1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turn off D.I.S.?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A11 EAF, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. A11 EAF
    Offline

    A11 EAF Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    Does anyone know if you can turn off the drivers information system on the dash? My last two audi's I could but this new A3 I can't see a way to turn it off. My MPG figures are depressing, I don't want to see them! I bought the car to enjoy and want to forget how much its drinking.

    Does anyone know how to turn it off completely? The old type would go off if you held down the reset button then released it.

    thanks for any help.:sorry:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    I think on / off is a quick press of the reset button not holding it down...
    #2
  4. southpaw66
    Offline

    southpaw66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    A quick press on mine just rotates to next functions Trip 1/ Trip 2/ Digital Speedo / Menu. Holding down resets in Trip mode not tried in speedo or menu modes though.

    Why not choose digital speedo and appreciate the speed you're spending your money on...
    #3
  5. RobB
    Offline

    RobB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    I know what you mean - the old A3s could have it switched off by briefly pressing the reset button. Now this simply toggles you between the 2 sets of info and the menu. Pressing and holding also just resets the data. Don't think there is a way.

    Why not just stick it on average speed to cheer yourself up or use the menus to remove the mpg settings from the items available to view? Anyway, you're only delaying your drop into depression for about 250 miles or so before you have to fill up again!
    #4
  6. RobB
    Offline

    RobB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    Digital speedo? Must be a new option on recent models. Not on mine - only menu, data set 1, data set 2.
    #5
  7. wilko
    Offline

    wilko Top Gear

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    Must be a new feature cos mine wont do that - and why not I want it!!
    #6
  8. southpaw66
    Offline

    southpaw66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    07MY function maybe. It's just the speed in extra big numerals in the middle of the DIS (eg 37mph). It will default to this after checking the oil temp or other menu functions. Interestingly doesn't show exactly the same speed as analogue speedo - about -1mph.
    #7
  9. PJLarge
    Offline

    PJLarge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    ...although what is interesting about the digi speedo is that it's absolutely bang on. If I have the tomtom in the car, the gps speed is exactly what the digi speedo says it is.
    #8
  10. southpaw66
    Offline

    southpaw66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    Yeah I suspect it's more accurate. But mine's only the width of a the speedo needle variation so not much different. Dealer recommended it was handy for speed traps.
    Once I've stopped obsessing about mpg (hopefully increasing to show I'm running the engine in) I might use it a bit more.

    But actually I'd like to be able to leave to Oil Temp on permanently...
    #9
  11. OutLore
    Offline

    OutLore VOIP Dude

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    You can go into the menus and choose what is displayed - IIRC you can pretty much switch everything off. At least, I could on my 05
    #10
  12. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    302
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    The speedo thing is weird. One I test drove back in September had it but one I was loaned last week with only 300 miles on it didn't appear to.
    #11
  13. vagman
    Offline

    vagman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    I really like the new digital speedo function on the DIS and is a welcome addition to the other functions available.
    #12
  14. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2006]
    Oil temp as well? Wow, DIS really has moved forward. Wonder if that could be retrofitted with a software upgrade, perhaps using VAG-COM?
    #13
  15. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,649
    Likes Received:
    621
    [Nov 17, 2006]
    Sounds like another small improvement to look forward to on my next A3.

    I current have a Road Pilot Micro Go fiited for speed camera warnings and that gives a digital speed reading as well as warning of cameras and telling me the speed limit for the camera area. This seems to be much more accurate that the main speedo. Mine over reads by nearly 10%.
    #14
  16. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    302
    [Nov 17, 2006]
    Mine's 10% over too. 100mph indicated is 91mph actual and when I was doing an actual 127 it was showing 140!
    #15

Share This Page