1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking about getting rns-e

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ru4shaw, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    im thinking about gettin the audi sat nav. ive got a pioneer avic-f900bt but i like the idea of the directions coming up on the dis, would that happen if i was to put the rns-e in i do have the dis with mpg, bulb warning, time and all that
    has any one get a rns-e in there car i could have a look at before i get one, anywhere near se london
    thanks
    #1
  2. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, yes the directions would indeed come up on the DIS.
    #2
  3. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    Don't think about it DO IT!!
    #3
  4. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    You heard the man!

    [​IMG]
    #4
  5. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    i probably do but i just want to see what there like compared to the pioneer
    #5
  6. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    LOL @ Pete
    #6
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    My friend, I promise you it will be better.

    www.youtube.com
    #7
  8. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if i got the sat nav on and music on the sd can i still listen to music?
    on the pioneer the sat nav had a 3d mode does the rns-e?
    so is there any thing extra i have to do so the directions come up on the dash
    thanks
    #8
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Yeah you can still listen to music fine.

    Yes there is a 3D mode, but as far as I know, this is only on the actual junctions?

    And no, the DIS will be connected automatically.
    #9
  10. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright ill prob get one
    if anyone near se london wouldnt mind showin me there sat nav let me know
    thanks
    #10
  11. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you already have a double din frame (where the RNS-E will go) then the mod will only take 30 minutes to do.

    Make sure you get an RNS-E no earlier than a "Q" version. I have the VIM Hack and SDS DVD if you need a copy.

    You will need to tell us if you have Bose or not, as the Quadlock adapter will need a few pins moving. This adapter can be got from Kufatec.de
    http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_...trofit---Harness---Audi-A3-8P---8P-Sport.html

    Iit will be the best £600.00 you will ever spend on your car.
    #11
  12. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i got a double din and its non bose
    how will ii tell if its a q version
    i thought it was just a plug and play, or will i need the adapter?
    #12
  13. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    #13
  14. 8utters
    Offline

    8utters New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, it's 3d all the time if you want it to be :)
    #14
  15. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3

    Hello pal,
    I live in SE London, Croydon. And i literally just received delivery of my RNS-e (Thanks Lee, Mitch78). Im just waiting for my kufatec adpaters to turn up, once ive fitted the unit, hopefully very very soon! Your more than welcome in checking it out mate! Im just twitching to get it fitted now!! :hubbahubba:
    #15
  16. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just bought an 'L' version, what am i missing out on by having this one that a 'Q' or newer model has? :banghead:

    Cheers
    Dan
    #16
  17. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lovin the graphic,,,,

    I'm not to far from london and have bought recently NHN's chrome one and hope to be fitting by next week along with NHN's FBMFSW.. again itching to get it in NHN will be hopefully helping/doin the install....

    As he says above DO IT!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2009
    #17
  18. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    Nigel is the man!
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    100% Tom, it'll be done mate, email later as just sorted my return.
    #19
  20. ru4shaw
    Offline

    ru4shaw Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    gonna get one if anyone comes across one let me know, theres a few on ebay but im sure i have seen some go for 450 before
    thanks
    #20
  21. brissett
    Offline

    brissett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    a3_dan my hometown is also croydon. how much did you spend on your RNS-e if you don't mind me asking, im looking to get one around christmas time perhaps (if the price is right).
    #21
  22. brissett
    Offline

    brissett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, does anyone have a part number for the rns-e "q version" as my local audi dealer in roermond, germany says they can order me one if i have the part number. As i am tax exempt maybe this won't cost THAT much more than an ebay one and it would be new.
    #22
  23. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    A brand spanking new unit from Audi will cost far far more than a used item from eBay, regardless of tax status.
    #23
  24. brissett
    Offline

    brissett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, thats my parade rained on :(
    #24

Share This Page