1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TQS progress thread, From STD-Scroll-Eliminator.

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Broken Byzan, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Plunky
    Offline

    Plunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah if you could get back to me regarding the injectors that would be great!
    The k04-15 your talk of, is this a bolt on upgrade for the ko3 then? hasnt got the different angled downpipe take off like the standard k04-022 (i think thats the right code)?
    what sort of figures are you getting from this turbo with the upgrade from scroll?
    #41
  2. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    the k04-15 is a direct upgrade for the A4/passat. The engine isnt transverse like an A3, its facing front to back as it's completely a different fitment to the A3.

    I am still flumoxed as to how the S3's get a nadger over 300 bhp and we struggle to get 250 on a hybrid and our downpipes are much less torturous than the A3's and S3's. Hmmm

    I am aiming for 275 ish
    #42
  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    A few bits to be going on with.
    The injectors are back from cleaning
    The Milor clips ready for the FMIC
    02 Bungs, one for ECU one, just in case...
    Flange ( Cheers Aragorn )
    Small Flexi for the downpipe
    Section of 76mm pipe
    And a few gaskets.
    [​IMG]

    I got bored and went out with my antique welder and had a blast at making the downpipe.
    I am so glad i have a grinder, I am so out of practice...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #43
  4. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you got a parrot!? ;)
    #44
  5. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    ?????
    Lost me...:search:
    Probably age related :ohmy:
    #45
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, just wondering what shat on your downpipe.... :)
    #46
  7. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant get hold of the guy im meant to be getting the s4 bits from so if that falls thru i might look more into this sort of set up instead of getting bumpers etc. its just too slow with the k03:crying:
    #47
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    Nah, hes got some pidgeons nesting in the rafters :p
    #48
  9. CMD
    Offline

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mark. People in London would pay good Money for this (moden art)
    [​IMG]n art)
    #49
  10. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Twas i that shat on the pipe, awful it looks, air tight it will be....Says the mighty Yoda
    #50
  11. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mark like aways you is the Man, nice going.
    #51
  12. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Flexi looks mahussive mate!!.. guessing you wont have any trouble with getting rid of exhaust gasses lol.

    You going to weld my wideband boss in for me??? pleeeeaaassssse :thumbsup:

    12KG of turbo shizz left me at about 10am mate.
    #52
  13. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9

    Wicked, and will see if i can get some stainless wire etc first
    #53
  14. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just noticed an ECU and circuitry on your picture.. what's occurring (best Welsh accent intended)?
    #54
  15. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    ECU is my 018cj and the board is the "fix" for the immo
    #55
  16. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Def going for the ME3 ecu then? Using R-Tech?
    #56
  17. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    #57
  18. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah, Nick has earnt my trust from what i have heard/read. He knows his stuff, and also has a 4wd RR.

    I also would trust Stealth Racing(Vince) as he is pie hot on coding, but sadly only has a 2wd RR. With mine being a quattro, it won't move at all with the rear shafts off
    #58
  19. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    R-Tech will be very convenient for me as I can be there in 15 - 20 mins from my house.. group booking maybe?
    #59
  20. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    was that with a MIG?
    gassed or gasless?

    Machine mart do stainless wire pretty reasonably, just got some.
    you need to turn your gas up and clear your nozzles by the looks of things

    I have a crappy MM Mig which spits like a pissed off cat unless I flood the thing with gas.
    Crap power controls on it don't help
    #60
  21. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    jcb: hes using gasless wire on a "gas only" Clarke 130TE iirc, so its no surprise its not perfect!

    I would imagine if you got yourself some 0.8mm stainless wire and a bottle of argon, it would look much tidier.

    Also, i'm assuming the white oddness is normal for fluxcored wire, if its NOT the white stuff probably means your welding thru zinc, which while isnt a great issue as long as you dont breath in the fumes that come off it!
    #61
  22. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    My Mig will work in gas mode, but i "borrowed" the gas feed line for the wire liner and havn't got around to buying a new one as well as replacing the now lost regulator.

    I won't be welding mine with stainless as it's all mild steel this time around. I simply cannot afford to do it in stainless at the mo. However it will give me a template to work to, as i intend to butt this to an OE S4 system this time around, and when that explodes, i will buy one of those cheapy Ebay ones
    #62
  23. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Not much happening except i managed to get her onto a rolling road to get a baseline figure. Not bad i recon, she has only lost 4BHP in 10 years and 118k miles. Fueling seemed ok as did boost.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
    #63
  24. S3 Rav
    Offline

    S3 Rav Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    4
    i'd say pretty reasonable considering what some of the 8l's got even remapped ones.
    #64
  25. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    3
    i thought it was quite impressive for wot the car is i.e mileage and standard form.
    #65
  26. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would like to get mine on to see what it is with the chip.
    #66
  27. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
    #67
  28. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good spot. About 30 miles from me. My last car i had on the rollers there made 315 bhp, think ill be a little short of that thou:crying:
    #68
  29. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    I recon 210 should be about right mate for a chipped AJL.
    #69
  30. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im sure the car my ecu came from made 211. Not sure if i should try a N75J and see if it does anything.
    #70
  31. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    Its odd that these AJL's make more power, when the engine is identical to an AEB...
    #71
  32. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is what I've been trying to find out??.. If it's a K03-005 and the same engine spec then the only difference can be the map so in theory an AEB should make 210HP too.

    Very odd.. The only thing that I can think is that tuners realise that people with 180HP won't pay £300 for a 10HP increase so they push the turbo right to it's limit!?
    #72
  33. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    I think the ECU is a touch cleverer.( at least thats all i could think of)
    #73
  34. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    ..but surely mapping the ECU (as with the SET @ 250hp) would get around this if all of the hardware is the same?
    #74
  35. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    If i am honest i do not know, i was guessing.

    But then if you think about it it's like comparing a pentuim 1 processor against a pentium 2, you can run them at the same speed,but the work done will be more for the same speed!
    #75
  36. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I suppose that's the only variable really so you're probably right.
    #76
  37. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Or i blagged it so well it seems feesable,LMAO
    #77
  38. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    i think its down to the boost pressure.

    Some AEB remaps are only pushing 13 or 14 psi.

    If we do the maths increasing from 8 to 12psi gives you:

    150 / 22.7 * 26.7 = 176hp

    (the odd 22 and 26 are absolute pressure, so boost + 14.7)

    210hp requires around 17psi (or perhaps a little more as the turbo no doubt becomes less efficient), so it seems Lee is correct, with the AJL they're just wringing its neck.
    #78
  39. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Give me my chocolate bar.. I win!
    #79
  40. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Suppose we could've easily worked that out by just checking the boost pressure on two mapped cars.. one AEB and one AJL.

    Thanks to Aragorn (ASNs answer to Carol Vordeman) we now have proof lol.
    #80

Share This Page