1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turbo Bolts

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by 14nce, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. 14nce
    Offline

    14nce Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 8, 2013]
    I'm after options for turbo bolts, car started making noises today like it had an exhaust leak between the turbo and manifold again and I pulled the charge pipe off to find this. Bolt gone!

    IMG_1616.jpg

    I know Iv read on here about stud conversions with Nord locks etc

    So what is the best option? or any links for kits to buy?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 28, 2015]

  3. 14nce
    Offline

    14nce Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
  4. BENJAMIN
    Offline

    BENJAMIN Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 8, 2013]
    The bolts you have in there at the moment are not oe, i'd suggest going to your nearest TPS and ordering:
    -3 new bolts -06A 145 540K
    -3 new washers -06A 145 791A
    -Gasket - 06A 253 039H

    Tighten the botls up to the correct torque and that should be it. Audi managed it ok when they built the thing 10 years ago. lol
    #3
    s3dave likes this.
  5. 14nce
    Offline

    14nce Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 8, 2013]
    That would explain why they are coming loose so often. Probably arent a high enough strength
    #4
  6. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,349
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    [Oct 9, 2013]
    Mine used to rattle loose like that so I did whack a load of high temp thread lock in an it stopped them moving. When I dd my engine build I change to stud and nut.
    #5
  7. antwan64og
    Online

    antwan64og Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Jan 3, 2015]
    Does anyone know what grade O.E. Turbo bolts are?

    I've got nordlock washers and the following bolts
    M10 x50 8.8
    M10 x50 10.9
    M10 x50 12.9
    M10 x50 stainless bolts

    Are none of the above any good?
    £5 a bolt for O.E. Seems excessive

    I know high tensile bolts may lose there strength after 900 degree heat cycles and using different material bolts like stainless may cause different rates of expansion.

    So what are OE turbo bolts to make them so magical?
    Some seem to use stainless bolts with chinafolds but that manifold may not expand as much, I don't know.
    #6
  8. Miguel_S#
    Offline

    Miguel_S# Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 3, 2015]
    just buy new bolts and problem solved
    #7
  9. jimmcgee
    Offline

    jimmcgee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    21
  10. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    298
    [Jan 4, 2015]
    I'm sure bill sells theses?
    #9
  11. antwan64og
    Online

    antwan64og Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Jan 4, 2015]
    #10
    jimmcgee likes this.
  12. Nathan Barnes
    Online

    Nathan Barnes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 4, 2015]
    Sorry to hijack the thread, but somewhat related.......

    I picked up a load of O/E hardware from my local Audi parts counter yesterday (all gaskets, nuts, bolts and washers to replace exhaust manifold, turbo and downpipe).

    1) The turbo gasket i/d seems a bit small. P/N A06A 253 039 H. There will be a good couple of mm lip protruding into the airflow between mani/turbo body. Is this normal? Can it be filed out? Does it need to be?

    2) My turbo has a single stud already fitted. What are my options for a suitable nut? Is there an O.E available?

    3) When I assemble it, is it easier to bolt manifold and turbo together on a workshop bench THEN fit onto the car or will this be even more hassle? Will be changing the DP at the same time BTW. Do I use some sort of liquid gasket on the turbo in addition to the metal gasket, or not?

    4)Likewise for oil lines - new OE gaskets/hardware?

    Sorry for seemingly dumb questions but this is my first experience of building a turbo car and the heat issue is concerning me a bit.

    Thanks in advance!
    #11
  13. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    834
    [Jan 4, 2015]
    chinafold is cast stainless, so keeping relative thermal expansion is the thought behind this
    #12
  14. antwan64og
    Online

    antwan64og Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Jan 4, 2015]
    So do you just use OE bolts with a stock ko3 manifold?
    Do you stock them? How much?
    @badger5
    #13
  15. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    834
    [Jan 5, 2015]
    I am talking k04 manifolds re chinafold
    I use normal factory bolts for k03
    #14

Share This Page