tube and fin or bar and plate coolers

jezzy

Reaction score
So after much searching and reading which one tube and fin or bar and plate.
It seems for K04 tube and fin would be fine, anything above bt or hybrid would be bar and plate.
Tube and fin are lighter and you can run smaller (keep the fogs).
Or am i completely wrong?
any opinions welcome

regards

So after much searching and reading which one tube and fin or bar and plate.
It seems for K04 tube and fin would be fine, anything above bt or hybrid would be bar and plate.
Tube and fin are lighter and you can run smaller (keep the fogs).
Or am i completely wrong?
any opinions welcome

regards

I do this for a living and its not as easy as that ! As a rule of thumb, assuming the same size core, tube and fin will weigh less, cool slightly worse, but will have less pressure drop and have better path through the core for cooling things behind e.g. radiator/air con.
You can tend to go smaller on the core size if you go bar and plate, as the mass of the core will increase the cooling effect, but go too big and the pressure drop will kill the power. Pretty much 99.999% of everything that comes out of China is bar and plate.......but the best cores in the world are all tube & fin :)

Are you making a cooler yourself or planning on using this info to help you buy one? the AH Fabs and Forge cores are typically tube and fin... ebay coolers are bar and plate as you have mentioned...

Having been involved in testing various FMICs including ones on my own car then it has to be said that the 'Wellycooler' seems to work very well indeed but is not the easiest to fit or keep the OEM look without a few mods...

The AH V2 works well on BT and given the choice would happily use it on a K04 too... there is also the argument over fill/lag thats inherent with larger coolers...

What is your end game?

<tuffty/>

thanks i read the s3 fmic guide and dosent really touch on the bar plate, tube fin thing.