1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thermostat on an S3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Wallm0nkey, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. Wallm0nkey
    Online

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Been having issues with the temp gauge sometimes it works upto temp but generally stays at the bottom I'd assumed it was cts. Had the same problem on a bora which it solved so I changed it and it's still the same. All the thermostat issues I'd read about seemed to be false readings? Heater works fine I think I'll swap it anyway just curious as to whether anyone else had the same problem?
    I recently got vagcom can I use it to gain any more info before I carry on?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. seafar99
    Offline

    seafar99 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I had the same problem with mine. Changed the thermostat, problem solved. As the temp gauge doesn't start to register till water temp reaches 60* , it can take a while ,especially in freezing outside temperatures.
    #2
  4. G60DAN
    Offline

    G60DAN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 25, 2013]
    If you change the thermostat be careful about getting water on the alternator
    #3
  5. S3quatt
    Offline

    S3quatt Flat Oot like a ducks Foot

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    One way you will know if its the stat sticking open is fuel consumption will go through the roof.
    Happened on mine & it sat around the 60 mark.
    #4
    Gt3Ian likes this.
  6. Wallm0nkey
    Online

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    To be honest I have only been driving the car on the odd occasion stuck in a van most my life and my girlfriends in the S3 but not sure if she would notice the fuel or not. With any luck I'll get it sorted this weekend!
    #5
  7. ManuGD
    Offline

    ManuGD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    My thermostat also failed last year.
    During the summer I could barely notice it, but in the winter the temp never went over 60ºC.

    I tried to replace it without removing the alternator, but there was a bolt that was a pita to remove.
    With the alternator out is way easier but it takes more time because you need to remove the poly-V belt.

    Good luck with it!
    #6
  8. SteveBAM
    Offline

    SteveBAM Black '03 S3

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    I bought a new thermostat today,now that winter has come and the temperature has dropped the engine temp struggles to go above 60. Had a bit of a look on how to change it and its seems that there is a bolt behind the alternator that is F@k!.g impossible to get out without removing the alternator.Any tips on how that lower bolt can come out without taking out the alternator?thanks
    #7
  9. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    #8
    SteveBAM likes this.
  10. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,306
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    I think its much easier to remove the alternator to get the job done, but I do have a large intake manifold so I don't really have an option.
    #9
  11. SteveBAM
    Offline

    SteveBAM Black '03 S3

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    ok thanks for your help, i just finished changing the thermostat without taking the alternator out.There is enough room to get that bottom bolt out,all you need is patients and a little bit of tool working skills. ;)
    #10
    mark_S3 likes this.
  12. Wallm0nkey
    Online

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    Finally got around to doing it today and temp was sitting at 90 nicely. That bottom bolt is a pig but managed to leave alternator in place. I drained the coolant and made a shield to keep the alternator dry too which seemed to work. Hopefully I won't need to mess with it again!
    Has any one else had a faulty thermostat throw an engine light up? Happened the other day scanned with vagcom and it had a code and said cts or thermostat didn't realise it would cause a light.
    #11
  13. CazzaVR
    Offline

    CazzaVR Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    I had light and same error message with mine. All ok now with new stat and sensor :)
    #12
  14. Wallm0nkey
    Online

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    Yeah mine is working as normal again now! Just hadn't seen mentioned anywhere about a fault code everyone just reported strange temp readings.
    #13
  15. gabin
    Offline

    gabin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    Guys do we have also a thermostat and a sensor? Or just a thermostat?
    #14
  16. Wallm0nkey
    Online

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    We have a sensor also only takes a about 5 mins to change it! Remove the main engine cover and it's on the down on the right new parts green not sure on the older one?
    #15

Share This Page