1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turbo and remap..

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Jayy26, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should be receiving a turbo dynamics stage 2 turbo shortly and have spoke To a few companies and darkside developments are saying they have not seen an Audi a3 140 bkd engine with more then 200bhp ,so what's the point in these turbos? If I was to upgrade my clutch and maybe a downpipe would I be closer to the 240bhp before I have to change the injectors? Cause I'm sure somebody on here is running 230bhp and 420lbft with nothing stupid special just a remap clutch and downpipe..
    And any good remapping companies that arnt gonna charge me £500 for a bloody remap :/
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its a custom map, so you will pay good money for it as you were advised before, once you go hybrid your costs for setup will increase a fair bit.

    I run a stage 1 & stage 2 & they are running way past 200, so ignore that.
    #2
  3. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Advised before and all the prices are the same on there website.normal and hybrid..that's why I was getting confused because 200bhp didn't seem that much obviously I want a safe remap on first and then if clutch goes I will upgrade clutch will I be looking at much more power with that or do I then need downpipe? Cheers

    What are you running with parts then?
    #3
  4. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You don't need to do egr delete, clutch or exhaust with a hybrid at all, its not a necessity, as it still works perfectly, even with stock IC as I run 2 of them.

    I do have a BMC CDA on 1 & a carbon intake from carbonspeed on other, but these also aren't needed, just test beds purely, cars worked fine with stock intakes.
    #5
  6. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Try Shark Performance for a custom remap, based in Mansfield.
    #6
  7. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't think you had to spend much to get bhp out off a car apart from just a remap but it's gonna end up costing 500 for turbo then another 500 for a bloody remap..and can't afford a s3 as anything cheap is on 100kmileage+ and dread to see what insurance is like..and brought a diesel to save money :/ don't knOw if to put a standard turbo back On and sell..
    #7
  8. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will check them links out..
    #8
  9. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Online

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    124
    Yes, it costs money to tune cars. Anything over a stage 1 starts becoming pricey. Is your car mapped already? Where are you based?

    Rick
    #9
  10. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    But even at stage one turbo can go like mine and then it was reconditioned 2 years ago and gone now lol no totally standard s line and Worksop area net Sheffield
    #10
  11. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    42
    rs performance in leeds did mine a few years ago now ,cost me £300 then spent all day there with car on rollers fine tuning it .
    went back a few weeks later after more mods and they did it again for nothing (well i bought dinner for them ) to say thanks.

    tbh i dont rate darkside . they seem to have just sprung up from nowhere.

    my nephew has just purchased a hybrid for his B7 A4 170 , he asked darkside first for a quote , quite a bit more expensive than he thought ,so sourced the hybrid elsewhere @ £1200
    rs has quoted him £500 to remap it . darkside less . but i know who i would choose .

    TBH i think its a total waste of his money ,approx 35 bhp for around £1700 in total. not alot for the money, but its his cash not mine.

    its probably due to the fact im getting older and tighter that i disagree with him .
    #11
  12. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was that just for a standard turbo tho? They seem quite decent..yeh they quoted me 480 to get maybe 200bhp..and yeh that's what I think not a lot but getting a stage 2 turbo for 500quod off my mate only been used for 2000miles and needed a new turbo as mine as gone so not really losing out..I'm tight and I'm only 20! Earn about 700-800 a month so..it's all fun and games ha! I'll have to give them a ring it's only about an hour there
    #12
  13. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    140
    For a pd140 bkd its £625 for recon stage 2 turbo which is a very good price and there new turbos are built with even better lighter compressor wheels for better performance they seem very helpful when i phoned them up last week and said they rarely have faults in the turbos resulting in a replacement as they are all thoroughly testedI say go for it as i will also be going for the stage 2
    #13
  14. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    We'res that from mate? The one I'm getting is rated at 240-260bhp I need one anyway its only like 120for this hybrid which still has warranty etc
    #14
  15. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    140
    Turbo dynamics stage 2 £625.00 reconditioned standard unit given hybrid treatment for £895 for brand new
    #15
  16. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    This one ant recon tho mate..and I was gonna sell my standard turbo anyway for someone to rebuild cause its only te oil seal that went..you've confused me ha
    #16
  17. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    140
    So you have located a hybrid turbo which is used But was bought brand new ? Also is it a turbo dynamics hybrid ? If so then we are talking about the same turbo
    #17
  18. Jayy26
    Offline

    Jayy26 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    YEh in November mate and yes it is :) what other mods you got supporting it or ideas for making the most put off it?
    #18

Share This Page