1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TPMS Malfunction

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by audia4kev, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. audia4kev
    Offline

    audia4kev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    Have being getting this warning beeb and lamp in the instrument cluster. When the ignition is switch on for about 20 minutes, would any of you guys have any idea what could be the cause of this. is this a common problem. any help would be much appreciated. kev
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 25, 2014]

  3. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    68
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    Is this for real?????
    #2
  4. RYes3
    Offline

    RYes3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    Tyre pressure monitoring system... You got yourself a puncture by the sounds of it!
    #3
  5. audia4kev
    Offline

    audia4kev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    i taught that too but no sign of a puncture the flashes for about 1minute and stays on
    . any other ideas
    #4
  6. toastyhamster
    Offline

    toastyhamster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    You've got a puncture! Doesn't need to be a flat, from memory it's about a 4psi drop.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,471
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    You are kidding me with this question?

    Have you even checked the air pressures in each tyre yet?
    #6
    johnnythepie likes this.
  8. Pyeman
    Offline

    Pyeman Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    :sign_omg: :haudrauf:
    #7
  9. riggssuzuki
    Offline

    riggssuzuki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    Seriously?????
    #8
  10. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    68
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    FFS I thought it was just me........
    #9
  11. audia4kev
    Offline

    audia4kev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    have checked tyre pressure and there is nothing wrong with them. they are all 29psi. so now genius that s not the problem.
    #10
  12. Spr0cket
    Offline

    Spr0cket Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    Having checked the pressures are all good (although typically front and rear should nopt be same). It would be wise to relearn those stored values - button presses in MMI. All being 29 means nothing, unless you are absolutely confident they were all at that exact pressure when the sytstem was calibrated to reference.
    1. So start by checking what correct pressure should be - sticker on drivers door edge.
    2. Pump the tyres to the required pressures.
    3. Reset TPMS to that validated referfence point via MMI.
    See what happens.
    #11
  13. riggssuzuki
    Offline

    riggssuzuki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    Be aware that depending on your car the tyre pressures may be incorrect. The 19" wheels on mine (as fitted standard on the Dynamik) are not catered for on the sticker. Doh! I had my light come on and it just needed a check of pressures and a re set.
    #12
  14. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    68
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    As per Spr0cket

    1.Read Owners Manual
    2.Ensure correct pressure is in all tyres.29 is not correct for starters.
    3.Reset TMPS in MMI.
    4.If TMPS light comes on after a drive, check pressures.If pressures are what you put in, THEN you have a problem.Basics first.
    5.Genius status not required for above steps.
    #13
  15. Pyeman
    Offline

    Pyeman Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 20, 2012]


    lmfao.
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,471
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    LMAO, now now, I think the replies were a little expected given the original post.

    Ok so it actually states malfunction in the dis, not warning of tyre pressures, in this circumstance it needs to be scanned & if its under warranty, just take it to audi, obviously after checking tpms in mmi :)
    #15
  17. Zafi
    Offline

    Zafi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Sep 20, 2012]
    Have you recently fitted just one tyre?
    #16
  18. audia4kev
    Offline

    audia4kev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 21, 2012]
    yes its says malfunction in the dis. no tyre change or no drop in tyre pressure. going to take it to audi to get it sorted. thanks for the help.
    #17
  19. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    68
    [Sep 21, 2012]
    well why didnt you say that it said malfunction in the dis?? :banghead:
    #18
  20. Pyeman
    Offline

    Pyeman Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    :iagree:
    #19
  21. riggssuzuki
    Offline

    riggssuzuki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Oct 4, 2012]
    Oh for the love of......... :keule:
    #20
  22. audia4kev
    Offline

    audia4kev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2012]
    have had car in and out of audi 3 times to sort this problem. with them ending up changing the handbrake module to solve this problem.
    #21
  23. riggssuzuki
    Offline

    riggssuzuki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Dec 6, 2012]
    Can i respectfully request that when people put up an issue they state ALL the facts. Otherwise you can come across as a little 'un-informed'. THe slight hints of sarcasm earlier on were down to insufficient details on the problem you was experiencing.
    #22

Share This Page