1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Took the remap plunge

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by HuntsA4, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    After reading everything on here I've decided to make the plunge and have my 1.8T 190 sport mapped.

    Goes in friday, and can't wait.

    Anyone got a remapped 190?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. mjsewell

    mjsewell Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. But I'm just in the process of buying 190bhp 1.8T quattro sport, so I'd be interested to know how you get on.

    Where are you getting it done?

    Enjoy the drive home!

    Matthew
     
  4. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local company, guy seems to really know his stuff and has been prepared to discuss it with me endlessly as I want to understand it.

    TorquingBHP, they are on the outskirts of Cambridge. Take a look at www.torgingbhp.co.uk

    They have stated that if I have it done and am not delighted with results they will remove it and refund with no quibble! but he says that in 6 years of remapping no one has taken up the offer of refund.

    Sounds to me like a no brainer. But I move forward with an open mind, and of course I will report back with the results.
     
  5. I got my A4 1.8T 190 mapped by AMD and the difference is amazing - really makes the car go like it should have in the first place.

    In my opinion it is a must to map this car!

    My car is only 2WD so sometimes it is very difficult to get the power down without spinning the wheels such is the power increase.
     
  6. Stringster

    Stringster Missed gear

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    8
    I see that TorquingBHP use REVO remap's so I'll be interseted to see how you find the results.
    Is there any difference in where you get the Revo remap done ?
     
  7. The Slug

    The Slug Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry about that yes it is www.torqingbhp.co.uk
    They do Revo, but they also have their own map which they suggest is superior to Revo map. Its the same price, so I've gone for their recommendaton, time will tell.
     
  9. Stringster

    Stringster Missed gear

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sounds good, and looks like they know their stuff.
    May be paying them a visit soon...
     
  10. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of the reasons for remap route is that I've been looking at changing the car which will probably cost £12K and my car. They are talking about this map making the car a different driving experience, and all for £450 ish, so has to be worth a try.
     
  11. Stringster

    Stringster Missed gear

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    8
    Does that include rolling road time ?
     
  12. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have; look in the group buys section for the plots and results..
    Very good, but does spin the wheels a bit especially in the wet..
    I did oneclick; at least you have the option then to put it back to std.
     
  13. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
  14. [ QUOTE ]

    Anyone got a remapped 190?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep - over 6 months now and still puts a smile on my face /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Star performance Did mine.

    I too have the DualSystem box (same as OneClick) - But I took a drive up to Fife and had a power check and some tweaking of the map to make the most of my Oettinger Alloy Intake.

    Review HERE


    Hope you enjoy - But remember to treat the car with respect and drop the oil once a year too /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  15. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    240 PS is pretty good going Bub..
    All us 'chippers' would agree the 190 is a must to be chipped!.
     
  16. jonmusicman

    jonmusicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone advise me where I can get my 1.8T 150bhp chipped in the midlands?

    What sort of increase would I end up with and is it worth it on an engine that's done a tad under 50k?

    Cheers


    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif
     
  17. [ QUOTE ]
    Can anyone advise me where I can get my 1.8T 150bhp chipped in the midlands?

    What sort of increase would I end up with and is it worth it on an engine that's done a tad under 50k?


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Why not........?! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif

    You should see 200bhp and around the same level of torque /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/froggie_red.gif


    At 50k its just about run in!

    - Just remember that you need to treat the car with a bit more respect , like warm up - cool down - new quality oil at least once a year and you'll be fine. You've got to take into account wear and tear that has already occurred to the mechanicals and factor that in to. But You’ll only kill the car if you rag the thing to death…………..

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  18. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the 150 goes to about 180BHP. It has a different turbo and only 1 intercooler compared to the later 190's. Also I think the injectors are different. Still worth doing.
     
  19. [ QUOTE ]
    240 PS is pretty good going Bub..
    All us 'chippers' would agree the 190 is a must to be chipped!.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah I was pretty pleased too /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif Like I said it would've nice to see a bit more torque on the rollers. But the curve is very flat from 2500 - 5000rpm, so almost factory like in its delivery.

    You've got a lot of torque there too! Does that figure peak for long? My peak torque was 246lbft at 3580 but you don't feel it on the road - I think it was more down to the dyno loading the engine initially when it ‘kicked’ in.

    By the way congrats on the new order - sounds great, I wonder how it'll compare to the re-mapped 190?

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  20. [ QUOTE ]
    I think the 150 goes to about 180BHP. It has a different turbo and only 1 intercooler compared to the later 190's. Also I think the injectors are different. Still worth doing.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    If it's got a throttle cable you're right '911 - But the drive-by-wire 150 and 163's go to just over the 200 mark /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif

    BUB
     
  21. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the Amd map is a mix of torque and power really. There's a nice lump in the graph to get you up and going..
    The 220 will be one clicked also when its run in... best of both worlds..!..
    I'll re post the graph links just for fun!...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. [ QUOTE ]
    I think the Amd map is a mix of torque and power really. There's a nice lump in the graph to get you up and going..

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah my graph looks pretty much the same, the dyno was set up to kick in a bit later though, so it doesn't show much below 2500rpm.

    I'll try to get to another dyno this year and see how it performs.


    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  24. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bit nervous now, its there being done, I'm a compulsive worrier, but hopefully this evening I'll be a compulsive smiler
     
  25. Hey, all they do is plug a laptop into your OBD II port!!!

    Don't worry - It'll be over in 5mins /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  26. raca4

    raca4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Agree with BUB, I took my 150ps to 210ps when it was done at AmD back in October.
     
  27. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just had the call, all is well! he carried out a full diagnostic prior to starting and all was fine.
    Really looking forward to the drive home when i pick it up this evening.

    Useful to know he has VAGcom as well as other diagnostic software, so he can look at all other erros too. I suspect he'll be somewhat cheaper than asking Audi dealer, and he's definetly more interested in his Customers.

    Still to drive the car, but so far experience is good, with exceptional communications.
     
  28. Enjoy - Are you getting a dyno run too?

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  29. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did ask about Dyno, they only reccomend Dyno if the car is already modded, so they get the best from the other mods. On standard cars they say Duno not required, unless you want to pay to find out your personal outputs. does this sound about right??
     
  30. Well, it does but only if you really want to know before and after figures.Also some people like to see how the power is delivered - i.e a great big bang or nice and linear.....................

    You just have to take their word for it with regards to claimed increase and of course what gain you've had.

    One thing though dyno or not - It will put a smile on your face /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  31. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    A problem!!

    now the remap is done if i cruise at 3000 revs in 5th or 6th then accerlerate iget a resonance noise which lasts a couple of seconds then you go through it.
    If you nail it through the gears it doesn't happen, any ideas?

    I'm /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif off, don't want to take remap off but may have no choice if this can't be sorted.

    Problem is you usually cruise at about 3000 revs on motorway then when you touch accelrator to overtake it happens

    Help!!
     
  32. Sorry no idea......... Slight over boost, then clearing....? Does it always do it? Can you feel it through the car?

    You sure it's the Re-Map? It's pretty much impossible to guess a noise without hearing it oneself.........

    What has the tuner said?

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  33. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tuner says take back monday.

    Think its probably resonance in cat, if so new cat or return to standard.

    I think it'll be back to standard, I was unsure anyway and now this has hit my confidence in it hard.

    Pain i will have to take time off to sort monday
     
  34. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    thats the beauty of one click from Amd. You can map and un map it yourself with the plug in module.
    Dont worry too much; I am sure its nothing too serious.
     
  35. [ QUOTE ]
    I think it'll be back to standard, I was unsure anyway and now this has hit my confidence in it hard.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I'm sorry to hear that. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    It's a shame you've started on a bad foot. I'm As The911' says it probably not to serious and lets hope you can sort it out without too much fuss or expense. The problem is even with just a mild Re-Map you are putting the car under more stress - No question. The trick is to remember a bit of mechanical sympathy and all will be ok, even in the long term.

    The CAT sounds feasible for sure but I would've thought it wouldn't have taken a Re-Map to show that up - I think you need it back to standard to try and see how it compares.

    How many miles has the car done?

    Out of interest how did you find the Re-Map?

    Was it a REVO map or the guys own?

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  36. dummi

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    just seen that graph is very flat you must be chuffed
     
  37. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    35,000 miles

    His own, not Revo

    A bit peaky if that makes sense, thought it would be more linear
     
  38. [ QUOTE ]
    just seen that graph is very flat you must be chuffed

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It's 911's graph but mine looks pretty similar.

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif
     
  39. [ QUOTE ]
    35,000 miles

    His own, not Revo

    A bit peaky if that makes sense, thought it would be more linear

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It can take a bit of driving to get used to a Re-Map. (the 190ps has such a flat torque curve Std)

    If you drive gently then start to accelerate when does the power kick in?

    Ask him what boost he's running... You don't want any more than .8 -.9 of a BAR. .9 being MAX!

    On mine it starts to build quite nicely from about 2500rpm at 3000 it's pulling strongly all the way to the redline.But I wouldn't call it peaky - just stronger with more character, if you know what I mean? I can 'pooter' around all day on light throttle sub 3000rpm and the car performs perfectly - just stronger than stock.

    As The911sc says with the DualSystem/OneClick box you can switch back to standard in 4 mins and compare the maps.

    Good luck on Monday

    BUB /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  40. simon_golf_tt

    simon_golf_tt Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the 150bhp engine in mine and it remapped to 201bhp and was measured on the same rollers as Bub's i.e. Star Performance.

    I had a problem when mine was first remapped, the car would feel like it was misfiring in 5th and 6th gear under full acceleration. This turned out to be the intake pipe collapsing. Hence I have the neuspeed xtreme intake pipe fitted now, which cured the problem. If HuntsA4's problem is just a noise it's probably not related though.
     
  41. HuntsA4

    HuntsA4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had it looked at this morning, looks like it is cat, but they think it will go away if map removed.
    So i have two choices, drive with noise or take map off. Can't take back under warranty as they'll notice map. If i take map off and return to dealer there wont be a noise, so catch 22.

    Map off and back to standard me thinks.

    No i Have to argue financial aspects, as Tuner says its not the map, I think it will have to be a compromise.
     
  42. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have to admit I have never heard of that happening before.
    If I were you I would take it to a minstream tuner like Amd or Star. Their maps are made for overlall driveability and useabilty not just dyno figures. You'll feel the difference between a good map and not.
    DIY mappers are not worth the risk imo (not saying yours necessarily is of course!)
     

Share This Page