1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trip LCD Display (DIS) gone blank

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nigma, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. Nigma
    Offline

    Nigma Yakshimash!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    All of a sudden my LCD on the instrument cluster has gone blank. Strange thing is though, is that it displays the "OK" in orange when I start the car and then goes blank.

    As if its just anything that is in red is blank.

    When i brought the car about 4 years ago, it was slightly faded towards the edges, but this hadn't got worse over time.

    Cheers,
    Anand
    #1
  2. Mcblow
    Offline

    Mcblow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know it might sound stupid,but you haven't turned it off have you??
    #2
  3. benr
    Offline

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL
    #3
  4. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like it :) There's a button on the bottom of the wiper stalk which you've probably pressed, and which turns the DIS screen on and off. Try pressing it again :)
    #4
  5. Nigma
    Offline

    Nigma Yakshimash!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Embarrassed]
    Lol... Yep, I managed to switch it off. I pressed the left-right switch a few times and it didn't come on, Didn't realise that it's the reset switch that needs to be pressed.

    Cheers Guys.

    Anand
    #5
  6. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, this has recently happened to mine but pressing the switch underneath doesn't sort it. Any ideas?
    #6
  7. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just thought I'd follow up. I fixed the problem by checking some fuses, they were all ok but after reseating 3 of them my screen came back. I think I reset 11 + 15 which both refered to the instrument cluster, and also reset one that covered the ECU. I don't know which one did it but I suspect it was the resetting of the ECU.
    #7
  8. A3T.IAN
    Offline

    A3T.IAN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did the same, i re-seated the same fuses and it's back on except my reset button dosn't work (never has). Any fix for this???
    #8
  9. MaiseyS3
    Offline

    MaiseyS3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    googled this post hence it being resurrected 3 years later lol my display has gone but ive tried the rest button and got nothing. has ok at top and tells me if the doors open but nothing else. anybody help?
    #9
  10. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read my post just above. Do you know where the fuse box is? Open the driver door and pull off the panel on the side of the dash, then pull out the fuses I mentioned, wait a few secs then put them back in again. During the time I had the car this issue popped up about 3 or 4 times, easy fix though.
    #10

Share This Page