1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TO MOD OR NOT TO MOD (2.0 TSFI)?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ANTWAR72, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. ANTWAR72
    Offline

    ANTWAR72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Just a quick question"To mod or not to mod?
    whats your thoughts?
    Is it that bad to keep the 2.0 TFSI standard?
    #1
  2. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    18
    It's probably not a good idea to take any advice from me!
    #2
    PaulAr, pinterovski, Artimus and 2 others like this.
  3. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,429
    Likes Received:
    13
    Get it modded. Remapping it is such a good idea and transforms the car. Peruse thro the forum and get some info/gen on what to do and I would start saving now .........mwoooaahhhhh!!!!!
    #3
  4. Bailer
    Offline

    Bailer Waiting on the Haynes Manual

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my 1.6 Almost a month now. I absolutely love the Car, but its a base model and I just can't leave it alone... Got A No Smoking Pack, An Armrest and Just Got an Ambient Light / Map Reading upgrade off another member.

    Depends on how your car is now. And How much money you're willing to put into it...

    2.0 TFSI is definitely a step up from mine. Why don't you put up some pics??

    I'm sure the regulars like S3Alex, NHN and N8 Will have some suggestions...
    #4
  5. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brodster summed it up for me.

    It really does transform the car, makes it come alive.

    I have remapped my previous 2 cars, A3 1.8T and Mk2 Leon Cupra - the difference on them both was dramatic and they were both only stage 1 tunes.

    Do it, just go with someone reputable for the engine :)
    #5
  6. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    18
    I could give you plenty of ideas but as everyone's said,a remap really changes the car and makes it MUCH better.
    #6
    ANTWAR72 likes this.
  7. thesmileyone
    Offline

    thesmileyone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was stage 2+ and honestly it was too fast. It was s-tronic though so gearchanges were near instant... by too fast I mean I would look down and be doing 120 when I wanted to be doing 80...
    #7
  8. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    2
    could do loads mate... depends what are you after to like the thrill of speed and a torquey car or your drive like a grandma lol its your call...

    but what you can do is this.... bigger turbo maybe K04 for go hybrid if you want 400-600 HP bigger injector S3 or Rs4 , get a THS or S3 intercooler, Map, full milltek TBE if running K04 .. and probably a clutch LPFP and HPFP upgrade then you'll be smiling, get some Kw suspension or bilstein ; rebush the car and maybe even get some RS4/3 BBK
    #8
  9. jimojameso
    Offline

    jimojameso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can never be too fast :)
    #9
  10. NobberUK
    Offline

    NobberUK VAG Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certainly not a good idea to take advice from Alex!!! Then again, probably not a good idea to ask most people on here!!

    My response would to mod it of course!!! But be prepared to become addicted to throwing money at it in the pursuit of perfection!
    #10
  11. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    2
    ah you can say that again i think the MOTO of this Forum should be " In Pursuit of Perfection; the never ending goal"

    most people on this forum will mod there car be it performance wise or cosmetic.
    #11
    kanecullen89 likes this.
  12. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    6
    Had a MK5 Golf with this engine in and it responded superbly to a Stage 1 map.
    Its almost a waste to run one of these standard.

    Do it.




    Then save for a clutch....
    #12
  13. leeds2592
    Offline

    leeds2592 When I grow up, I want a 964!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    3
    Could always run it as standard until you get bored of the power, then go Stage 1.
    #13
    ANTWAR72 likes this.
  14. phil76
    Offline

    phil76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2
    Never had issues with the clutch with mine on stage one and that was a quattro and they take a bit more getting moving depending if yours if 2 or 4 wheel drive,get it remapped,make sure it has revised diverter on it,then go for a good intake do it stage by stage when you have the money,if then its still not quick enough as mentioned ko4 turbo conversion and then and then and then and then ££££££££££££ and then S3 then start again
    #14
  15. turbonutz
    Offline

    turbonutz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    had ma s3 a year and been happy with it thinking of trading as police like pulling me (24 yearold in east end of glasgow with an s3 usually a drug dealer haha) but since joining this forum im thinking of modding and keeping it longer till i get a driving ban haaa itching to mod personally aswell! damn forum...
    #15
  16. ANTWAR72
    Offline

    ANTWAR72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all who took time to reply,forgot to say it has DSG so thinking to upgrade that also!!
    Decisions,decisions!Car currently has 52000 on her i bought it with 50000 fsh but 1 owner from new and she was 64 year old!
    #16
  17. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    9
    n00b here. for a K04 upgrade, is it just a matter of swapping the turbo and getting a new map? or it is wey more complicated lol.

    thanks,
    jj
    #17
  18. JPK
    Offline

    JPK Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bit more to it than that. Need s3/TTS injectors, upgraded hpfp, DV relocate kit and different turbo outlet pipe also. Should also get a bigger or S3 intercooler, downpipe and intake to get the most from it.

    Most people just get an S3 if they currently have an A3
    #18
  19. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Swapping to an S3 with be at least 3 times the price of my Cheapy A3. And my student loan aint gonna cover that!

    Getting a ko4 fitted on my A3 would be nower near that cost. and i'd always have the addons to sell (hpfp, intake, injectors.) if wanted, also insurance would be cheaper still! lol

    ^ my reasons not to get an S3 :p
    #19
  20. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    2

    as said earlier JJ you need

    stg 2+ map
    k04
    s3/rs3 injectors
    if ur tight on cash you could always do the DP and 200 cell cat then go for the cat back
    get a S3 or THS FMIC
    and a loba or autotech pump should be fine.. it isnt much of a big job thinking about it but you will need a gd clutch to compliment the power oull get 380-400hp on your engine wouldnt go more or you risk loosing the rods.
    #20
  21. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well id like to go BT in the future so would be planning ahead.

    However you mention the rods... on the revo website for the K04 AND big turbo, it doesnt say anything about changing internals.
    I was a bit concerned about it, but was just taking their word for it. but always slightly sceptical about it being only an A3.

    Maybe i need a few peoples opinions on this against revos opinions! aha
    #21
  22. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    18
    A lot of the information on the site is aimed at the S3.

    The A3 2.0TFSi's rods are not as tough as the S3's rods,which are good for around 440lbs,where the A3's will not take as much,and I think Sevv's advice is very sound,especially with a BT kit in mind,as you would need those in any case.
    #22
  23. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Right cheers for that, so basically Rods are going to be a must (whatever they are).

    Wondering why it doesnt mention this on the revo site tbh :/ a bit odd really.

    Ahh rods are on the pistons! does this mean i would just replace the whole piston rather than just the rod? and would at this point, i mayaswell do the other weak areas aswell so it can like rev up to 8k? etc.
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2013
    #23
  24. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rods are connected by wrist pins to the piston, and if you got say GTX3070 or76 then JE pistons or any same spec would be advised with a lower compression ration so the car doesnt run hot , i just got 9.5 comp ration piston for the 3076 along with rods calico coated bearing and rod bearings, i would also advise getting a ferrea valve train kit, as with the BT it spools at around 3.5k rpm or so all the way to the 8K mark if you dont want the springs and valve to blow i would consider changing them, and i would personally get a girdle kit, as the engine will twist unfortunately under a 3076,

    it would also be advisable to get a LSD , strengthen the bearing , and selector forks at the minimum, getting uprated synchros would be ACE.. and trust me mate im going through all that now and its NOT cheap AT ALL. albeit .. if you wanna go BT but want the cheaper alternative for now get the K04 with only the DP and 200 cell cat(as you'll have to sell them if going BT).. the FMIC, LPFP, HPFP, and RS4 injectors ( you can keep for the BT build, so that saves you over £1000, along with a loba clutch.

    must say its nice to aspire BT , but the few people that have done it/ doing it they will tell you the headache associated with BT's haha ( though i must stress im sure they are fun/ or will be in my case)
    #24
  25. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes will aim to get the bigger injectors and stage 3 clutch ready for future, but im wondering if i can just buy the big turbo say 3071 (like on revo site) but just run it at like say 350bhp, is there any downsides to this? except obviously having the spool time of a BT there went i could just have a k04?

    Im just thinking save a bit of hastle with skipping the k04.

    Cheers for the info tho!
    #25
  26. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    2

    It is possible to do it, you need a custom map, and the same mods for the k04, and the kit i would advise you though to get the GTX the 3071 i would say would spool 2-300 rpm lower then a 3076 if not mistaken, the engine shouldnt run hot, and i cant see at 350hp the gear shredding itself , though the only problem i may see if you rev over the 6-6.5k mark is the valve train i wouldnt rev it past that , at all as the risk becomes great so if your is a manual you can control the revs easily ..

    thats the kit btw, if you want to get it i would suggest ceramic coating the DP and the exhaust manifold and extrude hone it so it can flow better if you want to build it up properly the ATP kit has the worst flow rates so i would stick to the CTS one as its the best one at the moment on the market , i know integrated engineering is comming up with a kit which would eliminate all those issues and you also have forced feed engineering which has a titanium tubular manifold (top mount) but that involves allot of custom work to the waste gate pipe, DP and CAI

    CTS Turbo Golf R 2.0 TFSI Turbo Kit

    http://store.forcefedengineering.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=FFE_Street_Topmount_2.0T
    #26
  27. Sayam
    Offline

    Sayam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    just to answer the original post....MOD !!
    #27

Share This Page