1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turborevs side mounted intercooler available again!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by nick4501, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. nick4501

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    10
    are these coolers larger than the S3 SMIC's?
     
  4. nick4501

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure mate, you'd have to measure a standard S3 one...
     
  5. DJ_Troopa

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    14
    These look huge compared to the S3 ones. Makes me wonder how it'd fit behind the bumper? lol
     
  6. nick4501

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I guess I'll find out in about a week's time!
     
  7. DaveA3

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    15
    what happened with this do we know? i was interested in some feedback here
     
  8. JS1500

    JS1500 Howdy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    9
    Excuse my stupidity but...

    Would one of these work in place of one of the S3's (i.e one standard, one Turborevs)?
    Would there be a problem fitting it in there?
    Would there be much (any?) benefit over standard S3 SMIC setup?
    (I don't really want an FMIC you see...)
     
  9. s3gazz

    s3gazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    98
    iv got the side ones and a front mount intercooler and that runs great and notice alot of a difference so if
    i end up going for these as well shorly there would be even more of a difference in temp, power seen as
    there bigger than the standered s3 smic
     
  10. Imteyaz

    Imteyaz 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just remember that these aftremarket SMIC's will have a pre-drilled hole for the MAP sensor - don't know if the S3's SMIC's have them. You would need to fabricate something to block the port on it. They look very similar to the Eurojet SMIC's which require a little trimming to the ducting that allows airflow to it. Nothing a sharp stanley knife and a steady hand can't deal with in 60 seconds....
     
  11. nick4501

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I eventually fit it. I ran into an unforeseen problem with the MAP sensor that sits inside the hole in the SMIC. There are apparently 2 different sizes of MAP sesnor (12mm and 18mm, at a guess). Mine was the larger size and the hole in the SMIC is for the smaller (apparently more common) size. I ended up sourcing a second hand one off ebay and it worked perfectly. I've been running my car like this for about a month now and seems well!

    The only down side to this is that because it's quite a lot bigger than the original, I had to remove the ducting pipe completely and it still pushes the bumper forward by a couple of cm's, but doesn't look out of place unless you're really looking for it.

    I haven't got around to recording any intake temperature logs after fitting the SMIC, but I did remember to do it before fitting. As soon as I get around to doing some more logs, I'll update this thread and let you know if it was worth the hassle!
     

Share This Page