1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tips on removing my turbo

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by skinz, May 14, 2011.

  1. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    like it says im gonna take my turbo out 2day to c what the damage is, any tips on what i should look out for when removing it an the best way to take it out cheers peeps
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    well got my turbo off, it was my wastegate flapping around, no oil in the housing which is gd thing but the shaft has got play, up n down and side to side, dont think its worth trying to re-con it looks like a new 1 is in need, well think its gonna have to be a re-con 1 as my alternator is on its way out and i still need to sort this prob out with it not starting, dont yea just love cars sometimes
     
  4. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    Another wastegate god im not the only one in need of a new turbo I will be hopefully getting the Frankenturbo f4h or scroll sp54x will be a last minute decision !!
     
  5. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    wish i had the money to up-grade
     
  6. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    I have had to scrape sum money's together and save as ive just moved house and go away next week it's been a busy month not to mention my cat falling of so that's been replaced with a ths decat (not cheap) just counting on my bonus from work to fund my turbo upgrade otherwise it's a bad month for me next month lol then after that is flywheel and clutch upgrade, then it will be brakes all-round and boost gauge !!!
     
  7. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    164
    Mines fixed now... (replaced hot side housing)... Will prepare for the :haudrauf:
     
  8. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    i just took mine apart and the compressor wheel has been rubbing against the housing, im getting married in aug so all spending is to the min at the min just need to get the car rolling again, then after the wedding the boss says i can start playing properly:thumbsup:;)
     
  9. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    My mates got one there that's ****ed that I can have the hot side off for now't but then I would still be living with some lag and same power so going for the upgrade may just go scroll which just bolts on and good for 240hp but then there's franken with the E/Mani, TIP and 3" MAF housing or uprated diverter valve but have a splitter, can replace manifold when I want to and MAF housing means new filter and they claim 300+ so I just don't no :(
     
  10. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    theres a couple of things ive been thinking of but then ive seen a couple of things on here that say dont do it like the de-cat an changing the air filter, was gonna get a k04 but told its not worth it and was thinking about equal length manifold, im still trying to learn all this turbo stuff
     
  11. Keyser Soze

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent news Rconn!!!

    Bradderz & Skinz, I've got a K03 from an AWT engined Passat that I got from ebay going spare if needed. I ended up buying a reman turbo. PM me if you're interested
     
  12. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    AWT is the engine code innit, mine is a AEB engine does that matter
     
  13. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    164
    Cheers Kev, and thanks for your help too. :icon_thumright:

    AFAIK: AWT, AJL, APU and ANB have a shared turbo... but that doesnt mean to say it wont fit your AEB motor
     
    #12 AR-rkon, May 14, 2011
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  14. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    Well the de-cat has changed how the car gets through the rev range and Is a little quicker on spool only slightly not very noticable but I reckon with the new turbo and de-cat it will get rid of some lag and spool a lot quicker maybe have some scoobys of the stand still when the flywheel/clutch upgrades done lol
     
  15. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    brad i really like them reccaro seats, they dont come standard in ur car do they, which car do they come out of
     
  16. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    There either k03-029 (some call this the k03s which is only fitted transverse) or k03-005 either way both the same.
     
  17. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    ur doing eveything i want to do, wish i had held out for a quattro
     
  18. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    what is dif between transverse and longitudinal
     
  19. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    164
    Looking from the front: Transverse = cylinders left to right, Cyl 1 = pass side
    Longditudal = front to back, Cyl 1 = behind radiator/Frontmost of car
     
  20. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i think mine is a longditudal
     
  21. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    was looking at front mounted intercooler
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Keyser Soze

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    All B5 platform cars (A4, Passat, Superb) are longitudinal FWD or Quattro
     
  24. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    so is it like the quattro's that are transverse
     
  25. Keyser Soze

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, All B5 platforms are longitudinal. The A3/Golf/Leon/TT/Octavia platform is transverse.
     
  26. mike-a

    mike-a Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Quattro is just the drivetrain,same shell,engine placement,interior etc
     
  27. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    right, im getting there lol, whats the n75, i keep seeing peeps referring to it
     
  28. Keyser Soze

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    The N75 is the WGFV (Waste gate frequency valve) its a small electro magnetically operated vacuum 'solenoid' that is controlled by the cars ECU to control turbo boost pressure under load.
     
  29. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    is that the bit thats near the dump valve and has got a pipe going to the actuator
     
  30. Keyser Soze

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup that's the one.
     
  31. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    so what does that do if u change it
     
  32. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    164
    Not a lot of good (large boost spikes) or so i have been told ... search and ye shall find :search:
     
  33. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,764
    Likes Received:
    673
    The -029 will fit the AEB just fine. Its not a k03s though, only the -073 fitted to the B6 190 could be called a K03S
     
  34. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    if i fitted the k03s would i need to do change anything else
     
  35. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    164
    Not that im aware of, it should "in theory" bolt on and run happily enough on the stock ECU map.

    Though a K03s/K04, FMIC and a custom remap is the route im planning on in the near future.
     
  36. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,764
    Likes Received:
    673
    Without a map you wont really see any more power though.
     
  37. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    my car has been chipped, not sure what chip is in it, it got done in 2001, would this effect a tune up, is there any way i could find out what chip is fitted and what extra hp its giving me, back then they used to fit chips but now days they just reprogram the ecu's with a hand held device, what would i have to do if i wanted to remove this chip to put a new 1 on it
     
  38. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    what does it cost for a remap, is that the same as getting it chipped, cause the chip im looking at is you plug the device into the car and it takes a reading of what ur cars running then u have to send them readings to the chip company then they send the right program for your car
     
  39. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,764
    Likes Received:
    673
    Older cars cant be remapped, the ECU isnt flashable, it needs to come out and the chip replaced.

    Afaik all cable throttle B5's in the UK are like this.

    If your car is especially early (before around 1997) then the chip inside the ECU is more or less discontinued, and very hard to get hold of making doing anything with them pretty difficult.
     
  40. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    Skinz: the seats were a rare factory option fitted to the A4 TQS there's a few I've seen 4-5 on the trader so yes they came as standard you may find s4 ones either cream or black leather

    A remap would range from say £200-400 least being a postal in-between a mobile remap highest being a named specialist in remaps.
     
  41. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    yea ive got a 96 model, i did read that some 1 said u can swap the ecu for a new model ecu think it was the next engine code up, think it was some1 talking about a remap for the k04 cause u cant remap the AEB for the k04 and the only thing u had to change was the MAF and some1 said something about changing the harness but some1 esle said u dont, is the harness the wiring loom
     
  42. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    226
    Skinz: you can get a facelift ecu and harness and pop it straight on yours and Yes the harness is the wiring loom or harness, it may be worth seeing if you can put a AJL coded ecu and loom on a FWD AEB would that be possible or not Aragon ?? Or would it kill the drivetrain on a FWD ??
     

Share This Page