1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The cruise saga continues

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Wrath, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. Wrath
    Online

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    As some of you may know, I installed cruise a number of months ago along with a new SWCM and MFSW. The cruise has never worked despite following every set of instructions on the net and a lot of assistance from B5Nut.

    I had tried bridging the clutch switch with no results, in any case I fitted a new clutch switch yesterday. When I took it out this morning I now have a different situation. Firstly, I've noticed that every so often I can engage cruise, I get the light at the top of the instrument cluster but nothing shows on the DIS, not sure if it's meant to. It only seems to work 3/10 times and only when I keep my foot very lightly on the clutch. If I remove my foot fully then the cruise goes off.

    Any ideas guys? Could the sporadic nature be linked to the brake switch as well (I haven't changed it)? Is there 1 or 2 brake switches and are they in a similar spot to the clutch switch?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Paul B7
    Offline

    Paul B7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    I have factory fitted CC and the light only appears on the instrument cluster and not on the DIS so at least this part of your set up works .
    #2
  4. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    Have you monitored the cruise system via vagcom to find out what is stopping it working ?

    Plus, as said, you get no indiction in the DIS if you engage cruise.
    #3
  5. Wrath
    Online

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    VAG-COM doesn't come up with an errors and the measuring blocks show that it works.

    Ah, obviously used to the A6 courtesy car I had recently. So, and a daft question, when increasing or decreasing the CC, how do you know what it's set too?
    #4
  6. Wrath
    Online

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    #5
  7. Wrath
    Online

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 12, 2010]
    Fixed!! Yay! When fitting a new clutch switch, you need to push the pedal to the floor, make sure the switch is fully out (otherwise it's locked and you have to push the mechanism in and turn), put it against the bracket hole - don't twist yet! Then bring the clutch pedal up slowly until it is at it's rest position, then twist the switch clockwise. Voila! So those instructions posted apply to the clutch switch and were the only ones I found.

    Thanks to B5Nut and 1WheelOnly (who did say it would be the switch, my bridging wire must have been faulty).

    Time to change my sig :)
    #6

Share This Page