1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle Body Problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mickeybhoy67, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. Mickeybhoy67
    Offline

    Mickeybhoy67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2008]
    Hi All

    I have an Audi A3 98 which has a problem with its throttle body. I have done a diagnostic which brought up fault code 00282 - throttle position actuator.

    The car basically doesn't start properly from cold. I have to keep my foot on the accelerator until the idle catches.

    Does anyone know anyone who would be able to help me in the Glasgow Area???????/

    Cheers for the help!!!!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    Sounds similar to my problem except mine doesn't throw up any fault codes. Voorhees had same issue until he either replaced or cleaned the throttle body. I'm sure he'll be along soon.
    #2
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    is cleaning the throttle body a good thing to do regularly anyways? if so how easy is it to remove
    #3
  5. Clach
    Offline

    Clach A3 - 1.8Ts

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    Just done mine, very easy, and well worth the effort. Mine is a 2000 W, so needed a clean. Do a search instructions/pics on here somewhere
    #4
  6. domburg
    Offline

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    my brother had a similar problem on his old seat ibiza a few years back, if i remember it cost him about £35-40 to get the throttle body cleaned and it was fine and dandy after that.

    dom
    #5
  7. nik patel
    Offline

    nik patel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    Yes the throttle body is a piece of cake, i think it should be done every 4 years or so
    #6
  8. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    are you likely to notice a differnence
    #7
  9. nik patel
    Offline

    nik patel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    You should notice a slight difference in MPG and throttle responce, depending on how dirty the throttle body is
    #8
  10. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    clean and realing I think is the answer. think there is a FAQ on this somewhere, maybe on VW vortex...
    #9
  11. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    I've just had a look around as I'm going to attempt to clean mine (regardless of any returning faults). Anyway, for anyone wanting a few pics for help try here:clicky

    Rob :)
    #10
  12. Clach
    Offline

    Clach A3 - 1.8Ts

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    Good un...worth getting a new Gasket too. They are 1.95 from Audi.
    #11
  13. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    ooooh thats a job im defo gonna attempt on the weekend....can you align the throttle body with a non purchased vagcom?
    #12
  14. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    That's a great link thanks Rob. I'll give mine a go at the weekend.

    It's with Audi to get a problem with the intake camshaft sensor sorted on Friday, I'll do the throttle body on Saturday, then it gets a remap on Monday. Then on Tuesday it's in to get the roof rails resprayed, followed shortly by a full paint correction and detailing. Busy week for my motor! :)
    #13
  15. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    No worries mate

    Sounds like your car is getting lots of TLC :w00t:

    Quick question to people - does anyone know if bake cleaner would be ok to use to clean the TB? Or does it HAVE to be carb cleaner? I think the two are pretty similar. :shrug:

    Any ideas?

    Rob
    #14
  16. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    She deserves it :) I've only had her a couple of weeks and she's done 108k miles so I'm just trying to bring her back to her former glory :) Half the work is warranty stuff anyway luckily.
    #15
  17. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    Just to add, if your car has a throttle cable you don't have to re-align with vag-com. All you need to do is turn the ignition on without starting. Don't touch the throttle pedal and wait for the throttle body to stop buzzing after 20-30 secs or so.
    #16
  18. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    Anyone free this weekend and fancy cleaning my throttle body?
    #17
  19. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    Bit far for me mate. Have a go, its really sraight forward.
    #18
  20. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    well I'm literally all ready to go with cleaning my TB, however - somethign I didn't compensate for: the throttle cable is attached to mine! does anyone have any tips on how to tackle this? I don't fancy disconnecting all that!

    I'd really like to get this done tonight, so if anyone can help that would be super!

    Thanks

    Rob

    ***edit***

    here's a couple of pics:

    [​IMG]

    in this one here, you can see the end of the cable that has a little stopper on the end - do I just need to losen this off, to free it up? then pull the cable back out and attach it when finished? might be obvious - but I don't want to f**k it up!

    [​IMG]
    #19
  21. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    ive tried that technique mate..... she isnt having any of it:p
    #20
  22. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    erm...was gonna whip mine off this weekend.......... one...i havent got a torque wrench (is this majorly important)....two..... i only have the sample version of vagcom....can i realign it with this (i dont have a wire throttlebody)
    #21
  23. nik patel
    Offline

    nik patel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    You dont need a torque wrench just tight it quite hard with the rachet. To loosen the cable just manually push the mechanism as if was opening the throttle, this should slacken it helping you to take it off.
    #22
  24. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    mine doesnt have a cable mate......
    #23
  25. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    so I do need to remove the cable from it's little 'housing'?

    will I be able to pull it back over easy as well? (I have thoughts of it zooming off like a tape measure! lol)

    thanks
    #24
  26. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    Don't go mad on the tightness. You only really need to nip them up. Hard to explain in words what feels like. But it isn't loads. To are screwing into aluminium remember.

    About the cable, pull the rubber part of the cable off the support on the inlet. Then you will have enough slack to push the cable out of the throttle cam and the end out of the holder.
    #25
  27. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2008]
    Nothing will ping off at all.
    #26
  28. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    Thanks Kev.

    In the end I just went for it. I removed the cable with ease. Took me ages to remove the bolts! At first it didn't look too dirty, though when I got to the other side it was caked in gunk! Spent a good time cleaning it all back up to new and shiny. After reading your post I am worried that I may have tightened up the bolts too tight in the end though - I don't have a torque wrench (my tools are pretty limited, having to add extensions on here and there! lol). Hopefully I'll be ok :uhm:

    Rob :)
    #27
  29. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    If you didn't strip them already, then you're good to go :)
    #28
  30. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    any answer on the vagcom question??? can the unpurchased vagcom recalibrate my Throttle body
    #29
  31. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    well I guess the thing is - the only way to find out is by removing it again. if they did strip then I'd be well stuck!
    #30
  32. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    ok, weird one....had the body off today..... not much muck there at all apart from a small bit of oily residue sat at the bottom of the butterfly.....assume it has been done at some point.....or can it just be this clean???
    #31
  33. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    at first I didn't think mine was too bad.

    [​IMG]

    Then I got to the other side.... :scared2:

    [​IMG]

    though after a bit of cleaning, got it up to this:

    [​IMG]

    time wasn't really on my side and the rain was well on it's way. chuffed I managed it though :)

    Rob
    #32
  34. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    woah!!! that looks nasty lol..... your clean side was the dirtiest on mine with a small black patch on the cloth i used....that was it? dont think JBS would have touched it when they remapped so can only assume the previous owner did
    #33
  35. NoggyDS3
    Offline

    NoggyDS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 26, 2008]
    Just did mine today at is was grubby as feck! First time i've done it. Not really noticed any difference yet but only had it out for a 30 min drive so hopefully i'll notice a wee difference in mpg/response once the ECU has relearned. Even if i dont, at least i know it's clean now!!!
    #34

Share This Page