Turbo Quattro : Chipped

iancooney

Reaction score
Obviously a highly covered topic.

I have had my Turbo Quattro since September and the power is thoroughly enjoyable, love the car.

Not that i#m a maniac or anything but if someone has the time could they outline the options i have on chipping/remapping (i'm a novice) my engine to gain more power. I live in Glasgow - anyone who knows places in Scotland where it can be done that would be helpfull also.

2001Y TQ 180 BHP 6

Cheers in advance

Ian i would be tempted to go for a 4 bar map either custom or the likes of revo,you already should have a ko3s and vvt ,you shpuld get 220 ish bhp and 240-250 lbft torque maybe more.Exhaust is worth doing but only if you are willing to change the lot ,my downpipe /cat was so restrictive,on a tq its more of a job to change the front pipe ie no room,contact milltek ,when i was looking they said that they were developing a system,but i went for custom job frontpipe with a s3 miltek system.Give star performance a ring , they will give you some options and they are north of the border. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gifAndy

[ QUOTE ]
you already should have a ko3s and vvt

[/ QUOTE ]
I thought 2001 A3 TQs used the ARY engine, which is non VVT?

I'm a bit confused about the VVT issue, in the 1.8T... It clearly doesn't have an effect on peak power or torque, but I wonder if the VVT engines are EU-IV emissions compliant, and the non-VVT only EU-III?

Sorry, bit of a tangent /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif Either way, I'd quite fancy your 225bhp Andy /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Friends with 180 Leons on that year have ko3s and vvt,but without looking?is there a wiring plug coming out of the right hand side of the cam cover ,i think this right for vvt ,but i may be wrong. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gifAndy

Guys WOAH!

English please