1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Topmounts : to poly bush or not to poly bush that is the question...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by vrbob, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Thinking of changing my standard top mounts to poly ones as they are available form Creation Motorsport for about £39.

    They must be alot tougher than the rubber version and therefore less prone to wearing out and also offer a furthur 10mm drop at the front (which is something i want as my front is a little higher than the rear) and with this you get 10mm of extra dampening according to the blurb.

    POLYBUSH FRONT TOP MOUNT PAIR 44CF 2WD+4WDS, VW GOLF AUDI A3 TT,OCTAVIA LEON | eBay

    Any thoughts peeps?
    #1
  2. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    Do it and then tell me if I should :p What about the top mount bearings? Will these not load up the bearings more and cause them to fail faster?
    #2
  3. colicabcadam
    Offline

    colicabcadam Guest

    you'll be suprised how unworn your current ones are ! i was when i saw mine !
    #3
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    New top mount on left, worn one after 13 years and 60k miles on the right.

    [​IMG]

    I'd go for standard topmounts with FK lowering caps personally, as the rubber topmounts gives some comfort to your ride. If you are running coilovers, I guess going poly wouldn't make much difference?
    #4
  5. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    39
    Jojo do they shrink that much :blink: when changed mine a few months ago they looked the same as that photo just thought they were different as I changed them for the Cupra r top mounts quite shocked in how much they have shrunk
    #5
  6. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    They don't just shrink over time, just think the whole front end/weight is on top of those, so compressed aswell.
    #6
  7. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah they do take a pounding mate and a lot of weight as you say
    #7
  8. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well gotta take mine off at some point anyway as need to replce one of the bearings as i couldnt undo the nut on the shock so think i will give them a whirl and see what they are like.

    Not running coilovers just uprated shocks and springs so the extra 10mm lower at the front will help my stance a little too.

    As the rest of thed car is polybushed it almost seems rude not too lol
    #8
  9. harvey01
    Offline

    harvey01 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi all i put psi tuning polybush ones on last week there spot on but get some polo 6n caps
    #9
  10. karl210
    Offline

    karl210 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    i bet if youve got worn compressed ones like that then you probably wont notice the 10mm shorter ones, but if you put new standard ones back in the front end will probably lift up slightly
    #10
  11. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    If you are going to do this and haven't got a VAG top mount tool then I would really suggest getting one, I've pissed about with top mounts for years and it's always been a pain until I got one of these. Tool 3078 I think.

    [​IMG]
    #11
  12. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    I always just used a windy gun to get the nuts off...easy
    #12
  13. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    #13
  14. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    337
    I've just got some ground control camber top mounts as the rubber ones don't seem to last long with coilovers. I imagine it'll be a wee bit firmer :)
    #14
  15. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    I don't have an air gun at home, wish I did though.
    #15
  16. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Neither do I, I have an electric cordless one though. ;)
    #16
  17. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    I can't afford one. I spend all my money on go faster bits.
    #17
  18. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Techically an electric impact gun is a go faster bit compared to a ratchet and allen key :p
    #18
  19. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    **** it, I'm going to buy one.
    #19
  20. harvey01
    Offline

    harvey01 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    4
    7mm allen key down a spark plug socket spanner on the socket job done
    #20
  21. Grazam
    Offline

    Grazam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    i bought some poly top mounts never got round to fitting if anyone is after any i got some spares if you want. just text me

    07590437004 im in dorset as well id rather do collection can't be botherd with posting id even help fit them if you ask nicely
    #21
  22. niallh
    Offline

    niallh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have polybushed the top mounts in my car, personally I cant say that much of a difference is made. As mentioned before you definitely need to buy 6N polo top caps

    I couldnt afford a cordless one so i bought this Clarke CEW1000 Electric Impact Wrench - Machine Mart

    I rate it very highly not struggled with anything i have put it through which included fitting coilovers, these top mounts and polybushing the rear beam
    #22
  23. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    90
    Hasnt their been a right up on these already? Not sure if it was on here or not, ill try to find it but im sure the poly top mounts got slated, something about noise and aomething else. Ill try to find it.
    #23
  24. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well have oredered a set of the CM ones so will report back when i get round to fitting them.
    #24
  25. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    good stuff, let us know :)
    #25
  26. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Top Mounts arrived this morning, i also took the plunge and bought a dirt cheap electric impact wrench off ebay to make undoing the nuts easier and also mto help with wheel changes.

    I got this Liftmaster 12V Impact Wrench with Digital Display & Torque Configuration | eBay

    Had a go on my wheel nuts and they come off easy and also tried it on the top not that hold the capon the strut and that came off too so seems like it will do the job. plus i can now set the torque using its in built gauge.
    #26
  27. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    lol, that impact wrench looks like a proper cheapo ebay jobbie :) hope it holds up for you! let us know how you get on. Did you end up getting different top caps?
    #27
  28. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Yup its cheap but seems to work and for what i need it for it should do the job. It is rated to 350nm which was alot more than some of the more expensive ones.

    Nope didnt buy new top caps yet gonna fit the mounts first and then see how high the old top caps sit after.
    #28
  29. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    I wouldn't trust the gauge, just make sure you manually check them after.

    Good luck, I loom forward to seeing a review :)
    #29
  30. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Nah the gauge probably isnt accurate but it does seem to work cos if i set it to say 150nm and do up a wheel nut you can see the torque going up on the gauge and then it stops when it reaches 150 and says end so at least it gives me a way of making sure i dont overtighten stuff.

    Got my catch can setup to do first once the pipe i ordered shows up as i need to borrow a friends spring compressors to do the top mount job properly.
    #30
  31. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    869
    #31
  32. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    been reading the catch can guide in the stickies as the guide you posted is the same as the one westy used when writing his.

    Just gotta work out the differences as mine is a BAM engine so not exactlky the same as i dont have SAI etc.

    I have already mounted my Catch Can i got a cheap and chererful one off ebay and have mounted it to to my heatshield (s3dave`s) as it looks nice and neat. Also means i need alot less pipework running about as i cn turn the hockey puck 45degrees and jooin it to one outlet and then run the other outlet to a t peice that then goes back to the block and down to the oil filter.

    Am sure i have to block off the nipple under the inlet manifold but there is something else to the left of the inlet manifold near where the DV nipple that i also have to do something with but cant remember what exactly.
    #32
  33. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Did my catch can install today and am pretty pleased with the results. Had a minor mishap as the 90 degree bend that comes out of the oil filter housing decided to disintegrate as I tried to remove it. So had a quick call around and TPS had one on the shelf so £30 later I have a new one. All connected back up and new pipes routed and car runs really nice and idle is rock solid. Another job done :)
    #33
  34. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    nicely done. i'll take a look at your install when I get down there
    #34
  35. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Sounds good mate :)
    #35
  36. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Couple of quick pics of my latest mod my catch can install......

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    All seems good, May look at venting to atmos at some poiont soon too as i am thinking or running a pipe to the hole in the passenger side wing where the old feed for the airbox used to be.
    #36
  37. ReDBull
    Offline

    ReDBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'll be interested in what you think of the top mounts as I've got them to fit. Catch can looks neat that's on my to do list as well.
    #37
  38. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Topmounts are the next job but waiting on a second pair of hands as almost lost a finger doing it before lol.

    Yeah am pleased with my Catch Can setup it was cheap and cheerful but seems to be doing the job and looks good where tis located without too much pipework etc.
    #38
  39. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    90
    #39
  40. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Linky does not seem to work mate.

    My mate is already running the PSI poly topmounts on his S3 and so far he is pleased with the results so would like to see any more info as such.
    #40

Share This Page