1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Todays findings

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by K7ERG, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. K7ERG
    Offline

    K7ERG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    One rear brake caliper held on with 1 bolt............... Replaced bolt
    Found my windscreen washer bottle had a silicon patch on it but is still passing water.

    I also got my hands on one of the ebay VAG scan tools.

    Checked for fault codes but came up with this

    Please check DTC memory of instrument cluster P1654.

    Now my instrument cluster doesnt show anything at all just a blank red screen. It does go orange then turns red once moving.

    I know i need new clocks which are next on the list of things to do.

    Is it easy to change to clocks with check control system?

    Any help would be great.
    #1
  2. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you get clocks from the same age of car should be ok i think. If the display worked fine before you plugged it in could it just be something needing coded?
    #2
  3. K7ERG
    Offline

    K7ERG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    The display has been blank since I bought car. Will have to go looking for clocks
    #3
  4. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    There was a couple of a4's in the scrappie in inveralmond the other week. They always have a couple in there.
    #4
  5. K7ERG
    Offline

    K7ERG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    None there when I was last in. I was at u pull it and there was one there might have to go down and see if its still there. I actually took the clocks out. Next days off might have a wee drive down again.
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Use a proper vagcom cable and scan the instrument cluster like its told you to, to see what the fault code is.
    #6
  7. K7ERG
    Offline

    K7ERG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would it not be better to find another set if clocks. I was wanting to get a set with the trip computer and check system. Need to find out what size of torques I need to get the steering wheel airbag cover off.
    #7
  8. fARQUARE
    Offline

    fARQUARE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was in the breakers in inveralmond today, 2x a4 b5's (both saloons) and an a8 of the same age. Sure you'd get some clocks easily, but as aragorn says - get it scanned to see what the issue is before spending any £
    #8

Share This Page