1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

trouble with a3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jay-a3, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi peeps, i recently changed my maf sensor, its not a genuine bosh one and ever since ive been getting a 17705 code. would this be because of the maf sensor or something else?the engine management light was on before i changed the sensor an it went of as soon as i changed it and hasnt come back on.
    anybody have any ideas??
    thanks alot
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    its a 1.8t by the way lol
     
  4. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not the maf sensor; probably a split hose somewhere


    17705/P1297/004759 - Pressure Drop between Turbo and Throttle Valve (check D.V.!)
    Possible Symptoms

    * Power Loss

    Possible Causes

    * Leaking hoses and/or pipes between components
    * Check Boost Pressure Control Valve (N249)

    Possible Solutions

    * Check hoses and/or pipes between components
    * Check / Replace Boost Pressure Control Valve (N249)
    * Check / clean Throttle Valve, do Throttle Body Alignment

    Special Notes

    * Did anyone fitted an extra (wrong) dump valve?
     
  5. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    Someone more knowledgeable can answer this
     
  6. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have had an extra dv fitted but it seems to be working fine and there is no signs of split pipes. sometimes when starting in the morning it struggles to run so last time it did this i umplugged the maf and the car idles fine then?is that just a coinsidense. the codes intermitent by the way
     
  7. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    jamie , dont suppose you have your old knackerd maf do you?

    My moneys on a vac leak somewhere.
     
  8. DJ_Troopa

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    14
    I thought the non genuine Bosch MAF's were **** as a few people have had bad experiences with these. My friend had one on his A4 and it cocked up within 2 days!
     
  9. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
  10. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes alpine i have my old one mate.
    so you recon it could be it trooper?is there any way a garage could test the maf?
     
  11. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    Jamie, if you have no use for it im after a MAF housing (with out the sensor) i de-meshed mine (as most do) but my car dont like it... want to sell me your busted Maf dude?
     
  12. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    i cleaned the old one last weekend and when i went out for a spin the car felt like it was missing when driving.didnt let it dry for an hour tho more like 15mins
     
  13. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    sorry alpine i only replaced the sensor dude so i still use the old housing. what does de messing it do?
     
  14. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    ahhh no problem! some say its restrictive, i day its needed, as mine has flat spots now where it didnt before. my sensors fine and i cant just buy a housing! gotta love audis!
     
  15. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    you tried ebay? so you think it may be a vac leak then?would that cause the dodgy running.stalls sumtimes
     
  16. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep and yep! :) if the revs are going up n down all the time it could well be a dirty Throttle body.
     
  17. Jay-a3

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok thanks matey ill let ya know what it is
     

Share This Page