1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle reset on 2007 S3

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by simon-s3, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2008]
    As it is a "drive by wire" unit, how can I reset this on a 2007 S3 ?

    On a couple of cars I have had with this it was a case of turn ignition on, floor accellerator and hold for 5 secs, turn ignition off and let throttle pedal return to top. Wait 2 mins, start engine and drive.
    Is it the same proceedure on a 2007 S3 ? if not, how do I do it ?

    Cheers,

    Si
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2008]
    No idea personally, but why do you think you need to?!?
    #2
  4. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    Quite often these DBW systems adapt to the driving style and when you reset them they re learn and can make the car respond far better with ocassional resets. As I got my car with 6500 miles on it, I wanted to do a reset. Also consider if you have done lots of slow traffic and round town driving this can have an adverse effect too. If you do a reset and drive it like it was stolen for an hour it really wakes it up.
    #3
  5. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    ^^^^^Thats the same idea if you do a ECU reset , it adapts to your style and can get the best out of a change in fuel right away instead of waiting 2/3 tankfuls.

    p
    #4
  6. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    oo

    id quite like to do this on my rs4, anyone know what to do?
    #5
  7. emzino
    Offline

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    But wouldn't it backfire...:

    a) reset the throttle.
    b) drive it hard for an hour or so it can adapt to that driving style making the car much more responsive.
    c) yet your typical driving day would involve alot of traffic and/or no road that can really allow the car to stretch it's legs.
    #6
  8. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    Try a ECU reset see if that does the trick ( Just think of it like a system restore on a computer , it just gets rid of all your temp files and broken code thats slowing down your computer , and starts from scratch again ) just unplug the battery to force a ECU reset , leave it for 20mins , put the battery back on then get the car upto temp ( lights on , fans on , ect ) then go for a GOOD QUICK drive and the ECU will pick up on your driving style. ( go for a drive when it's quiet , so you can give it some )

    IVE NEVER DONE A ECU RESET ON THIS CAR , SO DOING SO IS AT OWNERS RISK

    It sould be fine tho!

    p
    #7
  9. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Mar 13, 2008]
    Nice caveat Phantom.. made me chuckle!
    Interested to hear if it makes a difference though!
    #8
  10. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    So the only way so far that may do this is to disconnect the battery....... Will that mess the radio up or anything else ? I once did this to a Rover and it immobilised it and I couldn't start it again.

    I would be far more interested in whether there is a reset using the ignition and throttle pedal like my old Crossfire SRT-6 and Clio 172 cup. It is very common on Mercedes cars too.
    #9
  11. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    I used to do ECU resets all the time on two of my old cars ( GTI6 and Renaultsport ) you only needed the radio code ,i never had immobiliser or alarm issues!

    It just makes the car feel fresher more responsive!

    There shouldn't be any major problems, ( can't be ) you must be able to change the battery without going to the dealers shurley?

    p
    #10
  12. whiteunderarm
    Offline

    whiteunderarm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    Only problem comes in if the car has been remapped...i kno that with REVO, disconnecting the battery is not a good idea. REVO automatically reverts to Valet mode and he car wont rev past 3000rpm. You then have ro reset you fueling, timing and boost settings accordingly.
    #11
  13. newbiecrg
    Offline

    newbiecrg windsurfer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    you are going to need VAG COM if you disconnetc the battery.... some faults will appear on DIS and you will need to clear them with VAG COM....

    Pedro
    #12
  14. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    ^^^^^^^^THats crazy of Audi that , you can't change the battery without a trip to the dealers ??????? even with a std car........mad!

    p
    #13
  15. newbiecrg
    Offline

    newbiecrg windsurfer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2008]
    well it happened on my Dads Golf MkIV when he fitted and aftermarket alarm system... battery had to be disconected... and the the electrician was unable to clear faults afterwards so had to go to dealer for clearing faults... they done free of charge though...

    Pedro
    #14
  16. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    Looks like I will leave it for the time being unless it can be done without removing the battery.
    #15
  17. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I would have thought that would only be if you try to turn the ignition on, I very much doubt the above would throw a fault code up...
    #16
  18. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/2.0l_TFSI_(AXX/BGB/BPJ/BPY/BWA)#Throttle_Body

    Is this the same thing you guys are talking about? Throttle body adaptation?
    #17
  19. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    Pretty much what I was on about but from what you have posted it looks like you need the VAG Software to do it. I was hoping it could be done with a simple sequence of throttle movement to floor and ignition switch on/off etc.
    #18
  20. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    It can be done on my old B5 with just inserting the key, switching to acc-on position, then wait a few minutes. You could hear the motor moving if you listen closely.

    Still, the proper method seems to be using the cable and software. Which is why investing in a vag-com is such a worthwhile expenditure as a vag car owner.
    #19
  21. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I will try this and see if it does anything, cheers.
    #20
  22. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    Hmmm, interesting reading all this. However, when you say it "adapts to the driving style", what exactly do you think that is does? Who here has carried out this reset procedure and seen a difference? I am very curious. Does it not, by definition, "adapt" to the new way it is now being driven [by you]? Or am I just being a plank?

    There must be some technicians on the forum, maybe they could comment authoritatively on the subject?
    #21
  23. newbiecrg
    Offline

    newbiecrg windsurfer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I am sure my S3 will be as fast as yours even without regular throttle resets!

    About the battery, when the battery was disconnected form my Dad's Golf IV what happened is that afterwards the ABS light was always on (stating a faulty ABS). It needed to be cleared with VAG-COM. Don't know if with A3 is the same.

    Pedro
    #22
  24. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    Hiya mate

    I'm no technician , so i'll try to discribe it in Laymans terms.

    Ive only ever done ECU resets ( ive not done any on my S3 ) when you reset the ecu it sets it back to how it left the factory. ( assuming you have no faults with the car )

    If you buy a used car , you take on a car that somebody else has driven , if they had a slow moving commute twice a day and never had a chance to stretch the cars legs , the ecu/throttle will be used to how the car gets driven. IE crawling in traffic!

    When you do a ecu reset it clears all that imfomation from the ecu, and IMHO the car feels great after , it feels freeier , more responsive , much more egar to rev, the clutch feels lighter ( in a good way ) gear changes smoother , razor sharp throttle response!

    There maybe a element of placebo i don't know?

    Put it this way i'd do a ECU reset tommorrow if i knew it wouldn't need a trip to the dealer to sort it out!

    Thanks

    p
    #23
  25. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    With the S3, when you disconnect the battery you have a heap of fault codes to clear. Dont worry, it's just entries in most of the CAN modules saying that power was lost.

    The only visible "faults" are the ESP fault and the steering wheel assist, you need to drive the car for a minute or two and then they will go away from the dash.

    As for doing throttle body alignment, you need VAG come as you need to initiate the stepper motor. A battery disconnect will clear some learned values, but not reset everything. Like someone else said, switchable maps might switch to a non-performance map by default (so when you take car in for service with map off and they put battery on for test drive, it's not back in chipped mode)
    #24
  26. newbiecrg
    Offline

    newbiecrg windsurfer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    So you are saying that somehow if you drive it like an old lady for a while it will be a slower and less responsive car? I am sorry but I don't really agree with that...

    Because to learn any values the car had to be fitted with some kind of software that would write in the ECU as you drive.... not likely...

    Also the position of the throothle is a parameter that is measured along with others to deliver performance... it might need re set or recalibration although I don't think Audi would build a drive by wire that would go out of tune!! That problem would be more likely in a mechanically operated (cable) pedal and that does not happen often (if it happens at all) so I don't really think that electronic pedal will go "out of tune".

    More if I read it correcly the car, by learning or getting used to a typo of driving would actually be changing the engine map as we drive????? So do we have an organic ECU???? Wouldn't that be prone to errors?

    I think the placebo effect is happening.....

    Afterall the ECU has software that is not more then logic instructions followed in a certain order and attending to some live values... but as soon as the car is turned off the ECU should be back to normal... unless there is some sort of "cache memory" that would be temporary anyway...

    But please investigate and let me know how it works... seems very unlikely for me that the car "remembers how you drive". Maybe it can adapt certain values when you drive but those will not be carried over or "saved"...

    Pedro
    #25
  27. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I'm only telling you my own findings , and answeing the OP, Pedro.

    On the whole fly by wire is not as responsive as cable throttle.

    IMHO the car FEELS ( not is ) fresher , more responsive, and faster after a reset.

    p
    #26
  28. Kris
    Offline

    Kris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I did the first hundered miles hard run in with my S3. Monday to Friday i drive like a granny because i have to (urban and 14 cameras a day i go through!). Weekends i drive it like i stole it (where possible) and it certainly seems to shift to me. Not disputing what anyone says but IMHO i can't see a reset being of any great advantage??
    #27
  29. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    These are the adaption channels that get updated when your drive, which get reset when you disconnect the battery. It obviously doesnt change the map, but these are parameters of the map which it changes. It's similar to the adaption channels that pull timing when you chuck in a tank of bad fuel, or throw in race fuel.

    Remember your car has a few maps in it, there'll be some that cater for cold starts, full throttle, part throttle, etc.

    Your will be very quick to slow down and cut back if it picks up an issue, it's not that eager to then overstep that boundry or try to perform better.

    It's not that organic as it's made out to be, but it does make a difference to drivibility and does affect performance.
    #28
  30. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    Thanks for the update!

    So... why would a car, any car, "learn" that it is being driven in slow traffic and actually behave differently? How does "slow moving commute traffic" translate to how the car actually behaves, other than poor fuel consumption and more frequent servicing? Are you seriously saying that the car would deliver less power, less responsiveness to the driver's input? And how on earth could that affect a mechanical connection from the clutch cable and gear linkage?!?!? Think I might find a friendly techy and ask them. Seems all very strange and very subjective to me!

    My understanding is that an ECU "adapts" as the car beds in and components naturally wear. It is these type of related parameters that may be substituted as the car and components age.
    #29
  31. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2008]
    I guess when it adapts to "congestion mode" it just adjust how the engine responds slight throttle inputs on the initial few degrees so the car isnt "jerky". When you finally bring it out to play, it'd take a while before mid-full throttle position sensitivity is given priority. Resetting the TBA makes the car more "eager" with small throttle inputs, making the driver feel as if it's faster.

    Maybe it's more apparent to me as I get stuck in really really bad traffic. 15mins when road is clear vs 1.5hrs journey during peak hours.

    Just my £1.14 + vat.
    #30
  32. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2008]
    The mechanical affects are placebo, the car just feels livelier to changing gears etc in spirited driving will feel a little better.

    But yes, the car does adapt. I'll see if I can find some technical articles for you to read.
    #31
  33. simon-s3
    Offline

    simon-s3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2008]
    I have had 2 previous cars with DBW and a reset has helped with both of them. I don't have VAG.COM, So when I am next in for a service I will ask if they can reset the ECU for me.
    #32
  34. ved789
    Offline

    ved789 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2008]
    Hi guys.

    Similar to the Throttle body adaptation using the VAG-COM (per boggysv's post), is there a way to readapt the S-Tronic gearbox ?

    The reason I ask is that my wife drives the TT daily, and I drive it in the weekends. It usually takes a while for box to readapt to my driving style.

    I would love to plug the VAG-COM in on a Friday night and readapt it.

    Thanks
    #33

Share This Page