1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tuning Box

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by MURRAYS444, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. MURRAYS444

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi

    Just wondering if anyone here has got one and would they recommend one over getting a remap they seem cheaper but are the overall results the same?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    35
    i'd personally fit 5 of them inline and get 5x the benefit...but thats just me
     
  4. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    tuning box? is it diesel?
     
  5. NICK-C

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    56
    Hi Scott,

    I have had both remap and tuning box on my Astra CDTi (not at the same time!) and power gains were stated to be around the same (from 150BHP to approx. 200BHP). Remap is more expensive but I would personally go with it as it seemed a lot smoother to me. Acceleration with the box was sometimes a bit 'jerky'. The company that mapped my car also offered to take it off or put it back on if accidentally overwritten etc FOC which is handy and I think others offer that too.
    If you do go with remap or box I would also recommend using to V-Power Diesel or similar, it is a bit more expesnive but my car seemed to run better and I got better fuel consumption.


    Cheers,
    Nick
     
  6. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    120
    Remap. Do it properly, or you will most likely regret it.....
     
  7. MURRAYS444

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi Dave its for an s3 225 bam
     
  8. MURRAYS444

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    I Think having it remapped would be better as you will get the car on the rolling road with the dyno and have confirmation of the bhp and torque increase and the box might just be rubbish!!!
     
  9. MURRAYS444

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Any of you guys had a remap and if so was the power output on the car before the remap lower than standard?
     
  10. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    tuning box for a petrol?
    deffo a remap
     
  11. NICK-C

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    56
    Yeah remap would be better mate. the box I had on my derv did give an increase but it still cost me the best part of £300. You can get remaps for about £400 now so not a massive amount more for what I would say is a safer way. There are cheaper boxes around (seen them on flea bay, but I would deffo stay away from those!)
     

Share This Page