1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Nigel NHN experience

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Raincheck, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. Raincheck

    Raincheck Sucking diesel..!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hi,

    01.00 - Thursday 4th of April on my way to the Dublin port (02.15 - ferry Dublin - Holyhead )
    05.30 - Arrived Holyhead and stopped by customs because I didnt pass the Radiation check (what the **** is this?) (European ports tighten safety checks for abnormal levels of radiation) should we be worried?
    08.30 - Arrived at Salford where I would meet Nigel (NHN) to have the following fitted:
    • Supply/fit of latest genuine factory BT system
    • Supply/fit of mk2 rns-e satellite navigation
    • Supply/fit of radio antenna upgrade to work 100% with rns-e
    • Supply/fit of multifunction steering wheel, airbag & mfsw loom delivered
    • Supply/fit of new cloth armrest

    IMG_3730.jpg IMG_3731.jpg

    IMG_3726.jpg IMG_3733.jpg

    IMG_3735.jpg IMG_3743.jpg

    no wheel.jpg wheel.jpg

    Before & after:
    dash.jpg IMG_3805_DxO-audi-dash.jpg

    Around 15.00 all was fitted and working I didn't realize that there was so much work involved!

    Any one thinking about upgrading or replacing your head unit and or other mods Nigel NHN is your man.
    He knows your Audi trough & trough and will be able to provide a solution for what ever you have in mind.

    Thanks Nigel job well done and I am coming back for more..!

    Raincheck.
     
    #1 Raincheck, Apr 7, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
    NHN likes this.
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. odtwv1

    odtwv1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1 to that, I believe straight after you, he then fit my RNS-E, totally professional service!
     
  4. wuta3

    wuta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    345
    Nigel always has good thing said about him. LOL at picture 6 "ere, Hold this a sec"
     
    NHN likes this.
  5. Walts2782

    Walts2782 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    43
    +1..... Top bloke, quality service and a credit to the forum.
     
    NHN likes this.
  6. ramp1990

    ramp1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Whats the bt kit like? does that do phone calls etc, music streaming? sorry if its a stupid question.
     
  7. Aidy06

    Aidy06 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    Is NHN from Salford???
     
  8. Raincheck

    Raincheck Sucking diesel..!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Aidy06,

    No NHN isn't from Salford but it was the closest workshop location for me coming from Holyhead.
     
  9. mookster

    mookster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just purchased a VCDS cable from Nigel, came next day. Top service. Will be purchasing some MY11 rear lights presently :D
     
    NHN likes this.
  10. rjm180

    rjm180 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ive had lots of work done by Nigel, always great service and very professional.
     
    NHN likes this.
  11. chale989

    chale989 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    That must of cost ALOT all in!
     
  12. MacrosTheBlack

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    20
    You can't get better than a NHN fitter! Heheh

    Looks like top work again from Nigel and another very happy customer.
     
    NHN likes this.
  13. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16

    Interested in what this is, thought the radio reception on my new S3 with RNS-E was pretty pants to be honest
     
  14. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    It's a new antenna that's fitted in the boot lid. I believe the facelift models that have had retro-fitted RNS-E need this.

    It's not cheap to do though.
     
  15. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Mine is facelift. Jury is out on whether the RNS-E was retrofit
     
  16. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Have you got a shark fin on your roof?
     
  17. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yes, have a shark fin. Is there any way to find factory spec from VIN like there is on a Porsche?
     
  18. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Sounds like it was fitted from standard.

    In your service manual you will have a sticker with lots of 3 character codes. The sticker is also located in the spare wheel location.

    Put the codes into this - PlanetVAG.com - VW & Audi PR Code Search
     
  19. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Sticker looks like this

    [​IMG]
     
  20. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks, I am getting this error on VCDS "Radio ZF Output to Antenna Amplifier" which looks like it would be caused by the wrong type of antenna, especially according to this http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...ting-symphony-ii-antenna-system-use-rnse.html

    Edit: PRCode: 7Q0 = Without navigation device

    So it must have been retro-fit, didn't see BOSE come up as an option. Hope it is not a case of BOSE covers on standard speakers!
     
    #19 elrao, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
  21. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    182
    I needed the antenna upgrade after RNSE retro.

    Jonny (JMB Retrofits) sortted mine.
    Parts are around £150-200 iirc.

    Getting the tailgate interior trim off was fiddly without doing any damage. Needs coded after fitting antenna.
    Can recommend Jonnys work if you are anywhere near the North East.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. harvz

    harvz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sold another cable, will PM nhn for one too...
     
  24. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Yeah probably a retro-fit. The shark fin is probably for the Bluetooth?

    You should have a Bose sub behind your boot lining on the left hand side as you look in. You can take out one or two screws and pull the lining back to get your head in to see the branded Bose sub. There's probably an easier way to tell but I thought the same with mine so did this.
     
  25. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    There is no mention of the Bluetooth on the options list either, or the AMI - looks like someone may have done a lot of retrofitting. Just hoping it is proper BOSE, else I'll have to have words with the dealer that sold it to me!!
     
  26. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Don't be worried about bits being retrofitted, the bits you've got are expensive. The ami alone is around £500 to get retrofitted.
     
  27. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'm not worried they are retrofit - am worried they've not been done properly (like missing aerial setup on RNS-E) and not actually done (if I've got BOSE grills and not actually got BOSE!)
     
  28. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    To be fair, most people don't bother with the antenna upgrade with rnse. It's expensive and if you don't listen to the radio much then why would you bother.
     
  29. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Am mostly now concerned I've been mis-sold (not knowingly) a car with BOSE and its actually a car with just BOSE speaker grills!
     
  30. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Get in the boot and check. It's a five min job
     
    elrao likes this.
  31. BoutTime

    BoutTime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I turn my Symphony II on Bose is displayed momentarily.
     
  32. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Unfortunately the RNS-E doesn't say Bose when you start it.
     
  33. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Done - just needed 5 mins to get out to the car. Bose sub in there, so guess it is legit. However thinking the coding is off on the RNS-E, as it has the sound characteristic set to '5' (A3) - but think it needs to be 9 (Sound System) for BOSE?
     
  34. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    This was only on the earlier Bose setups.
     
  35. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    It's possible that the Bose pin location hasn't been moved but i'm not an expert with this so someone else will need to confirm from what pin to the correct pin is right.
     
  36. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Bose pin hadn't been moved, so moved from pin 5 to 7 (grey wire in pin7 which I believe is one from the AUX input - I put in slot 5 as that was the only free slot available).

    Have updated the coding for the navigation so it uses '9' for sound config and not 5. Also checked all the adaptation for the RNS-E, obviously came from a LHD car originally as it was set up all wrong!!

    Wasn't sure whether the CAN gateway should have '47' enabled for sound system, as that is what I've got my sound settings set to?
     

Share This Page