1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turbo popped! hybrid stage2 ordered :)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by navnayyar, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    hi guys! on my way home last night from work and turbo popped at 4000rpm in 3rd gear, couldnt believe it! Power suddenly dropped and whistle noise, damn! i drove at about 25mph, trying desperatly to get home about 2 miles away. 1 mile later, exhaust started smoking like it was on fire! I pulled over and pulled key out of ignition, and engine didnt stop! Was revving very hard at 3000rpm chucking out heck of a lot smoke. Thinking my engine was gona blow up i tried to stall it and then the engine cut out and smoke stopped eventually. I went to the back on saw my milltek drippin engine oil, ahhh! I only had this fitted last month. Thank god i got the cat replacement. Looked at it again this morning and checked to see how much engine oil I had lost and the dipstick was totally clean, all had leaked into my milltek! SO spoke to my local tuning company, am guess you all know who by now lol and they ordered me a brand new stage 2 turbo dynamics hybrid with 15% off rrp! feeling good I put my pennies down and went for it. Should be here on friday and fitted and remapped again for the 3rd time, by early nest week. I also had a sachs clutch+flywheel on order with them and had to put it on hold for now as this is more important. Hoping I can afford the sachs in a month or two time.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. adamss24
    Online

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    181
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    Lets hope you did not hydrolock the engine and bent a few rods... That would be the icing on the cake !
    #2
  4. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    that would be a bit of a b****! I didnt get no warnining lights or anything, did a VCDS scan and doesnt show anything, not even low engine oil :S
    #3
  5. Lance-22
    Offline

    Lance-22 A3TDI

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    if you dont mind me asking mate, how much did you pay for the turbo??
    #4
  6. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    had a choice of stage 1 with GT17 compressor rrp 1045+Vat or stage 2 with GT20 compressor wheel rrp 1095+VAT. Got 15% off. Went with stage 2, so i really max it when i get the sachs clutch
    #5
  7. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 13, 2010]
    Don`t you just hate it when the stock turbo goes bang and you have to buy a hybrid to replace it with ...:yahoo:
    #6
  8. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    Or the stereo, or the old CRT, the PC, or the celly :whistle2:
    #7
  9. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    Its been made and Turbo dynamics have posted it to FR&RTuning, I will have this tomorrow, hopefully will be back on the road before the weekend. I was advised when i refill the engine oil again after hybrid turbo is fitted to run it a few hundered miles then drain the oil and replace with fresh oil, so it will remove any debris that may have got into the engine from the failed turbo. This is just going cost me 10litres of oil! so is there anything else i can use to the flush the engine with?
    #8
  10. chris1988brown
    Offline

    chris1988brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    sry to here u spell of bad luck but the turbo will b awsome its deffo on my wish list, just wondering what mileage had ur car done? also before you run your engine with the new turbo take the sump bung out and run 2 liters of oil stright through the engine, this should get spritty much any debri out of the engine, id also invest in a magnetic sump plug:)
    #9
  11. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    It had 86k on clock, so guess it was time for it to go, however i was wanting to do cam and waterpump. This will have to wait now. Hope it doesnt mess up! Where do i get a magnetic sump plug from?
    #10
  12. chris1988brown
    Offline

    chris1988brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    i best start saving for a hybrid now as ive done 96k, you can get the magnetic sump plugs off ebay m8 only bout £15 there realy good, i had one on my old car and everytime i serviced it it was amazing how much cack was stuck to it, will be ordering one for mine befor the next service
    #11
  13. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    I have a spare set of secondhand cams and water pump from an engine i am braking at the moment if your interested.
    #12
  14. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    What a shame :laugh:
    #13
  15. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 16, 2010]
    got the hybrid turbo fitted yesterday and while the the engine was stripped, i took the plunge and also got the sachs clutch, clutch cover+single mass flywheel fitted and new release bearing :D Cracking job, everything nut and bolt went back on perfect. Took it for a short ride last night to help the turbo oil up and clutch to settle in. Realised the gearbox is making a much louder noise, but i guess this is due to the reinforced clutch cover? also clutch pedal requires a little more force to press and the distance required to dip the clutch is shorter, which is a good thing. NOW I'm still running the map created for me by FR&RTuning for the milltek cat replacemnet pipe, and to get any use of the mods at the moment I will need a new remap. My question is will the standard 6sp gear box be able to handle upto 250BHP? and for how long? One of the techs there said he will dyno tune it when he next goes to the dyno, that he regularly used for their R&D in a week or two.

    Il get some pics up soon
    #14
  16. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 16, 2010]
    The gearbox will cope with 250bhp and over 400 lb torque very easily mate so no worries there. The clutch should only be making more noise in neautral because you have a SMF fitted instead of a DMF.
    #15
  17. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 18, 2010]
    will the vibration on idle cause any damage longer term? Also some pics of my new setup :D
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 18, 2010]
    DeJaVous mate, mine went pop whilst in europe 6 months back, so I got hybrid from TD, fitted myself & had the existing map changed to custom other day, nice change for sure & reminds me of my S3 days when pulling away from the A3 services other day lol, but on mine I stripped the sump to completely clean it out as there were some metal bits in the IC piping & IC itself, removed the exhaust to empty the oil, removed the whole charge air system & cleaned all the oil out of the pipes & IC, then removed the flap etc & cleaned up, also removed the intake mani & cleaned the gunk build up, which wasnt to bad tbh, I was lucky as hardly anything got to the intake tbh, an experience for sure.
    #17
  19. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 18, 2010]
    #18
  20. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jan 18, 2010]
    Does SMF works OK with DSG too?
    #19
  21. influxsg
    Offline

    influxsg ANdi P.

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    Yes it works Sach has a kit for that.
    #20

Share This Page