1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thoughts please guys!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mark Hopkins, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. Mark Hopkins
    Offline

    Mark Hopkins AUDI S3, REVO MAPPED 260 bhp

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 30, 2009]
    i have had on the vag com, the fault code g28 engine speed sensor, and g40 cam shaft position sensor. I have changed both of these ( seperatly ofcause!) and cleared the fault code out each time, but this fault code keeps coming back. must it now be the timing?? if so, should i bite the bullit and and get the cam belt changed, or could it be somthing else??
    help please!!!:think:

    thanks
    mark
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 30, 2009]
    You need to check the cam chain and that you've got TDC with everything lined up mate. There should be a way of reading the sensors which would be handy if you can find out what readings they should be giving and compare to see what's what. Anybody know anything about cam and crank sensor readings?
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Nov 30, 2009]
    I would look at checking static timing tbh . Cam cover off line the marks up, and then check to see if the crank and cam pulley marks are aligned.
    #3
  5. Mark Hopkins
    Offline

    Mark Hopkins AUDI S3, REVO MAPPED 260 bhp

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 1, 2009]
    cheers guys!!:thumbsup:
    #4

Share This Page