1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timing chain issues and rich code.

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by seany26, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    Hello all,
    I've been trying for a while now to trace a ongoing rich code on my 1.8t avj, only after a longer drive did it throw up a code for camshaft over retard. So I took the rocker cover off to have a look and here is what I found, I've got 16 rollers between the notches but the notches aren't quite lining up with the marks.now I know the last roller on the exhaust is slightly offset from it's notch anyway but what's in this pic just doesn't seem ok and this may be my problem.
    let me know what you think . IMAG0515.jpg
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 20, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes Received:
    291
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    what engine?

    It's more likely a faulty VVT unit, although i'm only counting 15 between marks. Has it been apart?
    #2
  4. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    Lol, yea the engine would help, it's a 1.8t avj.
    yea it has been apart.
    #3
  5. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    hi pal, dont know if it helps but my sisters golf v5 recently started idling really bad and kept coming up with cam crank correlation incorrect and vcds was showing the cam always advanced, anyway after messing about i tried shocking the solenoid which advances the cam with 12v and kept working it untill it was moving really nice, took it for a drive and spot on and also vcds was showing the cam advanced where it needed to be!
    all been fine since and done a flush on oil too, like i say different engines but i believe its a common things across the v5 v6 engines!
    #4
  6. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    That's definitely worth a try, will do it this afternoon. Could you hear the solenoid moveing more and more as you do it? Also were in vcds do I watch the cam positioning.

    Thanks for the help.
    #5
  7. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    hi mate, what fault code are you actually getting?
    i think it was blocks 208 or 209 i was looking at and right next to it it had the reference what it should be in degrees and this engine was just stuck at 37kw, it was the n205 valve if i remember rightly and basically it allows the oil to flow different direction to advance the cam but they get gunked up and quite common on these engine but not sure about yours?
    yes i heard it clicking the more and more i kept shocking it with power probe untill it was a solid loud click then swapped the feeds round and did it the other way so solenoid worked other way,first time i did it it lasted 5 mins then i spent about 20 mins shocking it working it in and out, took it for a drive and was bang on and stayed that way since and like i said ive done a flush too!
    dont assume this is your fault though as i dont even know if you have the same system in your engine this was v5 but i know its a problem across the v5 v6 engines!
    #6
  8. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    Yea it's the same part on mine, but not sure if it is used as widely as it is on the v5 v6 engines, have read that it's only for cold start conditions on the 1.8t. I have a new chain and tensioner/adjuster ordered. But I'm going to try what you said, as its worth a try. Thanx for the info again
    #7
  9. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 14, 2013]
    This is probably stating the obvious, but did you do this with the engine off?
    #8
  10. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jul 14, 2013]
    Hi pal, yes you do it with the engine off!
    i think you can do an actuations test on it with Vcds to see if u can hear it clicking away!
    think that's why I decided to shock it as I couldn't hear anything from it when I activated it.
    #9
  11. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    20
  12. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 17, 2013]
    sorry for the late reply been busy stripping the car down. yea got the fault code,
    16395 - Bank 1: Camshaft A (Intake)
    P0011 - 002 - Retard Setpoint not Reached (Over-Advanced)
    come across something unusual, the camshaft sprockets have started to wear back on the teeth and have little burrs on them.imsurethis is not helping my situation!!! photos don't really do justice, some teeth are worn more than others if you look carefully. have you or anyone else ever seen this before?

    IMAG0604[1].jpg
    IMAG0603[1].jpg
    #11
  13. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes Received:
    291
    [Jul 17, 2013]
    your problem is the vvt unit faulty. DO NOT buy a generic clone cheap part, the code will come back with more likely, a rattle too
    #12
  14. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 17, 2013]
    Thanks for your reply, yea I've got the tensioner and chain waiting ready to go in. Just waiting on a set of replacement cams to arrive 2moro. Just don't see how the sprocket could wear so bad, would under stand if there was a lack of oil but everything is covered in oil. Then again they do have 125000 on them and a hard life.
    #13
  15. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes Received:
    291
    [Jul 18, 2013]
    i'd also be getting sump off and cleaning the pick up out, they tend to clog causing low oil pressure which can also cause the issues you are having
    #14
  16. seany26
    Offline

    seany26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 18, 2013]
    Had the sump off back in Feb, new pump and pickup put on. Going to start a new thread to see if anyone has came across wearing camshaft sprockets before.
    I didd'nt have any of the chain rattle symtptoms before I removed everything and that was the first time the tensioner code came up, it was also intermittent.
    The constant code I'm getting is the running rich fault, hopefully this will sort things out!
    Thanks again
    #15

Share This Page