1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle position sensor

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mickeybhoy67, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 28, 2008]
    Don't mean to be stupid but can anyone tell me where it is located on an Audi A3 98?
    Cheers an advance!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 28, 2008]
    It is incorporated into the the throttle body under the black plastic cover.
    #2
  4. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Is it easy to replace????
    #3
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Just to double check, you have a cable operated throttle, correct and you are getting some sort of error code relating to the throttle position sensor?
    #4
  6. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Yes that is correct
    #5
  7. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Just checking it wasn't DBW.

    You could try disconnecting the battery for about 20mins and then re-aligning the throttle body. Do this by turning on the ignition without starting the engine or touching the throttle body. Wait for the high pitched noise from the throttle body to stop and then see how you go.
    If it's still not right then it's a new throttle body unfortunately as the sensor cannot be removed separately as far as I know.

    Is the car not idling or something?
    #6
  8. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    I took to a couple of garages, one of which was an Audi specialist in Duntocher who done a diagnostic which gave out the following faults:

    00518 - Throttle Position Sensor (G69)
    31-00 - Open or Short to Ground

    01087 - Basic Setting Not Performed
    27-00 - Implausible Signal

    00530 - Throttle Position Sensor (G88)
    31-10 - Open or Short to Ground - Intermittent

    Basically the car starts ok when I turn the key however it dies straight away. I have to keep my foot on accelerator for a few minutes to keep the revs up then car is ok however idle set usually at 1ish
    #7
    Mido likes this.
  9. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Yup, sounds buggered. It will probably be a new throttle body then. The specialist should first check the wiring though, just in case its a wire break rather than a component failure. However, I suspect it's the latter.

    Have a look on Ebay as the dealer will want about £430 for a new one.
    #8
  10. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 31, 2008]
    Its not the throttle body as I took into my local garage and they tried another throttle body, and took another diagnosis which gave the exact same readings!!!!!
    #9
  11. Mido
    Offline

    Mido New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    I have the same problem and I replaced the throttle body and it still the same
    if you fixed it please tell me how
    #10
  12. Mido
    Offline

    Mido New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2013]

    same problem need someone to tell us how to fix it :(
    #11
  13. RGL
    Offline

    RGL Free breather

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 29, 2013]
    As someone already mentioned, it is possible that the throttle body itself stopped working properly. However it would be wiser (and much cheaper) to first try to check all the wires running to and from it for splits or any other damages, since these "Open or short to ground" and signal codes have often to do with the wiring. Cleaning the throttle body can't hurt either but I'm pretty sure it won't fix those faults. Either it's the wiring or the throttle body itself has lived it's life. Just try all non-cost/cheap measures like checking the wiring, cleaning and re-aligning first.
    #12
  14. Mido
    Offline

    Mido New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 29, 2013]
    I replaced the throttle body and these errors remained
    00518 - Throttle Position Sensor (G69)
    31-00 - Open or Short to Ground

    00530 - Throttle Position Sensor (G88)
    31-10 - Open or Short to Ground - Intermittent

    I checked the wires and it seems ok .. and all fuses ok and cleaned the throttle body
    I don't know what else to do
    #13
  15. Mido
    Offline

    Mido New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    does Audi A3 1998 1.6 petrol throttle pedal has a sensor ??
    if it does where its location plz
    #14

Share This Page