1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tuning the 2.0TFSI quattro DSG

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A3SBQ, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi all.

    I am planing to map my car.
    It is as stated above a 2.0TFSI 200bhp quattro S-tronic/DSG
    I have looked into the Revo stage1 map and think this is the way to go.
    I have one concern, how will the DSG cope with the extra power?
    is it fairly safe to map?
    what is the max power on the DSG? my car is a 2009 model SB
    thanks for the help.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. keydoh

    keydoh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm doing the same thing, been told the DSG is very capable, some people well up in the 300's with no problems
     
  4. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    82
    The DSG system will cope with the extra power fine. I'm sure Toby who has an ibis white SB S3 said the DSG good for up to 400 pounds of torque. Not 100% sure mind. But you got nothing to worry from just a remap.
    You can also get the dsg mapped. Believe N8 done this.
     
  5. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi guys.

    Thanks for the quick replies.
    I was also thinking on the DSG remap. But that us just for cars up to the year 2007. Mine is a 2009.
    The stage 1 gives about 266bhp. What is needed to get more?
    I know that the k03 turbo is a more drivable setup but 300bhp is a great figure.
     
    #4 A3SBQ, Jul 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  6. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    82
    Akash_Sky has an 2.0TFSI he has the following mods remap, autotech HPFP, RS4 Fuel Regulator, Neuspeed P-Flo, BSG PCV Fix, MV Sport DP dyno'd @ 277bhp and 320 LB FT. Says in his sig frsh cams and he should be in the 300bhp club. Probably worth sending him a pm.
    I dont think you will get 66bhp straight off a remap. I think you should gain 40bhp-45bhp off a remap.
    Who you having the remap done by? Ask who ever doing it to take your car in and develop the new dsg software.
     
    #5 Ash B, Jul 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  7. tcmail

    tcmail New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sending my S4 B8 for remaping, Stasis guy says DCG should be ok for additional power.
     
  8. mrpeng

    mrpeng 2.0T Quattro

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aye it seems like revo lie a bit to get your business as it does state on there site and every other place i spoke to that do the revo remap that you get 60 bhp from 1 ecu and 66 if its the other think its more of a sales pitch tbh can`t say as i have not took the plunge yet but there`s a hell of a lot of people saying here that you won`t get them gains??

    That`s why it has left me hanging so i can`t decide either as if you look at shark they saying 40 bhp so i don`t no who telling the truth lol
     
  9. Ben H

    Ben H On a journey...

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had a Bluefin-mapped 2.0T quattro, running a fairly conservative 240ish horses and similar lb/ft torque.

    In comparison to my S3 (also mapped), I feel that the K03 2.0T is the more driveable car day-to-day - with a lovely wall of torque from 1,500rpm or so. The K04 S3 lump is also very capable, but delivers more of its good stuff higher up the rev range and is essentially more highly strung. The K04 is undoubtedly quicker though - and that's what counts in my world! :) :s3addict:
     
  10. windchill

    windchill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone any experience of using the BSR "plug in" re-map?

    I have bought from Evolution in the past, but quite fancy the apparent ease of just buying the "dongle" and plugging in myself.
     
  11. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi, Yes this is also something I have been thinking of too. anyone tried this?
     
  12. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
  13. actionslax

    actionslax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ooooft at £2250.00 thats a lot of notes!

    I'm also looking into a map on my 2T. Considering the milder Bluefin but tempted by the Revo. Not heard of this other BSR dongle - be interested to anyones experience on that.
     
  14. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    The only thing I could say about dongle maps is they only change marginal amounts of code within the mapping tables. Full on remaps take quite a while to load, and Revo have always maintained that at present it wouldn't be possible to offer their product on the SPS, and the SPS only offers the capability to tweak settings within the mapping tables for limited categories (boost/fuel/timing).

    Super chips seem to be the only company offering a full load up / revert to standard option in a customer managed hand controller that constitutes a proper map. However I always prefer some technical insight from a tuner when mapping a car in case any issues crop up (less of an issue if you have VAGCOM).
     
  15. windchill

    windchill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The BSR unit would appear to be a direct Bluefin competitor ie a full remap loaded through the obd port, and with capability to revert to standard/re-load anytime.
     
  16. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    127
    The add says you can have it with REVO so their must be software available.....but thats going to put you over £3k with vat. Then you will have a car with S3 power but no S3 brakes or suspension, non S3 pistons and a smaller intercooler etc and silly insurance i suspect.....Just buy an S3.
     
    #15 paddy, Aug 11, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2011
  17. windchill

    windchill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    After reading everything under the sun, I went for Bluefin, and was disapointed: no percaptible difference in pick up or driveability. However, Superchips' response was excellent. They sent me a modifiec map (apparently something like a Stage 2) which has made a significant difference.

    Well done Superchips
     
  18. akash_sky1

    akash_sky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    5
    As yours is a 2009, it could well be the newer CCZA code engine your car, the same as the Golf MK6 GTI, where it's called a TSI and not aTFSI. There are some big differences in this engine (EA888) over the older TFSI ( EA113), namely- chain driven cams, and a much better fuel pump- which can hold 150 bar fuel pressure ( as opposed to 130 bar max before).
    The fuel pump is quite significant as it means you don't need an uprated fuel pump if you have this engine, and your car will make more torque when mapped correctly with the right hardware, compared to the older TFSI.

    The DSG box will be fine up to around 400lb ft torque which you wont get near with this turbo. With a an upgraded intake, exhaust system and correct mapping only, you could get around 265-270 bhp and close to 300 lb ft torque or greater. You could also upgrade your intercooler for a larger one, such as an APR or THS.
    As this engine is much newer I'm not so clued up on the specific maps available for it yet, but REVO, GIAC and the rest will all offer them. You will also need/want a DSG remap to allow completed manual control, higher redline, higher RPM launch control and removal of the torque limit on the box.

    Mine is an older EA113 engine, and is making nearly 280 bhp/320 lb ft torque with the engine mods listed, despite a high rpm fuel pressure problem this is being fixed as we speak. Then it should be around the 300 mark with a bit more torque, which is really the limit of the K03 turbo on these engines.

    Also with a K03 in the state of tune such as on my engine the driveablility is fantastic. Still has amazing quickly turbo spool and low end torque as before, with amazing mid range torque, and good top end power, but obviously as as strong top end as a K04 car. See my dyno graph below: (as you can see there is a plateau in the power curve after 5800 due to the fuel pressure problem, once this is sorted this will still be rising to around 6300 and should hit 300 bhp.

    [​IMG][/URL] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]
     
    #17 akash_sky1, Aug 17, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  19. windchill

    windchill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow! Thanks for the detailed reply.

    Cheers
     
  20. akash_sky1

    akash_sky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry the end of that should read not : Not as strong a top end as a mapped K04**

    Got the S3 Intake cam fitted yesterday and this fixed the fuel pressure problem, Now making requested 130 Bar fuel pressure all the way to 7000 rpm, whereas before was dropping down to 105 Bar @ 5500 rpm. Dont have the rolling road print out yet, but added another 7bhp, but more importantly the power continues to rise till peaking past 6500 RPM and the huge torque plateau in the mid range lasts even longer.
    Result- Amazing spread of power and torque, amazing pick up from low revs but lasting power till past the redline.

    Definitely need bigger brakes now. Went on a fast drive last night and my mate behind ,and he said under hard braking my EBC redstuffs were giving off SPARKS!!
     
    #19 akash_sky1, Aug 20, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2011
  21. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Great. Thanks for the detailed info.

    Where do I see the engine type code? via VCDS or on a lable on the engine?
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Ben H

    Ben H On a journey...

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    19
    I seriously looked into doing a K04 conversion or other mods to improve the output of my old 2.0T quattro. Like most "upgrading", it makes most sense if you do it slowly over time rather than in one go - because if you do, you inevitably end up comparing it to splashing out for a more expensive car (S3). You can see what I ended up doing!
     
  24. akash_sky1

    akash_sky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    5
    p to
    Yeah ive mostly stuck to 'simple' bolt on mods for mine apart from things like the clutch and cam, wouldn't bother with a ko4 conversion as that's where its stops making sense economically and time wise.
    Also having been in a K04 conversion and after having spoke to Statller there are many that are barely any faster / if faster at all then my k03 in its current state of tune and with a fair bit more lag, due to them being mapped quite conservatively to ease the stress the on the K03 engines weaker internals.
     
  25. quattro81

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    89
    So i called AMD essex today to get my MY11 a3 2.0TFSI quattro booked in for a revo stage1 map..

    What a frickin nightmare i've had on the phone with them...! They're saying that because my car is 2011 it's probably got a "locked ECU" as they put it - so I probably wouldn't be able to get a revo map for it!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    They said the only way for them to be able to tell me this is for me to drive all the way to them to plug my car in (just over 2hr round trip!).. They then proceeded to try to flog me their in house AMD remap, which is not what I want. I have been googling this all day today, and I cannot seem to find anyone who conclusively has a 2011 A3 that they have revo mapped!?

    They said the s3 ecu was different? I was hoping one of you guys has had it done so I can see if they're being dicks or not... HELP HELP HELP!!!!!!! I spoke to a couple of other Revo dealers who said that they have to send the new ECU's away to get them done, which is definitely NOT an option!
     
    #23 quattro81, Aug 24, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  26. quattro81

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    89
    Bump! Anybody!?
     
  27. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi All.
    Opening this thread again. The track day season is starting soon and I need a remap on the engine and DSG
    I have now scanned the car with VCDS and these are the info on my engine and DSG/S-tronic

    Engine:

    Address 01: Engine
    Control Module Part Number: 8P0 907 115 AE
    Component and/or Version: 2.0l R4/4V TFSI 0020
    Software Coding: 0103000C1C0F0160
    Work Shop Code: WSC 06314
    VCID: 75E5B95B1CDA171
    Advanced Identification
    Serial number: AUX7Z0H3FNA0GZ
    Identification: BPG-810
    Revision: AAH03---
    Date: 17.05.08
    Test stand number: 1328
    Manufacturer number: 0395
    Flash Status
    Programming Attempts: 0
    Successful Attempts: 0
    Programming Status: 00000000
    Required Conditions: 00000000
    Flash Tool Code: 00000 000 00000
    Flash Date: 00.00.00
    Software
    A0101
    A5.1.6a
    Misc.
    Hardware number: 8P0 907 115 Q
    Immo Challenge: C0 19 45 DC
    Car Info
    Chassis Number: WAUZZZ8P69A001712
    Engine code: CCZ
    VCDS Info:
    Labels: 06J-907-115-CCZ.CLB
    Readiness: 06F-907-115-AXX.crd

    DSG/S-tronic:

    Address 02: Auto Trans
    Control Module Part Number: 02E 300 011 DC
    Component and/or Version: GSG DSG AG6 511 1973
    Software Coding: 0000020
    Work Shop Code: WSC 00030
    VCID: 53A127C3F2EE691
    Advanced Identification
    Serial number: 00001110052232
    Identification: TFK-030
    Revision: 05351113
    Date: 05.10.11
    Test stand number: 8502
    Manufacturer number: 2232
    Flash Status
    Programming Attempts: 1
    Successful Attempts: 1
    Programming Status: 00000000
    Required Conditions: 00000000
    Flash Tool Code: 00001 001 04940
    Flash Date: --.--.--
    Software
    0014
    Misc.
    Hardware number: 02E 927 770 AM
    Lot Number: F10
    Type Lock: 0003
    VCDS Info:
    Labels: 02E-300-0xx.lbl

    By this I see that my engine is prodused 17.05.2008 and is labeled with the engine code CCZ
    The DSG has a new Mechatronic (on Warranty) and shows one flash cycle. I have "selected gears indication in DIS" and "LC" as stock

    Now what to do?
    Any recomendations?
    Thanks
     
    #25 A3SBQ, May 9, 2012
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
  28. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    55
    Oh one more thing.

    On Wikipedia this is writen of the engine code CCZ"A" (mine only says CCZ)

    155 kilowatts (211 PS; 208 bhp) @ 5,300-6,200 rpm; 280 newton metres (207 lbf·ft) @ 1,700-5,200 rpm — CCZA: VW Golf Mk6 GTI, VW Scirocco, VW Passat B6, VW CC, SEAT Altea Freetrack

    Does this mean my engine is a 155kW and not 147kW as alsodescribed below for the CCTA/CBFA engines?
    147 kilowatts (200 PS; 197 bhp) @ 5,100-6,000 rpm; 280 newton metres (207 lbf·ft) @ 1,800-5,000 rpm — CCTA/CBFA: 2009 VW Golf Mk5 GTI (North American markets only), VW Jetta Mk5, VW Passat B6, VW CC, Audi A3 (8P)

    List of Volkswagen Group petrol engines - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    By the loock on the GIAC web page there is mentioned some thing a MED17 and MED17.5 ECU Any on knows some thing about this and what this could mean. (have read that some ECU's are flash protected and cant be flashed by the OBD2 port)

    GIAC - Software Programs

    I have these controller no. to use:
    Control Module Part Number: 8P0 907 115 AE
    Hardware number: 8P0 907 115 Q


    Please help me understan this the correct way.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page