1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turbo cutoff?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mjepson, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. mjepson

    mjepson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was driving today, and came on to the freeway and floored it... as i usually do :)

    In third gear i passed 4500rpm and could feel the automatic limiter come on, but after shifting gears i had nearly no power... so first thought was that i had blown the turbo. But after a quick stop at the first petrol station and a quick "reboot" it was back again.

    Is this something that audi has put in to scare me or did something odd happen?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Beddie

    Beddie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like the car may have gone into 'Limp Mode' perhaps?

    Could have over-boosted and the ECU has thrown the towel in for a few mins...
     
  4. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    31
  5. HeliChris

    HeliChris Learning to fly 3D

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep I think an "Over Boost" limp home as well, you are going to need to get your error codes cleared via VAG-COM, because that is going to scream "CHIPPED" to the dealer. I would also get superchips to look at the map again, because the must be pushing it to far.

    Chris.
     
  6. mjepson

    mjepson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had another cutoff today. Wasn't revving it in the red, but pushing the car a lot. Did a long stretch from the start of the highway with the pedal down and settled to normal speed, then tried to overtake a car and there was no power :(

    Got of the highway, stopped the car, on again and voila... turbo back again...

    I will send superchips an email and ask if they have knowledge of this...
     

Share This Page