1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

two warning lights at once!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by nath-w, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    today my traction control light came on, so i turned engine off and on again, but when i turned it back on, the traction control light and the engine management light came on. does anyone know what this could be??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    just had a thought and now feel a bit stupid. i just changed the air filter, and turned the engine on with out plugging the maf back in. could this have caused both these lights to come on?
    #2
  4. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,146
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    I was expecting you to say that three lights were up now!
    never unplugged it and turned the ignition so don't know but being as its Audi then probably yes.
    #3
  5. leshkin
    Online

    leshkin Speeding in reverse gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    nath-w, get it scanned with vagcom and all your questions will be answered.
    #4
  6. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    does anyone know where the nearest vagcom is to me as i live in north cornwall. i have got and autoelectric garage who can do it, but last time they charged me £80 just to plug it in.
    #5
  7. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,146
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    vagcom members in the stickies
    #6
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,607
    Likes Received:
    279
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    The maf unplugged can deffo cause both lights to come on, but connecting and restarting should have put them out
    #7
  9. Prawn
    Online

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,638
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    have you tried just plugging it in and driving the car? I think the light should go out provided that's all it was....
    #8
  10. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    ok feel a bit stupid now. just went and checked my maf and i didnt plug it back in properly. anyway the traction light has gone out now, but the engine management light is still on. why???
    #9
  11. Prawn
    Online

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,638
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    because jesus hates you.
    #10
  12. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    i hope not!!!!
    #11
  13. leshkin
    Online

    leshkin Speeding in reverse gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    :lmfao:

    Seriously though, vag-com is the best piece of kit you can buy for your car :thumbsup:
    #12
  14. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    didnt know you could buy vag-com. how do you do this?
    #13
  15. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,607
    Likes Received:
    279
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Oh yeah !!

    Prb best just pop onto ebay and type those very words.

    I had my cable before i had taken delivery of my car,lol
    #14
  16. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Its probably just warning you of the old problem namely maf plug, once the code is cleared I suspect the light will stay out given the maf has been plugged back in now.

    There are many guys around the UK who would gladly clear these faults for you most likely for free, check the stickies & you'll find a list of users & someone with a genuine lead with uptodate version namely 805 that will be able to access all the cars modules & let you know of any others that have been lingering in the cars systems.

    Genuine VCDS costs about £230-£240.
    #16
  18. S3 Rav
    Online

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 2, 2009]

    PMSL this quote is going to make my day!!!:icon_thumright::applaus:
    #17
  19. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2009]
    The engine management light should go out after going for a drive..if not then disconnect the battery for 30 mins and that should sort it.
    #18
  20. leshkin
    Online

    leshkin Speeding in reverse gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 2, 2009]
    go to http://www.ross-tech.com/ and buy yourself the full version and proper cable... e-bay ones are prone to failure as many will tell you
    #19
  21. Darren4
    Offline

    Darren4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 2, 2009]
    Thats what i was going to suggest :salute:
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 2, 2009]
    Glad to see some sense of using genuine cables, but its the sensible move, but try as suggested which could save you a ride or expense of cable, but I cant recommend them enough, here's one reason why:

    Quote:

    Originally Posted by NHN [​IMG]

    Audi 5052 unit is £5k to buy plus you have to subscribe to updates.

    Ross-Tech is £230-£280 with to date free updates

    Let me also add this cause eyes were widen recently when chatting with master tech steve at my dealers.

    I recently updated my cluster to the newer 09 version as some know, now this required recoding immo & coding instruments etc, but one thing that was showing were lights up for braking systems, now I knew it was an adaptation issue to tell the car that it had abs, esp etc etc, so I said to steve just go into this channel & code this option mate (hold the front page, me advising a master tech what to do, feck me, never thought that would happen in million years) so he went in to the adaptations & that channel but couldnt, we put this down to security access, so we went in to that & I said just enter the security code, he said we dont have access to that area, I was like thats impossible, he said no mate cant do.

    So what I did, I went home, plugged in VCDS, went into 17, security access to which vcds prompted me to enter a certain code that was displayed, entered, went into adaptations, coded the setting to 11 which told car what braking systems etc I had, lights all went out, job done.

    Point is audi with 5k equipment couldnt do this for me, but VCDS with £260 did all this for me
    #21
  23. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    thanks for the advice. i went into my local garage and explained what happened. they plugged their computer in, it came up with maf sensor fault, and they cleared it for free, now all lights stay off. brilliant :)
    #22
  24. ScottSummerhayes
    Offline

    ScottSummerhayes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    That was nice of them!
    #23
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    I'm truly shocked, is it a special day today or were they just being nice, lol

    [​IMG]
    #24
  26. nath-w
    Offline

    nath-w Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    i know i cant believe it. think he just feels sorry for me as ive only had the car a month and its been in his garage twice already!!!
    #25

Share This Page