1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turborevs Side Mount Intercooler Install

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Markeyboy, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    been asked by a coupple of people to do a write up on this, so here we go

    purchased from turborevs from that wonderfull place that is ebay, for about £105 delivered!

    the only ones they had in stock were the smic's for the diesel for the a3, there built the same but has a smaller diameter hole for the map sensor, mine needed to be opened up to 18mm, but the flange bolt holes are the same!

    here she is
    [​IMG]


    so the first job is to remove the front bumper,
    [​IMG]

    then the drivers side headlight
    [​IMG]
    theres 2 torx bolts on top and one that is tucked just inside the wing

    heres the origional,
    [​IMG]

    theres 2 jubilee clips to remove,
    one above
    [​IMG]

    one below
    [​IMG]

    warning* there was a fair amount of oil sitting in the bottem of my old ic,due to the PCV problems i had in the past. made a nice stain on the drive!

    then there are 3 bolts to remove which hold the ic to the car, two above and one underneath

    comparison of the old and new
    [​IMG]

    swap the map sensor over
    [​IMG]

    bolt new one onto the car and connect up the two hoses
    [​IMG]

    you can just about see the to bolt locations on this photo


    much nicer
    [​IMG]


    the ducting needed alot of trimming, which i did using a dremel, had to take about an inch off the ducting nearest the ic (no pics im afraid)

    running without the ducting is not recommended as the logs i ran after fitting showes very high temps compared with the ducting fitted!


    Logs
    sorry for the pic quality

    the origional ic logs were done at 8degC inthe rain, i have not been able to get testing done with the same weather condidions yet, all other logs have been done at the temps stated on the side legend in the dry
    [​IMG]

    no ducting is really not an option

    [​IMG]

    all the logs were done in 3rd gear WOT on the same road, trying to replicate the pre log driving condtions

    so all in all, very easy to fit, took about 1 1/2 hours all in. seems to boost harder but it may just be the placebo effect but im happy
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    what kinda power can these run, i'd be more obliged to get this done than a FMIC
    #2
  4. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Id rather run a front mount. I did a custom jobby on my golf (Forge Style) and worked well. I find this one over priced... Could get a FMIC and pipes for £150 and better results. (IMO)
    #3
  5. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    i spoke to Rtech this morning and they said its not really big enough for stage 2 but will be ok for stage 1.5, will let you know in a coupple of weeks when iv paid them a visit and had the remap done
    #4
  6. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    im not gonna be happy til i run 250 all day long, but it would be good to know. where about's is R-tech btw?
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    317
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Interesting results on the lack of ducting, i really need to get some for mine as its missing!
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    317
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    You wont be running 250hp "all day long" on a K03S.
    #7
  9. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    i was shocked with how high the temps were without it, i was contemplating cutting the wheel arch out behind the ic to allow even more air flow, but thats still plans atm, need to find some mesh and a little more ducting, and a spare wheel arch to play with
    #8
  10. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Aragorn,

    Will the duct from an S3 fit? as I have Drivers side Duct

    #9
  11. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    also whats up with the boost hose from Intercooler to inlet? looks... unwell :p
    #10
  12. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    317
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    ryan: doubt it, its an A4 :p
    #11
  13. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    erm yea, was hoping no one would notice that, it was another "un-edecuated project" fitted a baliey dv26 there along with the bosch dv in its origional place, didnt go tremendiously well, dv26 now removed and bk to standard,
    #12
  14. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    The KO3 hybrid with the Rs6 Compressor and Turbine on my shelf at home says different
    :racer:
    #13
  15. Darren4
    Offline

    Darren4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    then the drivers side headlight
    [​IMG]
    theres 2 torx bolts on top and one that is tucked just inside the wing

    Sorry to butt in mat, but where is the last bolt under the headlight please. Been needing to remove my headlight from the s3, but cant find that bolt :(. Where about in the wing is it lol

    Thanks for any help
    #14
  16. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    If you look at the photo, it's just infront of the larger bolt you can see, it's down a hole and you need a long torx bit to get to it,
    It can also be gently tugged at to get the light out as this particular bolt has rubber mounts that will give, I'd recommend the unbolting route first above yanking
    #15
    Darren4 likes this.
  17. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    That's not a k03s?! That's a k03/k03s housing with different internals..
    #16
  18. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Yeah man, it's known as a hybrid. KO4 parts within a KO3 housing. good for 280 bhp
    #17
  19. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Thanks for that.

    I was more implying that a k03s isn't good for 250bhp, as posted above. Your one will be, the 'hybrid' as you call it, but that's because it's not a stock turbo.
    #18
  20. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Not a bloody stock price either :bye:
    #19
  21. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,646
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    It's actually a ko3 with ko4 hybrid internals. Not ko4 internals.

    Didn't know the rs6 compressor would fit in a ko3 comp housing
    #20
  22. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Out of interest in regards to the SMIC upgrade did you replace both sides??
    #21
  23. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,307
    Likes Received:
    973
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    A3s only have 1 smic mate
    #22
  24. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    It's an A3, so it only has 1 SMIC.

    EDIT: FKN Westy.
    #23
  25. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    I think youll find hes an A3...

    Only one Side mount on an A3

    Ryan
    #24
  26. nick4501
    Offline

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    DOH! I did this last year but realised that the duct would need a LOT of hacking to make it fit. I decided it wouldn't make much difference, so just left it off. I've since moved house and I think it was thrown out! How should I go about fabricating a new one?!
    #25
  27. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Cheers didnt spot it was an A3.

    So if this was done on an S3 and you replaced both SMIC`s would that be similar to an FMIC?
    #26
  28. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    For the cost and hassle, surely it would be easier and cheaper to just fit an FMIC?
    #27
  29. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    If those SMIC`s are about £100 ea and almost a direct replacement for the OEM`ones and keep a stealthy look and less hassle fitting them but with a similar gain as an FMIC eg enough for Stage 2 (possibly) maybe then i would think of spending the extra £50 as the FMIC inc all the pipes etc is about £150 if i remeber correctly.

    Am a bit of a novice in regards to intercoolers so am just gauging what others think as not seen anyone do SMIC upgrades on either an A3 or S3 before
    #28
  30. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    There's a guide on here for a front mount install,

    I never really looked into front mounts because I thought they were really pricy, knowing what i do now I would have probably gone for a front mount, but it would have needed to get one or modify one so that the fog lights could still be kept

    For the price I paid, the simplicity of the fitting and retaining the standard look I'm happy, and will hopefully see some half decent results when it goes to rtech
    #29
  31. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,307
    Likes Received:
    973
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    I'm afraid that even 2 of these on an S3 wouldn't be as good as a front mounted one. The problem is the small surface area of the smic. The smics suffer from heat soak which is where they become very warm from cooling the charge air. The problem is that because they are small and the amount of cold air getting to them (even with the vents) isn't enough to keep them cool.

    A FMIC has a large surface area that is constantly being hit with cool air. Even if the smic were at the front, behind the bumper they would still struggle due to their size.

    It's a balancing act to get an intercooler big enough to do a good cooling job but also not too big that it will effect turbo spool and pressure drop. I tried using a small eBay FMIC alongside 1 of my SMICs and it just wasn't up to the job of my stage 2 map.
    #30
  32. rhubarb4
    Offline

    rhubarb4 Certified Jardo Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    There in Hinckley in Leicestershire dude here's the Post Code LE10 3BY ECU Remapping, Performance Engine Tuning, R-tech


    Chris.
    #31
  33. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Fmic allthe way in my opinion. Its tried and tested.


    There is a guide and shopping list for it that's almost idiot proof. Yeah it takes a day of your time. But it's well worth it.

    Why spend more than you have to for less ?

    Its a no brainer to me ;)
    #32
  34. RyanS3TT
    Offline

    RyanS3TT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    I have the ducting if you need one. It's from an s3 though.

    #33
  35. stewartS3
    Offline

    stewartS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    How easy would a front mount be to fit on a BAM S3 for someone like me who is not mechanically minded more office based lol
    #34
  36. rhubarb4
    Offline

    rhubarb4 Certified Jardo Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    #35
  37. Prawn
    Online

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,637
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    [Mar 6, 2012]
    He's back!!!!!

    We missed you dude, don't go away for so long again!
    #36
  38. nick4501
    Offline

    nick4501 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 6, 2012]
    Haha. Thanks mate. Will try to stay more active. I see from your sig that you're now up to 291 bhp?! Nutter. I wouldn't mind another trip out in it next time I'm over there... :D


    Thanks for the offer, Ryan. Nick - do you know if an S3 duct would fit?
    #37
  39. Markeyboy
    Offline

    Markeyboy Fan of the R-Tech!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 6, 2012]
    #38

Share This Page