1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Torque settings

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by domburg, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. domburg
    Offline

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    hi guys

    just rebuilding the top end on my 8l s3,its the APY engine, can anybody tell me the torque settings for the head bolts please? :readit:

    cheers, dom
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. zeeeebo
    Offline

    zeeeebo Lifes one big laugh

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    does it not say in haynes manual? pop down to halfords and have a sneeky peek at one!
    #2
  4. domburg
    Offline

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    yeah ill have whip down if i cant find them, my nearest halfords is about an hour 45mins way
    #3
  5. zeeeebo
    Offline

    zeeeebo Lifes one big laugh

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    where do you live!!!! im about 15miles or i would pop down and have a look for you! why dont you buy one off ebay as you might need it if your rebuilding the head!
    #4
  6. domburg
    Offline

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    cheers mate, i live out in the sticks near Hull and halfords is on the other side of hull so it can be a bit of a ball ache sometimes, i cant find an s3 haynes manual anywere, the a3 ones say that they dont cover the s3 or qauttro, should be ok without it but we arnt sure on the torque settings ill try and google it, just thought id give it a try on here first.

    cheers tho m8
    #5
  7. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,919
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    http://forums.fourtitude.com/zerothread?id=3425946

    **EDIT**
    The above link suggests head bolts should be initially torqued to 60nm but others have said 40nm. I have looked in the A3 haynes manual I have and looked at both the AYP and AMK engined S3's in ElsaWin an both sources state 40nm. I am looking to confirm this information for my own sanity as I don't want to post misinformation. The above link is useful and I know others that have used it but 20nm difference is quite a bit.

    <tuffty/>
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
    #6
  8. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    head bolts torque for the 1999 apy engine is 40Nm, then 90deg turn, then another 90deg turn.
    #7
  9. adamss24
    Online

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,361
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Dec 30, 2009]
    Thats corect ! You also start from the centre:

    10 4 2 6 8

    7 5 1 3 9 This end is the flywheel ans make
    shure you use NEW bolts !
    #8
  10. domburg
    Offline

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2009]
    thanks for that guys really appreciate it :beerchug:
    #9
  11. Matt82
    Offline

    Matt82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 31, 2009]
    domburg, id try and find a copy of elsawin, or even just the extracts for putting the lump back together. id rely on that far more than a haynes
    #10
  12. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2009]
    :iagree:

    you don't need the latest rev either since your car is 10 yr old, APY just like mine!
    #11

Share This Page