1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

turbo codes

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by harris91, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. harris91
    Offline

    harris91 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2013]
    do turbos for 1.8t fit the same engine aslong as engine code is the same or is there couple different versions for each engine code?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Vex182
    Online

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Apr 3, 2013]
    There is a few different turbos used in the 1.8t. What you going from, to?
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,907
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    [Apr 3, 2013]
    In context of 8L chassis there are four basic turbos... K03 and K03s on the A3's and two flavours of K04 for the S3... the K03s is a more capable turbo than the K03 but the only realistic difference between K04's is the EGT probe boss for turbo's used on the wideband AMK/BAM engine codes..

    VAG used these turbo's across the whole Mk4 chassis range too, SEAT's, Skoda's, VW's etc...

    The inline 1.8t 20v (A4's, Passats etc) had different variations of the the K03 turbo and a 'K04' which isn't like the K04 on the transverse engines..

    The K03's are transferable across any transverse engine using a K03 but most people try to upgrade to the K03s anyway... You can use a K04 from an AMK/BAM on an APY S3 by plugging the EGT bung but you can't use a K04 from an APY without at least changing the hotside or having a 'bung' welded onto the hotside for the EGT probe..

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. harris91
    Offline

    harris91 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2013]
    Well I'm just getting another ko3s which is what's all ready on there , will any k03s fit ? Or does it have to have same engine code ?
    #4
  6. W3sty1982
    Offline

    W3sty1982 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2013]
    Sorry to high jack the thread but can you please tell me the code for the ko3s turbo? As I'm looking at some on eBay and I'm not to shaw if its the right one I'm buying cheers in advance Karl
    #5
  7. JUS3IN
    Offline

    JUS3IN silver sleeper

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    46
    [May 22, 2013]
    dont buy a new turbo off ebay, they are probably chinese copys and need porting.... like mine was! if its second hand you still need to be sure its genuine...
    #6
  8. W3sty1982
    Offline

    W3sty1982 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2013]
    Thanks for the heads up, just not sure on buying secondhand one as you don't know the history etc!! Guess its the chance I have to take..
    #7

Share This Page