Total noob wanting advice :-)

jdas03

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am totally new to all this and very inexperienced as far as detailing goes...
I want the car to look really good, i have a 2001 Audi S3 in ebony black perl paint i think they call it!

Any way i know alot of you guys buy very expensive stuff from reading the posts and get some amazing results...
I am on a somewhat more limited budget.

I have the whole day tomorrow to work on the car and i was looking at visiting halfrauds (i know not the best place - but its local) tomorrow for some kit, i have brand new shami's sponges and some nice car shampoo i got from a Volvo garage also a superguard kit i got for christmas containing: shampoo, bird lime neutraliser, scuff remover, and a some wheel cleaner - not sure if this stuff is good or complete garbage?!

It all seems to make the car shiny after a couple of hours at work but i want something better having seen results on here!

What i am after is any recommended kit either cleaning products or brushes etc - please guide me to get some reasonable results :)

Apologies for the lack of knowledge but i'm here for any expert advice you have :)

Thanks in advance :)

first of all get rid of the chamois(shammys) and the sponges. get yourself a nice lambs wool wash mitt and a micro fibre drying towel to minimise the results of swirls when washing the car. use the 2 bucket method.

dont bother wasting your money at halfrauds mate and get on CYC(clean your car.co.uk) and browse the brands and products on there. imo i would get Poor boys Black hole for your car as this will give a deeper gloss after the wash stage. pretty much you will need about £50 worth of products and a good routine and the car will look good as ever in a few months if you do it properly. get some collonite 915 for the wax as this gives some real good protection through the colder wetter months.