1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TRIP Computer

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Mazi, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 2006 A4 1.8T S-Line has no trip computer-WTF!?!?
    Astonishing considering MK5 Golf TDIs have them.
    Is it possible to retrofit using a cluster with trip computer?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. rizzini7

    rizzini7 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    145
    You should just need the wiper stalk with trip and someone to code it in. I've got a spare saloon stalk if interested
     
  4. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure its that simple?
    I was told I need the cluster and the stalk
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Do you actually have a dis fitted, just not trip data in the display, if no dis at all then yes its a cluster job, if has dis then needs stalk fitting & coding, we offer these services.
     
  6. rizzini7

    rizzini7 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    145
    Sorry didn't realise you can get nondis free clusters. Just assumed they all had them but the dis wasn't turned on like mine when I got it
     
  7. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    DIS??
    Sorry for being a noob but can someone explain what DIS is and perhaps some pics to compare DIS & non DIS clusters??
     
  8. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK Driver information display. Not sure. I have a central display with lines seperating the different sections.
    I have miles until empty, outside air temp and something else but no button on stalk to scroll through other functions.
    Does this mean I need just the stalk?
     
  9. rizzini7

    rizzini7 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    145
    Yeah, should just mean you need the correct stalk and then someone with vagcom to code it for you
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Mazi if you do attempt yourself, be very careful as breaking any of the parts in the way can end up costing £200+ to replace & can render the car unusable, so be careful.
     
  11. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you PM me a price to fit and code the stalk
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    What's your general location?
     
  13. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Audi S4 Black Edition s tronic

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,931
    Likes Received:
    2,352
    I can can heartily endorse this sentiment. My inept attempts to feed a cable for my DRLs into the fuse box left me with a £350 bill and very lucky not to lose my ECU altogether. Unless you are really confident of knowing what you're doing, pay a professional to do a professional job.
     
    NHN likes this.
  14. Mazi

    Mazi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edinburgh
     

Share This Page