1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle Pedal not responsive, no error codes?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by J8TT X, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    Hi,

    I have an A4 1.9tdi 130. 2001, with high miles.

    3 times in the last 3 months I have had a problem when the throttle pedal stops working, there’s no revs and the car just roles to a stop. The car will only move on clutch.
    If left for a couple of hours the car drives without any problems. It just seems completely random.
    I’ve had AA come and check it out, they think it’s the throttle response but there is no error codes when checked.
    I’ve asked my garage to check and he is not sure what it could be as it is driving fine now.
    The carpet is dry so I don’t think it could be water damage?

    Anyone had similar issues? Should I just replace the throttle pedal and hope itfixes it?
    Without an error I am pretty stumped and don’t want to be replacing parts when it might not need it.
    I am looking to sell soon so I was hoping not to spend any more money on it.

    Any help appreciated.
    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    id bet its a faulty brake light switch, the ecu cannot determin if you have pressed it deliberatly or if its on because of a failure
    #2
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,806
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    i didnt thing the break light switch had anything to do with the throttle
    i can still drive mine with a ****ed switch.
    #3
  5. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    Im not sure if it is the brake light switch thats causing it, but i'll google it and see if i can find any more info on it.
    Anyone else has any other ideas?

    Thanks
    #4
  6. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    you cant use the throttle and brake at the same time so it could be the switch if its contacting as though it been used

    I'm sure there was a guy on here that had something similar and it turned out to be water getting in the ecu area and affecting the wiring
    #5
  7. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    Thanks Stu,

    but im assuming that if water was in the ECU it would cause some faults to be logged, im not getting any.
    #6
  8. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    Not always funny old cars these

    I would check your brake switch first though as I say if its faulty and contacting as though your braking your throttle will stop working and that wont cause a error code

    take the car for a drive down a quiet street and gently apply the brake with your left foot while pressing the throttle it will cut the throttle its to prevent left foot braking as a safety measure and people pretending they are rally drivers!
    #7
  9. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    bez when you say yours is shafted is it putting the brake lights on? or just not working?
    #8
  10. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    depends how the switch has failed, It is connected to the ECU in 2 ways.
    #9
  11. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Ill try this tonight
    #10
  12. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Check the Plenum chamber for water ingress. Leaking seal on the ECU compartment is a known source of problems too
    #11
  13. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    This happen to me in a VW Passat after a car wash visit. Few hours in sun and it was back to normal.
    #12
  14. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Did you get it fixed or just left it and hoped it didnt happen again?
    #13
  15. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    It was one time occurrence. There must be something that isn't waterproof and if you get water in there you won't get throttle. We didn't bother.
    #14
  16. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Mar 14, 2013]
    There are 2 drain plugs in the Plenum chamber which clog up. One under the battery, & the other under the brake servo. There is also a seal for the lid of the ECU box that can fail. One of the symptoms of this can be loss of throttle pedal response.
    #15
  17. madcustomer
    Offline

    madcustomer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2013]
    I had an ECU box seal failure which coincided with random limp modes and no throttle response - however I did have fault codes and it related to accelerator position sensor.

    Audi dealer decided it wasn't this and opted to replace the ECU box, car didn't replicate the fault until I got home when it did it again.

    Finally resulting in Audi replacing accelerator pedal unit free of charge!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
    #16
  18. madcustomer
    Offline

    madcustomer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2013]
    Forgot to add mines a 2004 1.9 tdi 130


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
    #17
  19. J8TT X
    Offline

    J8TT X Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 15, 2013]
    Thanks,

    A couple of things I need to look at then when my mechanic gets back from holiday!
    #18

Share This Page