system works using the ABS sensors to compare the speed and therefore the rolling cicumference of the wheels. If the rolling circumference of one of the wheels changes, then the warning system is activated.
     
  4. TDI-line

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,061
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cheers Dave.
     
  5. coupe-se

    coupe-se Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you know what pressure drop is needed to make the system activate. Just wondering if its sensitive enough to detetc a 3-4 psi drop or whether it needs a big drop to make it work.

    Just curious.:think:
     
  6. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,348
    Likes Received:
    922
    No, the is no indication in the Owner's Manual. Perhaps I will have to try it, gradually letting air out of one of the tyres and taking the car down the road to see at what point it gives a warning.
     
  7. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    Interesting post. Does anyone know if this facility can be retrofitted to a 2006 A3 2.0L TDI vehicle? Price? It looks to be mostly software, since there are no tyre sensors to fit. Thanks in advance.:cool:
     
  8. jamiekip

    jamiekip Guest

    I'd be interested in considering a retro fit if it was cheap enough.
    What would be required????
     
  9. gg9485

    gg9485 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    its not very good to be honest - mum has it on her SEAT altea (exact same system) and it doesn't detect a pressure change of about 5psi. The systems which have sensors in the wheels are far more accurate. Personally if its free great but not worth paying ANY amount of money for - by the time it registers pressure loss it would be enough to visually see that the tyre has lost pressure.
     
  12. JamS3

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    Would be interesting for h5djr to try this on his car and see how accurate it is!
     
  13. TDI-line

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,061
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah, come on Dave :):meeting:
     
  14. Diadem

    Diadem New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it fitted to my A3 and Im not very impresed with it. On one occasion I noticed the car was pulling due to slightly flat tyre but the indicator never warned me about it.. On another occasion I had my tyres at 42psi, due to heavy load, but when I took them back to there usual pressure it never picked it up either. Maybe faulty on mine wont be the 1st thing!!!!
     
  15. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Well it wouldn't unless they were different pressures surely?
     
  16. sjahS3

    sjahS3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would possibly be interested in a retro-fit.. but again only if it is worth the extra $$$ and integrates as the OEM would.

    -Sal-
     
  17. Dandle

    Dandle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine worked really well after I adjusted the pressure when the car was new. I only changed the front wheels by +2psi each and the warning came on about 1-1.5miles away.
     
  18. murray

    murray murray

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it and it works well.

    Came on a couple of weeks ago and one tyre was down about 2psi.
     
  19. Diadem

    Diadem New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you change the pressures on the tyres you are have to reset the system to tell the car you did it.

    I never reset it to see if it worked but it didnt.
     
  20. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I ordered the parts so will be attempting this retro-fit next week.
    Pars for this are really cheap so got to be worth a go.
    I 'll let you know how I get on. :confused:
     
  21. emzino

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Goodluck mate. Take plenty of pics! :)
     

Share This Page