1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TPMS fault on an RS4

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Monkeys lips, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. Monkeys lips
    Offline

    Monkeys lips New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have an intermittent fault on my B7 RS4 with the TPMS that comes up with the amber caution tyre light with a line through it. It comes up after around 10 miles of driving (sometimes more, sometimes less). I have connected up my VCDS (genuine cable + software) and it has come up with the following information:

    Wednesday,27,February,2013,18:30:05:30545
    VCDS Version: Release 11.11.5

    Address 65: Tire Pressure Labels: 8E0-907-273.lbl
    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 907 273 A HW: 8E0 907 273 A
    Component and/or Version: Reifendruck 3 H04 0130
    Software Coding: 0022523
    Work Shop Code: WSC 02197 785 00200
    VCID: 2A5D445D868878485F8
    1 Fault Found:

    01521 - Sensor for Tire Pressure
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent - MIL ON
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 10100100
    Fault Priority: 3
    Fault Frequency: 77
    Reset counter: 32
    Time Indication: 0

    Freeze Frame:
    (no units): 101.0
    Voltage: 13.60 V
    (no units): 61.0
    Not Recogn.
    Not Recogn.
    Not Recogn.
    Not Recogn.


    Is it possible to tell from this which wheel has the problem or do i need to do anything else to try and identify which wheel is giving the fault??

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Monkey

    P.S. If anyone in the Derby area needs to use my VCDS give me a shout:sly:
    #1
  2. JST_A3
    Offline

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Some details on the fault here: 01521 - Ross-Tech Wiki

    You need to refer to the Measuring Blocks to identify the faulty sensor.

    Steve
    #2
  3. Monkeys lips
    Offline

    Monkeys lips New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Steve. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Would I need to be driving the car so that I get the fault to come up?? Is there anything specific I should be looking for.

    thanks again
    #3
  4. JST_A3
    Offline

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Monkey

    The scan shows this is an intermittent fault, so you may not see the issue all of the time.
    There should be no need to drive the car, just have the ignition on and monitor the settings from each of the sensors. You may need to check a few times before finding the faulty unit. If driving helps to initiate the problem then try this out, but have someone else monitor the laptop!

    Steve
    #4
  5. Monkeys lips
    Offline

    Monkeys lips New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent. Ill see how I get on. It's a shame that it doesn't tell you which tyre has the fault when it logs it

    cheers
    monkey
    #5
  6. Monkeys lips
    Offline

    Monkeys lips New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Think I've found the culprit. I Let down the tyres and refilled to find out which one was playing up. I think it is tyre number 4 which looks like it corresponds to what was stored in the fault history. Still got to road test to make 100% sure but I think I'm getting there. Thanks again for your help Steve :)
    #6

Share This Page