1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

throttle body

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by a4quat, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. a4quat
    Offline

    a4quat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    does anyone know if its easy enough to remove the throttle body just to give it a clean, i think my car is non dbw.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    4 allen key bolts, just get replacement gaskets before you start only a couple quid.
    #2
  4. a4quat
    Offline

    a4quat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    is there a gasket set you just ask for or do you have to ask for specific ones?
    #3
  5. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    you can check etka before, or just go to parts at audi and they will look through etka for you and give you the correct one for your version of the 1.8t
    #4
  6. a4quat
    Offline

    a4quat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    after using the search button:idea: ive found a few threads on this and the next thing ive got to ask is do i need vag com to reset the tps? or is this on dbw only? mine has a throttle cable going to the tb so im guessin mines ndbw?
    #5
  7. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    Sounds like yours is nDBW. If you disconnect the battery before you remove the throttle body for cleaning, the TPS will automatically go through the adaptation when the battery's re-connected. Just make sure you don't try to start the car before it's finished fannying about.
    #6
  8. a4quat
    Offline

    a4quat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    another question then, are the stereos coded, may need to look make sure i have the radio code before disconnecting battery.
    #7
  9. petewon
    Offline

    petewon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    You shouldnt loose the radio code. Audi code the radios to the car apparently. I recently dissconnected the battery and didnt loos the code. Audi used to retreive the codes for free but I think they may have started charging for the service.
    #8

Share This Page