1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle Body Clean.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by nickelvery, May 21, 2007.

  1. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    :jester: I'm going to clean my throttle body tonight but I read from a different forum that you have to reset the throttle with VAG-COM after cleaning it?

    Is this true or will a ECU reset do the same?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    Unplugging the battery will do the same thing, the engine will cycle the throttle body on plugging it back in.
    #2
  4. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    Nice one.
    #3
  5. twist
    Offline

    twist Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    Let us know how you get on, I plan to do this, this weekend. As mine has done 100K
    #4
  6. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    :jester: Will do.
    #5
  7. jonS3
    Offline

    jonS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2007]
    I did this a couple of weeks ago, mine was filthy :(
    #6
  8. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    I took off the hose on the right off the picture and removed the 2 screws highlighted with red circles.

    [​IMG]

    But when trying to get the throttle body off it wouldn't move.

    [​IMG]


    Am I being really stupid or does it need a good bash?
    #7
  9. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 22, 2007]
    There is another two screws underneath............
    #8
  10. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    How stupid of me of course there is!!!:idea:
    #9
  11. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 22, 2007]
    Use some brake cleaner or isopropyl alcohol to clean it out, wont damage anything.
    #10
  12. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Do i really have to get a new gasket for it?
    #11
  13. jonS3
    Offline

    jonS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    would obviosuly be best to change it, but as long as you dont damage it, and tighten up each bolt a little at a time when putting it back on it will be fine
    #12
  14. Stewart
    Offline

    Stewart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 22, 2007]
    Just to add that after the throttle body has recalibrated itself the car will go through the adaptation process and may feel not quite as quick for a while.
    Nothing to worry about.
    #13
  15. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 22, 2007]
    funnily enough, i've always found a car to be faster during the re-learn miles than when its settled down.
    #14
  16. nickelvery
    Offline

    nickelvery RS4 B5 380bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Is that the same for a Revo remap, can they adapt?
    #15
  17. Spacecowboy
    Offline

    Spacecowboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Think I will try this this weekend. Are we supposed to drive in a particular way when the car re-learns i.e. under so many revs etc etc? Anyone know the part number for replacing the gasket and is there a torque setting for the bolts?
    #16
  18. Stewart
    Offline

    Stewart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 22, 2007]
    Just drive how you normally would, there is only a small range of adaptation anyway.
    I believe the torque setting is 8Nm.
    #17
  19. Spacecowboy
    Offline

    Spacecowboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 23, 2007]
    Cheers buddy
    #18
  20. campbell
    Offline

    campbell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 23, 2007]
    curiously, what are the mileage on peoples cars?mines on 59K and just wondered if its worth doing!?
    #19
  21. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 23, 2007]
    is it worth doing on an oil-burner?
    #20
  22. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 23, 2007]
    tbh, mileage is pretty much unimportant - its the type of journeys you make. It's far more likely to gum up more quickly by doing slow stop start journeys.
    #21
  23. Pat
    Offline

    Pat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 23, 2007]
    I did mine last night.. just taken itout and it feels far more responsive.. Mine had done 60k and was filthly
    #22
  24. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 23, 2007]
    Wow, ok whenever I've cleaned my throttle body I've never removed these screws. I just remove the silicon/rubber pipe connecting the throttle body to the IC and clean it through there. Have I been doing this wrong? because it seems like you guys remove the "whole" throttle body out of the car, is this right?
    #23
  25. Pat
    Offline

    Pat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 23, 2007]
    Yeah its better to take it off as you are only cleaning one side of the body.. Mine was covered on both sies of the flap..
    #24
  26. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 23, 2007]
    and its ok to move the flap around to clean it? and would I need another gasket? How does this look?
    #25
  27. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 23, 2007]
    no way!! not unless you have a cable operated TB. The stepper motor must not be moved at all.
    #26
  28. mrj0ey
    Offline

    mrj0ey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 23, 2007]
    I moved the flap thingy loads, car was way better after the clean, no issues here!
    #27
  29. cjhill
    Offline

    cjhill hmmmmm interesting.

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2007]
    right, just finished cleaning the throttle body, tbh i cant say it has made any difference.

    It was filthy though - im sire worth it in the long term
    #28
  30. twist
    Offline

    twist Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2007]
    I did it on the weekend just gone. Didnt make much difference wasnt very dirty though. Good for piece of mind though

    I thought the Radio would need the code putting in it didnt is this normal?
    #29
  31. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    Yep, had my radio out about 10 times, never asked for it. I think it interrogates the ECU and as its connected to the right one it doesn't ask for code.
    #30
  32. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    Yup, its called CANBUS.
    #31
  33. garratt83
    Offline

    garratt83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2007]
    Just thought i'd let you all know I did mine yesterday and it was a complete mess, cleaned up really well. Only problem is I snaped a breather hose. Only a small one but it was so brital. Going to audi today to see if they can supply me with the part. If anyone know waht I need to ask for heres where it goes

    It goes from the air intake pipe, under the throttle body, along the back of the engine and connects to a pipe at the back.

    Oh and I had to put my radio code in when I had finished but I did have the battery off for over an hour.

    Car seem a little better but I'm being a bit careful until I get a new hose.

    Cheers
    #32
  34. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    Thats bizzare about your radio, I didn't use my car for over 3 weeks and the battery went completely dead, the radio still didn't ask for a code.
    #33
  35. garratt83
    Offline

    garratt83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2007]
    yeah my radio turned in to a scally and said 'SAFE' to me.
    #34
  36. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 30, 2007]
    the battery went dead on my s3 (partial can-bus) and the rns-d needed a code.
    #35
  37. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    It was just being "street" with you
    #36
  38. garratt83
    Offline

    garratt83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2007]
    SOUND!!!!!!!!!!:rockwoot:
    #37
  39. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    I believe thats the purpose of the Radio....:ermm:
    #38
  40. Smoke Breather
    Offline

    Smoke Breather Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2007]
    Going to have a go this myself along with the MAF but I haven't got a clue where to get some of this Isopropyl, Blackpool doesn't seem to have a n Isopropyl Shop or even an "Isopropyls R Us", can anyone give me a clue?
    Cheers All :icon_thumright:
    #39
  41. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 30, 2007]
    Isoclene from a computer cleaning product website, or go into your local proper pharmacy (not boots) and tell them you want some isopropyl for cleaning. Failing that Maplins and RS and CPC all do it.
    #40

Share This Page